Calvin Zola

magennis DOES have potential

if you cant see that, you're thick

oh, wait, its you...

Potential as a doorstop, paperweight, chopping board, dartboard, table or coat/hatstand. As a striker however, I think the boat has sailed.

has it?

he absolutely bossed celtic at parkhead

theres something in there

He didn't really. There was a, what, 25 minute spell where we attacked and he held onto the ball well. The 3 goals he was involved in all involve Wilson (hee aww), and the third is very fortunate (to say the least). He did pretty well in that game, I'll give him that, but that's pretty much it. The goal(s) against St Mirren in the cup game maybe?

Very little evidence to say he'll improve.

For those getting all moist in the nether regions about his goals on YouTube. You could do exactly the same of Fallon in his time at us and think you had a player.

Aye.

It's still a great goal to watch though. And Fallon certainly fell short of 16 goals last season.

Just noticed Zola wasn't their top goalscorer last season... some midfielder also from DR Congo was. SIGN HIM!! Umbongo ah'woi

Some of the comments from Del on him signing were quite intriguing. Gave a lot of the usual, citing his enthusiasm and a few cliches about mobility and presence but I liked the point he made about having never played in Scotland.

"I think the attraction for Calvin, I know he had some interest from elsewhere, is the freshness. I think the stimulus coming to the SPL is something different and he will thrive on it. I know the SPL gets a bad press of late but it's still a decent profile and I think he's the type of player who has the personality and ability to relish the challenge and make a name for himself."

There's every chance that this boy will thrive being in a league that's slightly different, arguably a bit more fast paced and physical. Let's be honest, the quality of football is likely very similar with League 1/2 so he could well get us 8-10 goals and offer decent presence, which would be adequate foil if McGinn brings another 20.

Some of the comments from Del on him signing were quite intriguing. Gave a lot of the usual, citing his enthusiasm and a few cliches about mobility and present but I liked the point he made about having never played in Scotland.

"I think the attraction for Calvin, I know he had some interest from elsewhere, is the freshness. I think the stimulus coming to the SPL is something different and he will thrive on it. I know the SPL gets a bad press of late but it's still a decent profile and I think he's the type of player who has the personality and ability to relish the challenge and make a name for himself."

There's every chance that this boy will thrive being in a league that's slightly different, arguably a bit more fast paced and physical. Let's be honest, the quality of football is likely very similar with League 1/2 so he could well get us 8-10 goals and offer decent presence, which would be adequate foil if McGinn brings another 20.

The main worry for me is that he struggled at League One level, before finding his level at League Two with Burton. I've watched a lot of League One football, from my time in Nottingham, and I would probably equate it to SPL level.

Looking at some of the other forwards who've moved from that level to the SPL, they've found the step up in class too much. Clayton Donaldson and Cleveland Taylor were both absolute dog dirt at Hibs and St. Johnstone respectively. Didn't even come close to making the step up.

The main worry for me is that he struggled at League One level, before finding his level at League Two with Burton. I've watched a lot of League One football, from my time in Nottingham, and I would probably equate it to SPL level.

Looking at some of the other forwards who've moved from that level to the SPL, they've found the step up in class too much. Clayton Donaldson and Cleveland Taylor were both absolute dog dirt at Hibs and St. Johnstone respectively. Didn't even come close to making the step up.

Cleveland Taylor who has had a pish scoring record every club he has been at?

Clayton Donaldson didn't settle in particularly well, I'd say, more than being absolutely dog dirt.

Billy McKay didn't set the heather alight at Northampton. Did alright this year.

Wouldn't base it on how anyone has performed historically, will just wait and see what he does with the Dons.

Fallon is thankfully long gone. Ridiculously, we gave Magennis another year to see if he can be equally as bad in another new position as he has been in every other position we have tried to get him to play in.

I see on the 'feeshul site hes adding a new string to his bow.......working in the ticket office

Cleveland Taylor who has had a pish scoring record every club he has been at?

Clayton Donaldson didn't settle in particularly well, I'd say, more than being absolutely dog dirt.

Billy McKay didn't set the heather alight at Northampton. Did alright this year.

Wouldn't base it on how anyone has performed historically, will just wait and see what he does with the Dons.

Clayton Donaldson looked well off the pace whenever I saw him.

It's still a gamble. I'm just worried he'll be another Jerel Ifill. Some of his strikes look fantastic on youtube however, by the same token he looks extremely awkward and lumbering at times.

However, as you say, the proof will be in the pudding! It'll be interesting to look back on these posts after 6 months.

Are you trying to think of only black forwards whose first name starts with C who've made the step-up from League Two to the SPL?

Niche market it must be said.

What we have to remember is that just cause we've signed someone from League 2 doesn't mean League 2 is our level. He has impressed recently at that level and has earned the right to step up. I think he will be hungry to do well and improve. Not like if we signed someone who had seen it and done an ok job at SPL level already.... John Sutton

5 years ago I would've probably completely agreed. I may have even went further and said the SPL was Championship quality.

Now, looking at the players that left us at from that time and after along with what they have done in Englandshire I'm not so sure. I dont watch enough of English football to say with any certainty, I'm just judging by the impact the likes of Diamond, Nicholson, Miller and co have made in England.

What we need is a strong player up front who can win the ball in the air, hold the ball up, bring other players into the game and provide chances for McGinn and co...It appears that he can provide the role. Even if he does not scored but simply excel at the duties I have just outlined he will be a good signing.

Now, looking at the players that left us at from that time and after along with what they have done in Englandshire I'm not so sure. I dont watch enough of English football to say with any certainty, I'm just judging by the impact the likes of Diamond, Nicholson, Miller and co have made in England.

And also Fyvie, Maguire, Grimmer and Fraser. Only success has been Aluko who was in brilliant form for Hull City before his injury.

CALVIN ZOLA woke Zander Diamond up to tell him he was heading for Aberdeen.

Now the ex-Dons skipper has backed his big mate to rouse the Pittodrie sleeping giant too.
Diamond played alongside striker Zola at Burton Albion and believes his signing is a major coup for Derek McInnes.
He feels the 6ft 3in hitman could tear up Scotland’s top flight beside prolific strike partner Niall McGinn.
Diamond, 28, is praying their firepower ends the Dons’ woeful 18-year run without silverware.
He told SunSport: “Calvin woke me up on Sunday morning with a call to tell me about Aberdeen.
“I was just back from Cyprus and catching up on some sleep, but I was happy to tell him about the club.
“I gave him a good rundown of what Aberdeen is all about — the size of the place and the demands at the club.
“At Burton, I’d talk to him about Aberdeen and how much I enjoyed my time there.
“I was straight with Calvin. I told him Aberdeen is a sleeping giant. It’s a massive club. He just wanted a bit more information and I told him if he bangs in 15 or 20 goals he will be a hero up there.
“It’s a great capture and I hope he really makes his mark and helps bring success to the club again.
“During my time at Aberdeen, we let ourselves down in a few semi-finals, but our run in the UEFA Cup in 2007/08 shouldn’t be forgotten. Bayern Munich knocked us out that year and look what they have gone on to achieve, but it was a great campaign for us.
“The fans want more. They are crying out for a wee bit of success and hopefully Calvin will help them.
“Aberdeen aren’t a bottom-six club and with the players Del is bringing in, I’d fancy them to be much stronger next year.
“Del is a top manager and there is a good mix of youth, experience and flair in the team.
“It would be great to see Aberdeen finish in the top half and reach a final. That’s what the supporters are looking for.” :clangers2:
Congo-born Zola stands out from the crowd with his huge frame and dreadlock hairdo.
But Diamond insists he isn’t just a targetman and promised Dons fans they are in for a treat.
He said: “He’s a big guy, but he’s great with the ball at his feet. Add that to his power and his heading ability and you have a top striker.
“A lot of people would have seen him play against Bradford when he scored twice in the play-off. He was unplayable. He gave their defence a torrid time and that is what he’s capable of.
“The fans will take to him and he will really team up well with Niall and the likes of Jonny Hayes.
“You also have Barry Robson at the club now, so the ammunition is there from the wide areas.
“I’m sure if they get the service for him, nine times out of 10 big Calvin will get on the end of it.
“His heading ability is incredible, but there is more to his game. Any half chance on the deck, he will finish it. We played him as a target-man down here, but you can play off him on the ground too.”
Diamond is settled as Burton’s skipper, but he still looks out for the Dons’ results after spending eight years at Pittodrie.
He believes Zola could complete new gaffer McInnes’ jigsaw.
Diamond added: “I was at the 0-0 draw with St Mirren at the end of the season and Aberdeen were crying out for a big striker that day.
“Calvin will fit in well at the club. He’s a humble big guy, but he is always up for a joke and he works hard in training.
“It’s a great capture by Aberdeen. I’m really impressed by Derek’s signings. The season holds a lot of promise.”