sheepiekev Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Interesting quote from Derek McInnes in the Daily Retard this morning.... I'd love to see the look on Milne's face when he asks for £200k to sign someone like Lyle Taylor from Falkirk.... McInnes will shop for frees but admits he may be able to twist his board’s arm for a fee if the right player comes up.He said: “We’ll look at all areas whether it’s England, abroad or within our own shores. It’s about bringing good players to the club.“It is likely to be free transfers but if there was a young player available on a transfer fee I might be able to make a case to the board.“But we won’t be paying fees for older players.“Ideally we would have everything in place for the start of pre-season.“There is the nucleus of a good squad here but we have identified the key positions we need to strengthen.” Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 I think you'll see a fee paid this summer Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Interesting quote from Derek McInnes in the Daily Retard this morning.... I'd love to see the look on Milne's face when he asks for £200k to sign someone like Lyle Taylor from Falkirk.... McInnes will shop for frees but admits he may be able to twist his board’s arm for a fee if the right player comes up.He said: “We’ll look at all areas whether it’s England, abroad or within our own shores. It’s about bringing good players to the club.“It is likely to be free transfers but if there was a young player available on a transfer fee I might be able to make a case to the board.“But we won’t be paying fees for older players.“Ideally we would have everything in place for the start of pre-season.“There is the nucleus of a good squad here but we have identified the key positions we need to strengthen.” See his name has popped up in the P&J this morning. A player I'd really like to sign and could well be in McInnes' thoughts when he talks of paying for a younger player. Taylor has a year to go on his contract, and I heard a little rumour recently that £20k would be enough for anyone to secure him. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Hopefully the board back him if he finds the right player. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Foster's not that old.We could be about to give Bristol City their money back. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 I might get to shag Juliette Lewis. The chances of that or McInnes being allocated money for a transfer fee are about the same. Juliette Lewis is one of the few famous people I haven't met (yet) just to make things a touch clearer on the chances of it happening. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 17, 2013 Author Share Posted May 17, 2013 See his name has popped up in the P&J this morning. A player I'd really like to sign and could well be in McInnes' thoughts when he talks of paying for a younger player. Taylor has a year to go on his contract, and I heard a little rumour recently that £20k would be enough for anyone to secure him.£20k?feck, they must be desperate for cash.I realise my £200k was an exaggeration to emphasise my point, but I'd have thought we'd need to get nearer £100k?Maybe worth a punt.If he does well here for a couple of seasons, there's sell on value. Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 £20k?feck, they must be desperate for cash.I realise my £200k was an exaggeration to emphasise my point, but I'd have thought we'd need to get nearer £100k?Maybe worth a punt.If he does well here for a couple of seasons, there's sell on value. Was surprised when I heard that too. Mind you, this news did come from a mate, of a mate, of a mate, so not sure of its legitimacy. I do also remember reading somewhere that there were a few English clubs sniffing for him. We always go on about not securing the top talent from the lower leagues - well Taylor would be a good one to get. Scored near 25 goals this season so far I think. Fairly tall and mobile, could be just what we're after. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Was surprised when I heard that too. Mind you, this news did come from a mate, of a mate, of a mate, so not sure of its legitimacy. I do also remember reading somewhere that there were a few English clubs sniffing for him. We always go on about not securing the top talent from the lower leagues - well Taylor would be a good one to get. Scored near 25 goals this season so far I think. Fairly tall and mobile, could be just what we're after.I'd wager he'll not score again this season now this story has broke. 1 Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Interesting quote from Derek McInnes in the Daily Retard this morning.... I'd love to see the look on Milne's face when he asks for £200k to sign someone like Lyle Taylor from Falkirk.... McInnes will shop for frees but admits he may be able to twist his board’s arm for a fee if the right player comes up.He said: “We’ll look at all areas whether it’s England, abroad or within our own shores. It’s about bringing good players to the club.“It is likely to be free transfers but if there was a young player available on a transfer fee I might be able to make a case to the board.“But we won’t be paying fees for older players.“Ideally we would have everything in place for the start of pre-season.“There is the nucleus of a good squad here but we have identified the key positions we need to strengthen.”I think the case with Taylor is that he's found a level that he's suited to, don't think he's capable of performing in the SPL. Thought he played well against Hibs but look at the chances he missed. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 17, 2013 Author Share Posted May 17, 2013 I think the case with Taylor is that he's found a level that he's suited to, don't think he's capable of performing in the SPL. Thought he played well against Hibs but look at the chances he missed.I'm not saying he's the answer.I only used his name as an example as the press have linked us with him.It will be that type of player McInnes is referring too though probably. Link to comment
Liam Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Berra being released by Wolves in the summer, he would be a quality signing. 1 Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Berra being released by Wolves in the summer, he would be a quality signing. According to the Sun a few days ago Ipswich Town want him Mick McCarthy's keen to link up with him again. The Huns are interested it said also but can't afford his wages. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Not sure how you can judge a player based on one game v Hibs Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 17, 2013 Author Share Posted May 17, 2013 Not sure how you can judge a player based on one game v HibsAye, if we are interested in him, we'll have had someone watching him a dozen times at least, home and away. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Aye, if we are interested in him, we'll have had someone watching him a dozen times at least, home and away. you would think so, it would be a risk as he has had one good season, but he maybe developing and fulfilling his potential now Link to comment
OddJob Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Foster's not that old.We could be about to give Bristol City their money back. I keep saying this, i can't see McInnes undoing all his positive work so far by signing Foster and also couldn't see him coming back anyway, so no danger imo Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 If Foster is to go back to Scotland will be Govan way he roles up. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 I think the case with Taylor is that he's found a level that he's suited to, don't think he's capable of performing in the SPL. Thought he played well against Hibs but look at the chances he missed. Why? If anything at all has been shown over the last 5 years in Scotland its that there is fuck all real difference between the top 4 in D1 and the bottom 4-6 in the SPL. Might be wrong, aint going to search about but arent Dundee the first club to go straight back down for the last 4-5 years? Could be argued they dropped because they werent prepared after all TCFKAR carry on. Also, you find a striker in Scotland outside Celtic that doesnt miss more than he scores and I'm sure you'll find next season he'll either be playing for Celtic, the championship or in teh broom cupboard signing a 2 year extension with the Dons... I'm not saying Taylor is the answer, havent seen enough of him to make a judgement but we cant write off every player that hasnt played at a certain level with the usual pish like he's found his level at etc. Everyone at the start of this season thought McGinn was going to be pushed if made to play down the centre, some even thought pish. Most also thought Hayes was going to set the heather on fire. Whoever gets signed this close season, as long as it isnt some aging ex hun, will get my full backing... ... until his first misplaced pass, then he can look the fuck oot Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 I'm all for giving young hungry players a chance to prove themselves, Taylor looks good, 29 goals for Falkirk he may be looking the step up, hopefully we get him before English clubs come a calling. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Berra being released by Wolves in the summer, he would be a quality signing. Berra is fucking awful 1 Link to comment
buchanskii Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Berra is awful and we have 4 capable central defenders as it is. Fullbacks, GK, and 2 CM's please. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Maybe a cheeky public attempt for him to get the board to back him further. Not so sure it's realistic though, at least when the unrealistic demands of certain fans to sign Joe Bloggs who'll cost a fee aren't met then the board will get the blame.I don't think i've seen any fans on here expecting us to be paying unrealistic fees for players (unless around £50k or something, just as Utd etc. can manage) not like there's been folk demanding £250k signings etc. Even the pittance we got for the likes of Fraser going out would more than cover a small token fee of say £50k to a 1st div club etc. not unrealistic in the slightest.Or SHOULDN'T be unrealistic but the board has bred that belief into folk like you. 2 Link to comment
Foster14 Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Historically, the boards view has been that they won't spend money (or even look at frees) on a youngster from elsewhere in Scotland, they'd prefer to put faith in our own youth system to produce players good enough to play, and good enough to sell on. That came straight from Willie Miller. I'd say that McInnes would have a bit of a struggle to convince them if this is still the case. It does seem quite a quite a bizarre stance to take. I think the question was posed to Miller using Gary Mackay Stevens as an example. I don't really see what the difference would have been taking a punt on him, compared to some of the more senior journeymen that we take in that block progress of our youngsters. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 -1 If the board aren't going to do it then its not realistic, irrespective of how realistic it should or shouldn't be.We paid a fee for Tommy Wright so that fkn confines your point to the BS bin & also disgustingly enough we paid £48 400 for Mo Chalali (Broon you auld cunt)Maybe even paid a fee for Uchechi http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/en/aberdeen-fc/transfers/verein_370_2011.html & we faid a fee for thon shite Irish midfielder that has since disappeared We have spent on small fees in the past if we've thought there was potential to recoup the money but unfortunately our judgement of players that may recoup money has been utter utter fkn shite. Hopefully McInnes has a better eye for it & is more convincing to the board & can then maybe getting monies for a SMALL signing on fee Not so unrealistic. The club were reporting not being able to stump up for transfer fees in 2009 after the Setanta collapse & yet low & behold the stumped up some small transfer fees Link to comment
dervish Posted May 17, 2013 Share Posted May 17, 2013 Historically, the boards view has been that they won't spend money (or even look at frees) on a youngster from elsewhere in Scotland, they'd prefer to put faith in our own youth system to produce players good enough to play, and good enough to sell on. That came straight from Willie Miller. I'd say that McInnes would have a bit of a struggle to convince them if this is still the case. It does seem quite a quite a bizarre stance to take. I think the question was posed to Miller using Gary Mackay Stevens as an example. I don't really see what the difference would have been taking a punt on him, compared to some of the more senior journeymen that we take in that block progress of our youngsters. If that was his answer to that particular question I'd find it HIGHLY amusing! Because GMS spent something like 5yrs at Aberdeen training up here and was sent down repeatedly but not taken on (before Ross County took him on, then sold him for £100k to Liverpool). Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 18, 2013 Author Share Posted May 18, 2013 i LOVE the cut of mcinnes' jib calderwood mk2 LOVING itNice try at fishing.One difference is the coin jangling fat cunt was incoherent Link to comment
zander Posted May 18, 2013 Share Posted May 18, 2013 i LOVE the cut of mcinnes' jib calderwood mk2 LOVING it Cretin. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 18, 2013 Author Share Posted May 18, 2013 Please. Please. Please.Let's not allow Millertim to turn this into another coin jangling fat cunt love in Link to comment