granite sheep Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 Iain Banks, boy that wrote The Wasp Factory, The Crow Road, Espedair Street, and all the Culture books (as Iain M Banks) has passed awa, according to the BBC. Will miss him, cracking author, hell, the Culture books are superb even if yer nae a sci fine fan Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 You'll miss him ffs Wait until I fetch my violin for you. Also deid today: Loads of other folk. 2 2 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 Harry Harrison, writer of generic, juvenile Sci-Fi like The Stainless Steel Rat and Bill the Galactic Hero died last year. While the quality of his books in later years (never that great to begin with) declined to the point of being 250 pages of completely pointless rambling, I did enjoy his books as a kid. Another of my favourite authors as a young laddie was Terry Pratchett, and like Harrison his later work deteriorated to unreadable levels... that'll be the Alzheimers, I suppose. And while he's not deid yet he may as well be, because his books are gash now. Anyway, I've got the Wasp Factory on Audio, but never listened to it. Might chuck it on my mp3 player now. Link to comment
InversneckieDob Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 Ah, garbage news if it's true. RIP fella. Link to comment
Moza Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 Harry Harrison, writer of generic, juvenile Sci-Fi like The Stainless Steel Rat and Bill the Galactic Hero died last year. While the quality of his books in later years (never that great to begin with) declined to the point of being 250 pages of completely pointless rambling, I did enjoy his books as a kid. Another of my favourite authors as a young laddie was Terry Pratchett, and like Harrison his later work deteriorated to unreadable levels... that'll be the Alzheimers, I suppose. And while he's not deid yet he may as well be, because his books are gash now. Anyway, I've got the Wasp Factory on Audio, but never listened to it. Might chuck it on my mp3 player now. You had me excited for a second there as Pratchett is my captain in the dead pool I remember reading Complicity and the Wasp Factory as a teenager and enjoying them. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 pratchet is the preserve of geeks. ( you excluded kelt)only the school saddos read lotr or the hobbit. i mean come on to fuck, a hobbit ffs?gimme strength. Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 I only read SAS and football violence books, am I missing something? Did read the Hunger games but prefer stuff that's actually happened. btw After reading all those SAS books I think I'd pass selection no problem, some folk are just born warriors. Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 Aye you are missing something daytripping. Its called common sense. Ignorance is bliss so dinna worry. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2013 Share Posted June 9, 2013 pratchet is the preserve of geeks. ( you excluded kelt)only the school saddos read lotr or the hobbit. i mean come on to fuck, a hobbit ffs?gimme strength. Oddly enough, speaking about geeks.... on the way back from the loon's end-of-season fitba shindig in the park I saw a bunch of lads LARPing around. LARPing is Live Action Role Playing, where they dress up as Knights and Wizards and Elves and Goblins and Shit, and re-enact their favourite Battles That Never Happened. Didn't see too many chicks hanging around them, though, which was quite surprising. Link to comment
paddy Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Oddly enough, speaking about geeks.... on the way back from the loon's end-of-season fitba shindig in the park I saw a bunch of lads LARPing around. LARPing is Live Action Role Playing, where they dress up as Knights and Wizards and Elves and Goblins and Shit, and re-enact their favourite Battles That Never Happened. Didn't see too many chicks hanging around them, though, which was quite surprising. Your loon could have joined in with his Darren Mackie mask! Link to comment