Karl Fletcher Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I might be working in Stavanger for a couple of weeks around August/September time, not sure on exact dates. Might as well take in some fitba while I'm there. Anyone know if it's worth going along to see Viking or the smaller team Vidar? I believe Maurice Ross plays for the latter. If anyone has any tips/info, dinna be shy. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Viking are pish as are Sandnes who are also in the too league. Bryne are in the league below and are doing ok. Vidar are in the league below that and the level there is truly awful Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Ps Stavanger is boring, good luck! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 whats bergen like byen? norways seems like a country with spectacular countryside but nae real towns or cities worth visiting. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted June 19, 2013 Author Share Posted June 19, 2013 Haud me back. Any decent boozers in Stavanger? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Haud me back. Any decent boozers in Stavanger?No idea to be honest, eh think eh have been out about twice there. The harbour area seems to be the most happening place so head there. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 whats bergen like byen? norways seems like a country with spectacular countryside but nae real towns or cities worth visiting.In my biased opinion, this is the most beautiful city on Norway, and easily one of the most beautiful on Europe. What it lacks is a bit of nightlife, a decent boozer at decent prices etc. Link to comment
Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Like your thinking Brian min, put Bluto off before he gets any ideas about visiting. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Like your thinking Brian min, put Bluto off before he gets any ideas about visiting. at least id visit. youve never even left your paegan hell hole island. Link to comment
Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've been to Aberdeen. And Inverness. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 In my biased opinion, this is the most beautiful city on Norway, and easily one of the most beautiful on Europe. What it lacks is a bit of nightlife, a decent boozer at decent prices etc. aye but thats nae really saying much, is it? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've been to Aberdeen. And Inverness. typically i find islanders and extreme- rural dwellersers to be insular types who tend to long for teh isolation of home and struggle settling in large urban areas Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 aye but thats nae really saying much, is it?There are some stunning cities here, ålesund, Tromsø etc and then others better left unmentioned like Oslo and Stavanger. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Like your thinking Brian min, put Bluto off before he gets any ideas about visiting. Was it that obvious? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 There are some stunning cities here, ålesund, Tromsø etc and then others better left unmentioned like Oslo and Stavanger. tromso, is that the far north one, for the lights?or for the ice hotel? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 tromso, is that the far north one, for the lights?or for the ice hotel? Yes, up north, northern lights etc. Ice hotel is in Sweden, different country. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Yes, up north, northern lights etc. Ice hotel is in Sweden, different country. which sad cases would ever live there.inbreds.the norwegian highlanders. Link to comment
Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 typically i find islanders and extreme- rural dwellersers to be insular types who tend to long for teh isolation of home and struggle settling in large urban areas I think, typically, you're talking pish. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I think, typically, you're talking pish. raw nerve?nae having a go at you. just saying its harder for your types to adapt to the modern urban enbvironment.id be the same if id never been to a picture house or seen a brand bnew car before. Link to comment
Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I just don't think you've met many "islanders and extreme- rural dwellersers" to form that opinion. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've always fancied going to Tromso. You been Brian? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've always fancied going to Tromso. You been Brian? Aye, couple of times. Go in the Summer, 24 hours of daylight, no one really sleeps much. Eh arrived at 2am and there were bairns playing fitba. The winter on the other hand is long and dark, bit like Cheesepipes' taste in men. Link to comment
Quagmire Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Haud me back. Any decent boozers in Stavanger? I think Beverly's down by the harbour is the main bar for watching Scottish/English football if you're there at the weekend. It was years ago when a mate lived there. I went over for a few weekends and liked it. Some incredible bits of stuff wandering about. All the bars open out onto the harbour so its ideal in the summer. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted June 19, 2013 Author Share Posted June 19, 2013 Cheers min. Harbour pub crawl it is. Link to comment