StandFree1982 Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Maybe you never sat near that particular seat though SF1982 min. It might have a particularly special view for all you know.That is also true. I just know that where we were sat, pretty much back row, you couldn't see the nearest goal line without leaning forwards. I've sat further forward where the railing gets in your view as well. The south stand is my choice of area for a seat, closer to the back and level with the centre circle. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 The last 3 managers have said the away support should be moved as it gives the visiting team a bit of a boost when they come out of the corner of the main/dickie and see their own fans cheering them on right in front of them. Just a pity there isnt a way to get the away fans up to the top tier. I don't see why we couldn't put away fans in top tier. Just make the left hand stairway for away fans and only let them in those two turnstiles on the left hand side of the stand. Then put the straight up the stairs. The last 3 managers have said the away support should be moved as it gives the visiting team a bit of a boost when they come out of the corner of the main/dickie and see their own fans cheering them on right in front of them. Just a pity there isnt a way to get the away fans up to the top tier. Could manage that. Steps at the South Stand End are separate from the Concourse area, aren't they? Close off access to the RDL rear and have away fans go straight up. Think there may be other reasons why that would not be preferred though. Nae sure, would probably mean a bit of work to the concourse with a load of fencing having to go up to split the fans up and they'd probably have to do something with the car park as well. Would probably go down to money and maybe planning permission depending on how much changes had to be made. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 RDS was killed off years ago by the suits moaning about the banners etc.My season ticket is in the top deck, should have moved ages ago but stayed out of laziness more than anything. I'll take my 15% discount and piss off back to the south stand. doesnt bother me one bit where I sit.Only downside is I wont be able to burn off pre mach pints by climbing 40 flights of stairs.... Link to comment
Patty Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Do you need a child to sit in the Merkland? You do. When I turned 18 I was told I could no longer sit there despite having been a season ticket holder there for 10 seasons prior. I had a wee moan on here when I was refused a season ticket. But now I'm happily situated in the South Stand. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Do you need a child to sit in the Merkland? You do. When I turned 18 I was told I could no longer sit there despite having been a season ticket holder there for 10 seasons prior. I had a wee moan on here when I was refused a season ticket. But now I'm happily situated in the South Stand.Ok cheers for that Patty. Looks like RDL or SS. Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 If you are small enough, you can see under the barrier in the RDU, through the transparent panels. So maybe Tinyweelad can see perfectly well from his seat, as, judging by his username, he's small. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Surely it wouldn't be too difficult to redirect/close/create the fencing from the away SS to stairs for RDU. Put a big net over their section, job done. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Can you imagine the level of fuss if these away fans threw stuff at TWL and his five middle aged pals in their new seats they didna want to move to in the RDL from the RDU? From the seats that they used to sit in? These folk would spontaneously combust with righteous indignation. TWL - guffaw. Settle doon. It's a fucking seat in a fitba stadium. Bubbly wee bairn. Good effort gents. TWL yesterday afternoon... Link to comment
Kilkito Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Out of interest, are there many free seats in the back couple of rows of the South? Don't think so, certainly not in V, the wee map they send you when your choosing your seat is quite cool, showing you wehere the ST's are, you should email them just now and ask for it, I'm sure they would send it to you. Link to comment
Guest Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Can you imagine the level of fuss if these away fans threw stuff at TWL and his five middle aged pals in their new seats they didna want to move to in the RDL from the RDU? From the seats that they used to sit in? These folk would spontaneously combust with righteous indignation. >TWL - guffaw. Settle doon. It's a fucking seat in a fitba stadium. Bubbly wee bairn. Good effort gents. TWL yesterday afternoon... The IQ level of most who frequent and post on this forum who have the club they deserve..... Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Come on in TWL, it won't hurt. You'll even see the same game of Football and everything. Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Not only are the club the lowest of the low, for their outrageous and frankly unacceptable slight inconvenience they are deliberately inflicting on poor TWL and his repressed pals of professional repute, but it appears that the other folk who have decided the move is neither here nor there and is probably overall a reasonable idea are in fact knuckle dragging neanderthals who are dragging the messageboard down to subhuman level. Fucking hell, I never realised things were this bad until TWL highlighted it. 3 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Dinna think the club should be shutting down parts of the stadium. If they are, part or all of the Mainer would be my choice. I would prefer that they took on someone who had a serious go at marketing the club and tried to fill seats. A marketing manager from industry who costs 200k per year would pay his salary back ten fold in the first couple of years. I would have a representative go with a couple of players to every school in the city and surrounding area distributing merchandise and tickets. Make sure every school gets 2 to 3 visits a year. Kids want to go = adults have to take them = revenue and attendance up. Advertising on bus stops, billboards, television and radio for forthcoming matches. Pre-match and half-time entertainment improvements. Reds & Co just don't cut it (are they even still on the go?). Who wants to watch cheesepipes' conquests prance about? Keepie-ups and penalty competitions, live music et cetera. Play attacking football whenever possible. In the SPL that will mean win more than you lose and very few draws. Link to comment
Guest Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Not only are the club the lowest of the low, for their outrageous and frankly unacceptable slight inconvenience they are deliberately inflicting on poor TWL and his repressed pals of professional repute, but it appears that the other folk who have decided the move is neither here nor there and is probably overall a reasonable idea are in fact knuckle dragging neanderthals who are dragging the messageboard down to subhuman level. Fucking hell, I never realised things were this bad until TWL highlighted it. Good, in light of this revelation, take yersel to f*ck then please. Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 There is (obviously) a direct correlation between performances on the park and attendances. That is the main reason why our ground is consistently 2/3 empty. However, I agree with Chutney, the players and coaching staff should be doing much, much more. They should be out visiting local kids football clubs constantly. All publicity is good publicity. More than that though, it connects them to people, and it's something they should enjoy doing, if they have any human decency about them. There is a distance between the club and it's fanbase, and re-connecting that would be a huge step in the right direction, kids idolise these players, a few hours of their time now and again is the least they should be doing. Link to comment
Liam Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Dinna think the club should be shutting down parts of the stadium. If they are, part or all of the Mainer would be my choice. I would prefer that they took on someone who had a serious go at marketing the club and tried to fill seats. A marketing manager from industry who costs 200k per year would pay his salary back ten fold in the first couple of years. I would have a representative go with a couple of players to every school in the city and surrounding area distributing merchandise and tickets. Make sure every school gets 2 to 3 visits a year. Kids want to go = adults have to take them = revenue and attendance up. Advertising on bus stops, billboards, television and radio for forthcoming matches. Pre-match and half-time entertainment improvements. Reds & Co just don't cut it (are they even still on the go?). Who wants to watch cheesepipes' conquests prance about? Keepie-ups and penalty competitions, live music et cetera. Play attacking football whenever possible. In the SPL that will mean win more than you lose and very few draws. Weve went massively downhill since they disappeared. #bringbackredsandco Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Why not do us all a favour and close the whole fucking stadium its going that way anyways We can then find a new hobby and bond. Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 You said you had found a new hobby anyway, watching the scores come in on your coupon in the pub, whilst not even bothering checking the Dons score. So they won't be doing you a favour if they shut the stadium. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Stoney doesn't gamble any more Tup min, so his new hobby consisted of not checking the Dons score. Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 That's Karl Fletcher you are thinking of Harcus. Stoney remains a fiend for the fixed odds. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 the only betting i do is £1 goals galore. Watching Jeff Stelling get excited. 5 years sober........well nae quite Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 You'll be lucky if you manage 5 days ffs min. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Told you, Stoney doesn't gamble. I have a photographic memory. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Only had two pints last night............ Although i intend on having roughly 10 times that amount tonight Link to comment
tup Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 I reckon Karl Fletcher does the odd secret coupon too, with money siphoned off the family allowance. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 I used to like doing a coupon until the bookie closed and moved 100 yards up the road. I stopped going since it inconvenienced me on a grand scale. 5 Link to comment
Henry Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Have you got half a dozen mates who've been putting on a coupon every Saturday but have been getting less and less enjoyment out of it? Do you think this might be the nudge you need to give up coupons all together? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Not only are the club the lowest of the low, for their outrageous and frankly unacceptable slight inconvenience they are deliberately inflicting on poor TWL and his repressed pals of professional repute, but it appears that the other folk who have decided the move is neither here nor there and is probably overall a reasonable idea are in fact knuckle dragging neanderthals who are dragging the messageboard down to subhuman level. Fucking hell, I never realised things were this bad until TWL highlighted it. It's a fucking disgrace the way the club have treated TWL and his middle aged, professional friends. Additionally, on behalf of AFC Chat I would like to apologise profusely for the behaviour of our knuckle dragging membership, who've been making light of this disgusting situation. As an Aberdeen fan, it's been tough going in recent years... Finishing bottom of the SPL. No silverware in over 15 years and a series of embarrassing semi-final debacles. 9-0 at Parkhead, 1-6 against Livi at Pittodrie. Billy Dodds and £1 million for Robbie Winters. Bank debts totalling around £20 million. A crumbling stadium which we have been unable replace, despite millions of £'s squandered on 'feasibility studies' and other such shite.... I could go on and on. It's fair to say we've plumbed some incredible depths as football club in the past 20 years or so. However, this latest outrage just takes the biscuit. Is there anything we could do to make things better TWL? A personal consultation in Tup's corners, or a spell within Bobo's steroid abuse rehabilitation program? #justicefortinyweelad 2 Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Not only are the club the lowest of the low, for their outrageous and frankly unacceptable slight inconvenience they are deliberately inflicting on poor TWL and his repressed pals of professional repute, but it appears that the other folk who have decided the move is neither here nor there and is probably overall a reasonable idea are in fact knuckle dragging neanderthals who are dragging the messageboard down to subhuman level. Fucking hell, I never realised things were this bad until TWL highlighted it. It's a fucking disgrace the way the club have treated TWL and his middle aged, professional friends. Additionally, on behalf of AFC Chat I would like to apologise profusely for the behaviour of our knuckle dragging membership, who've been making light of this disgusting situation. As an Aberdeen fan, it's been tough going in recent years... Finishing bottom of the SPL. No silverware in over 15 years and a series of embarrassing semi-final debacles. 9-0 at Parkhead, 1-6 against Livi at Pittodrie. Billy Dodds and £1 million for Robbie Winters. Bank debts totalling around £20 million. A crumbling stadium which we have been unable replace, despite millions of £'s squandered on 'feasibility studies' and other such shite.... I could go on and on. It's fair to say we've plumbed some incredible depths as football club in the past 20 years or so. However, this latest outrage just takes the biscuit. Is there anything we could do to make things better TWL? A personal consultation in Tup's corners, or a spell within Bobo's steroid abuse rehabilitation program? #justicefortinyweeladHe's already in the programme! Link to comment
rgudon Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 nothing a good old fashioned protest wont sort im sure 1 Link to comment