ericblack4boss Posted June 6, 2013 Share Posted June 6, 2013 always used to annoy me as a boy how some clubs would go out and sign players in the space of a day or overnight, yet AFC have to drag on transfer dealings preferably for as long as it takes for some other club to nip in front of us or the said target to lose interest.remember the protracted deals for Graeme Kavanagh, in particuar that was one that got away despite the fact the clubs were only £50,000 apart on valuation. that was over two weeks of deadlock if i recall rightly. Kavanagh went on to play in the EPL for Wigan, also had successful spells at cardiff and Stoke. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 aye decent. Herman Hreiddersson (spelling?) also had a trial with AFC but no agreement was reached. Turned up in championship a year later. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 One AFC partial myth. Every single club in Scotland and England were offered Henry and Trezeguet on loan for a season at a cost of around £500k in the 90s. Often banded about as one that got away but no other club took them either. Two that we got and did get away - both Craig Hignett and Dean Windass were Premiership class but never showed it for AFC for more than a glimpse here and there. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Many players we've tried to sign, they've went elsewhere, then we go back and eventually they come to us. That kind of annoys me. Steven Crawford, Stephen Hughes(?), Lee Miller to name a few.. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Craig Hignett .... Premiership class but never showed it for AFC for more than a glimpse here and there.I think that folk's view on Hignett have become clouded by the fact he didn't really want to be here. My recollection of Hignett in an Aberdeen shirt is that he was a wonderful player - his link-up play with Jess in particular was a sight to behold. Hignett was energetic and intelligent with the ball, the kind of midfield player we've lacked ever since he left. Had he stayed I've no doubt we'd have been a real force to be reckoned with - I also have no doubt the wages he was on would've eventually bankrupted us. An AFC player I was acquainted with at the time informed me Hignett was on a biblical wage. We also came close to signing Egil Ostenstad a couple of years before he joined the filth. And of course Fergie tried to sign Johnny Ekstrom. 1 Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted June 7, 2013 Author Share Posted June 7, 2013 aye decent. Herman Hreiddersson (spelling?) also had a trial with AFC but no agreement was reached. Turned up in championship a year later.aye the hriedderson one was partucluarly galling when you consider Aitken said he was no better than what we had at the time, so how many of them went on to play in the EPL? Link to comment
WillemVan Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 I think that folk's view on Hignett have become clouded by the fact he didn't really want to be here. My recollection of Hignett in an Aberdeen shirt is that he was a wonderful player - his link-up play with Jess in particular was a sight to behold. Hignett was energetic and intelligent with the ball, the kind of midfield player we've lacked ever since he left. Had he stayed I've no doubt we'd have been a real force to be reckoned with - I also have no doubt the wages he was on would've eventually bankrupted us. An AFC player I was acquainted with at the time informed me Hignett was on a biblical wage. We also came close to signing Egil Ostenstad a couple of years before he joined the filth. And of course Fergie tried to sign Johnny Ekstrom.Hignett was on 9k a week Link to comment
Henry Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 An AFC player I was acquainted with at the time informed me Hignett was on a biblical wage. He was paid in loaves and fish? 2 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 missing out on messi before he went to spain was criminal of the afc board. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 missing out on messi before he went to spain was criminal of the afc board. To be fair, AFC had Jess, Kiriakov and Ricky Gillies in 1999. Who needed Messi. 1 Link to comment
Pudgie Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 aye decent. Herman Hreiddersson (spelling?) also had a trial with AFC but no agreement was reached. Turned up in championship a year later.He was offered, in his words, child's wages! Link to comment
The Hulk Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 He was paid in loaves and fish? 9k loaves basic and the fish was for bonuses, only the fish was taken away in lorries before they got to the market, allegedly... Another protracted mid-90s striker saga - Marcus Stewart, who eventually played Premiership with Ipswich and Sunderland. Link to comment
boboisared Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 9k loaves basic and the fish was for bonuses, only the fish was taken away in lorries before they got to the market, allegedly... Another protracted mid-90s striker saga - Marcus Stewart, who eventually played Premiership with Ipswich and Sunderland.We're all friends here. Can you be a bit more specific for the dim among us? Link to comment
Jonty Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Peter Ndlovu was continually linked in the 1990's, think he was player of the tournament one year at the Aberdeen Football Festival when he was a youth. We were linked with Niall Quinn after he left Man City and prior to him going to Sunderland. I recall a headline on the back of the Evening Paper from the same period "John Sheridon", he would have been decent too, ableit he was 30 odd. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 i mind watching ndlove score at pittodrie in a pre season friendly. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Slightly different slant on those mentioned, Jim McInally in the mid 90's had already been paraded as a new signing but as part of the deal, Peter Hetherston was going back to Raith and failed the medical and deal was called off and we were stuck with useless bastard Silky. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 We're all friends here. Can you be a bit more specific for the dim among us? At the risk of "he said", "she said", "yer talking pish min", I was informed that Craig Hignett was paid £18k in a week, not all of it paid in an official capacity. I personally considered that figure to be astronomical and quite unbelievable. At the same time I have no real reason to doubt the person who passed on the info, him being a workmate of Hignett and all, unless there was some kind of bravado at play. I don't completely believe it myself, but there were some very strange financial goings-on in Scottish football in the late 1990s. Dundee FC were the only ones caught doing it (and later, to an extent, Rangers), but it was fairly well-known that many clubs were paying players under the table. Here's another - David Ginola, late 90s... Link to comment
a don in oz Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 What about the biggest (rumour/alleged) signing miss of them all surely? Jurgen Klinsmann http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Aberdeen+KO'd+Klinsmann+bid.-a061174406 Link to comment
boboisared Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 At the risk of "he said", "she said", "yer talking pish min", I was informed that Craig Hignett was paid £18k in a week, not all of it paid in an official capacity. I personally considered that figure to be astronomical and quite unbelievable. At the same time I have no real reason to doubt the person who passed on the info, him being a workmate of Hignett and all, unless there was some kind of bravado at play. I don't completely believe it myself, but there were some very strange financial goings-on in Scottish football in the late 1990s. Dundee FC were the only ones caught doing it (and later, to an extent, Rangers), but it was fairly well-known that many clubs were paying players under the table. Here's another - David Ginola, late 90s...I dinna think you're talking pish unless it's about sportmanship etc I do mind the Ginola chat. FCUK were going to pay his wages as long as he modelled or something? Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Is Frank McGarvey still house hunting in Westhill ? Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Colin Cameron at Raith was someone who we should have snapped up. Lambert at St Mirren was also a class act. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted June 7, 2013 Author Share Posted June 7, 2013 did Mickey Cameron not turn us down after being poised to sign did roy aitken not tell him he was to be played as a left winger and cameron said fuck that, got up and left the contract on the table unsigned i recall him later saying there was something strange about the place (ie pittodrie) i would think having a manager who died his hair maroon didnt help. Also was Ally MCoist EVER really close to signing for us in the says him and souness didnt get on. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 We were heavily linked with both Keith Wright and John Robertson for a while. Link to comment
redone Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 did Mickey Cameron not turn us down after being poised to sign did roy aitken not tell him he was to be played as a left winger and cameron said fuck that, got up and left the contract on the table unsigned i recall him later saying there was something strange about the place (ie pittodrie) i would think having a manager who died his hair maroon didnt help. Also was Ally MCoist EVER really close to signing for us in the says him and souness didnt get on. For once , I do have some inside info ..........about Cameron , from a Raith Rovers fan who was well in wi' the directors there Apparently the reason he didn't sign for us was simply because Hearts made him a better offer. Nothing more dramatic thann that , I'm afraid And I think McCoist was close to signing for us ....no inside info on this one, I just mind reading aboot it somewhere ......the old Donstalk site maybe ?...so it must have been right enough Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 One AFC partial myth. Every single club in Scotland and England were offered Henry and Trezeguet on loan for a season at a cost of around £500k in the 90s. Often banded about as one that got away but no other club took them either. Two that we got and did get away - both Craig Hignett and Dean Windass were Premiership class but never showed it for AFC for more than a glimpse here and there. Haha. Hibee mate o mine always goes on about that. He claims Jim Duffy was offered Trezeguet but replied "naw, we've got two quality strikers coming in". The strikers were Paul Tosh and Lee Power. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Chris Katongo. Always thought that was just EE propaganda to justify another of JC's summer sunbathing session pre-season tours. Watched the cunt for Zambia in Nations Cup last year. Not sure he'd have shifted oor dazzler. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 What about the biggest (rumour/alleged) signing miss of them all surely? Jurgen Klinsmann http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Aberdeen+KO'd+Klinsmann+bid.-a061174406No, the biggest 'miss' by AFC is surely Dennis Law? Also, we should have signed Shaun Maloney (too small apparently). Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 7, 2013 Share Posted June 7, 2013 Haha. Hibee mate o mine always goes on about that. He claims Jim Duffy was offered Trezeguet but replied "naw, we've got two quality strikers coming in". The strikers were Paul Tosh and Lee Power. Link to comment