Lets Look Forward - 10 Years From Now

Where do you see Aberdeen in 2023?  

32 members have voted

1. 1. Dons in 10 years

• Regular title and trophy challengers / European mainstays
    • Top 4 every season, trophy or two in the bag in the past 10 years
    • Comfortable top six every season, odd cup final, still no trophies
    • Same as where we are now, mid table at best, apathy still ruling
    • Worse than where we are now - serious threat of relegation every season, debts spiralling
    • In the lower leagues, fan base down to 3000 a game
    • Out of business

Will all these years of turmoil be worth it and by some miracle our fortunes improve dramatically?

Will we sink further into the abyss to new lows that none of us could even comprehend?

Or will we continue to muddle along, having the same conversations season after season, not doing anything worthwhile but in no real threat of anything serious like relegation/liquidation?

Obviously none of us have a crystal ball but what's your gut feeling?

I think we'll just continue to simply exist tbh. A cup final and little venture into Europe isn't beyond the realms of possibility but actually winning a trophy seems way off for this Club.

I'll optimistically say we will win a trophy in the next ten years, whilst doing nothing else of note - we'll still be at Pittodrie, we'll still finish anywhere between 4th and 10th.

I'll also optimistically predict we won't have to sack every single manager in the next ten years, one might do an OK enough job to get approached by a club in the English second or third division.

If things don't change at board level, I mean ownership, we'll be relegated within the next ten years.

The club is in decline and no one is putting the brakes on.

I'd like to see Milne step aside and Jim Cummings come in, while Milne is there we won't attract the oil money funding that we're crying out for, I believe Cummings would be able to do this.

I voted lower leagues with a dwindling crowd base.

We still won't have won a trophy.

We'll still be coasting along mid table and skirting with relegation.

We'll still be a Pittodrie and the Top deck will be opened again because the SS finally crumbled into small pieces.

We still won't have our own training ground and will have moved to another school playing fields because Albyn got bored of us.

We'll have had about 3 other managers.

And Langfield will still be in goals and goalkeeping coach.

I can't wait.

I wonder if I'll still be gan as regular.

I mean...I'm an auld cunt now. A grumpy auld cunt. Possibly getting grumpier by the minute.

Would my life be empty without something to have a really fucking good moan about?

Possibly.

Canna really pick ony o' the options above wi' ony real (or slight) authority ata. :dontknow:

If things don't change at board level, I mean ownership, we'll be relegated within the next ten years.

The club is in decline and no one is putting the brakes on.

I'd like to see Milne step aside and Jim Cummings come in, while Milne is there we won't attract the oil money funding that we're crying out for, I believe Cummings would be able to do this.

I voted lower leagues with a dwindling crowd base.

Is Jim Cummings all that though?

He seems quite good at criticising, but not sure he's too good at saying where his funding would come from?

Is Jim Cummings all that though?

He seems quite good at criticising, but not sure he's too good at saying where his funding would come from?

Lets stick with Milne then.

Jim could hardly say on the radio the funding was coming from x,y,z, and he probably doesn't know the specifics as to where it's coming from yet but if anyone can attract funding then it would be him. Don't forget this man put a shit load of his own money into the club and was the largest shareholder for a long time, he's knows he'll never see that money back. He's also very well respected within the oil industry in Aberdeen, every multi millionaire in Aberdeen and every business leader will be on his contacts list.

I'll tell you one thing for fact, he cares deeply about the dons and would still be there grafting to improve things if he'd not been forced out by Milne, I also know he won't be back while Milne is there.

But Milne's doing a great job and attracting investors all the time, why rock the boat.

Lets stick with Milne then.

Jim could hardly say on the radio the funding was coming from x,y,z, and he probably doesn't know the specifics as to where it's coming from yet but if anyone can attract funding then it would be him. Don't forget this man put a shit load of his own money into the club and was the largest shareholder for a long time, he's knows he'll never see that money back. He's also very well respected within the oil industry in Aberdeen, every multi millionaire in Aberdeen and every business leader will be on his contacts list.

He's nae on mine

In all the time Milne has been at the club it has declined year upon year.

If he remains in charge it will continue to decline.

I think by this point he has proven he can't run a football club...

So, ten more years without silverware, flirting with relegation, punctuated by periodic humiliations at the hands of lower league teams, managerial appointments notable only for their gross incompetence, players who aren't fit to wear the shirt, declining crowds, no possibility of investment, hence no new stadium, no adequate training facilities, and a club that is being kept down thanks to the incompetence of the man in charge.

So that's what I think.