Guest Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 Anyone listen to the show - can't recall exactly what it's name was - something like 'my life in 5 games'? Just caught the end and Craig Brown was on talking about his last game - against Utd. Anyway, he was talking about how he left Motherwell for Aberdeen, how it was pretty much known that our squad were shite etc. But what astounded me, was that he started to rattle off about the players he lost (sold in his words) and how this had an impact on his overall budget. Stated that it actually reduced his budget to the extent that ICT and Ross County had a better budget than us. Now, the names he mentioned 'being sold' were Aluko, Grimmer (never even played a first team game!!), Foster (who he said was a Scottish International player), Maguire (again, another International player in his eyes), Ryan Fraser, and he mentioned Paul Hartley as being injured and had to retire. I couldn't quite get my head around what that had to do with the budget - I mean, even allowing for those players being sold, our overall wage bill must surely have been more than the likes of St Johnstone, ICT and County. Went on to mention his achievements in getting to two semi finals, blah blah blah..... Overall, a bletherer of the highest order, loved by the media, for having achieved, well.... next to feck all in his managerial career. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 Old age is a terrible thing. If he's nae bumming up Ricky Foster and Sevco in the papers he's on the radio spouting pish. Needs put into a care home and sedated. Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 Post something that wasn't blatantly obvious to any cu*t with half a brain Link to comment
Patty Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 He's boasting about getting to two semi finals??? One of them we already qualified for before he even took charge! Link to comment
Guest Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 Post something that wasn't blatantly obvious to any cu*t with half a brain Heard his usual crap many time whilst he was in charge and shortly after being dunted. But never heard this line that because we had to sell players, that that somehow reduced our overall budget to the extent that it was one of the lowest in the league. Mentioned that Utd had the lowest due to selling Goodwillie. I'm not sure how he justifies most things, but this one was beyond the pale. Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 Heard his usual crap many time whilst he was in charge and shortly after being dunted. But never heard this line that because we had to sell players, that that somehow reduced our overall budget to the extent that it was one of the lowest in the league. Mentioned that Utd had the lowest due to selling Goodwillie. I'm not sure how he justifies most things, but this one was beyond the pale.I'm not having a go TWL...just amazed that folks are surprised at the total BS the daft auld cu*t still pedals...he was without doubt the most hopeless pri*k to ever be given the honour of managing our great club...when you hear he's been offered a place on the board it makes me sick to the pit of my stomach...he's a cancerous leach the club should walk away from, not encourage... Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 He's boasting about getting to two semi finals??? One of them we already qualified for before he even took charge!He actually said 3 semis, but failed to say McGhee got him into one of them. He was asked to pick 5 memorable matches, then preceded to pick 4 that he lost. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 6, 2013 Share Posted July 6, 2013 He thought he'd won those 4. Link to comment
Patty Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 He actually said 3 semis, but failed to say McGhee got him into one of them. He was asked to pick 5 memorable matches, then preceded to pick 4 that he lost.Ahh yeah! I forgot about the Hibs semi. Embarrassed myself in Heathrow that day when Fallon scored. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 i hear the bit when talking about his final game last season when he said "we could've easily gone there and got a 0-0 draw," aye the ONE fucking time he never played for a 0-0 which would have seen us in top six fucking irony! Link to comment
MG_Don Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 i hear the bit when talking about his final game last season when he said "we could've easily gone there and got a 0-0 draw," aye the ONE fucking time he never played for a 0-0 which would have seen us in top six fucking irony! 0-0 Wouldn't have seen us in the top 6,we needed to win and Dundee to beat Killie. Dundee did there bit and we couldn't. All that Uniteds late goal meant was that they took the top 6 place from Killie and not us as 0-0 was no good for us, as it wasn't throughout the whole of last season Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Senile_dementia Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 He actually said 3 semis, but failed to say McGhee got him into one of them. He was asked to pick 5 memorable matches, then preceded to pick 4 that he lost.Goalie never had a save to make in any of them tho. Link to comment
fatjim Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 I'm not having a go TWL...just amazed that folks are surprised at the total BS the daft auld cu*t still pedals...he was without doubt the most hopeless pri*k to ever be given the honour of managing our great club...when you hear he's been offered a place on the board it makes me sick to the pit of my stomach...he's a cancerous leach the club should walk away from, not encourage... He's a bit old to be riding a bike? 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 And the bestest thing about Broon? Still at the club. Still leeching a wage. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 Craig Broon was out his depth at AFC, settled for mediocrity cause he was too old fashioned to modernise his training methods or ideas etc. Too often was too negative, I for one am glad he's no longer our manager. Link to comment
zander Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 Sooner this big mouthed old fud fucks off the better.Everything at this club is positive just now and we have this old cunt trotted out to speak pish in the media every now and then. 2 Link to comment
fatjim Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 We may be saddled with him for a bit longer. Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 And the bestest thing about Broon? Still at the club. Still leeching a wage. I thought, as an executive director, that he wasn't getting a wage from AFC at all anymore? Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 7, 2013 Share Posted July 7, 2013 I thought, as an executive director, that he wasn't getting a wage from AFC at all anymore?He's not being paid but maybe they should give him a small sum to stfu. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 8, 2013 Share Posted July 8, 2013 I thought, as an executive director, that he wasn't getting a wage from AFC at all anymore? Well if we're not paying him why is he still at the club? What's his angle? Link to comment
zander Posted July 8, 2013 Share Posted July 8, 2013 I thought, as an executive director, that he wasn't getting a wage from AFC at all anymore? He is still working for AFC as an ambassador or what ever the fuck they call jobs for the boys now. and what a fine ambassador he is for the club spouting pish about sevco etc on an almost daily basis. Link to comment
nazrat Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Anyone listen to the show - can't recall exactly what it's name was - something like 'my life in 5 games'? Just caught the end and Craig Brown was on talking about his last game - against Utd. Anyway, he was talking about how he left Motherwell for Aberdeen, how it was pretty much known that our squad were shite etc. But what astounded me, was that he started to rattle off about the players he lost (sold in his words) and how this had an impact on his overall budget. Stated that it actually reduced his budget to the extent that ICT and Ross County had a better budget than us. Now, the names he mentioned 'being sold' were Aluko, Grimmer (never even played a first team game!!), Foster (who he said was a Scottish International player), Maguire (again, another International player in his eyes), Ryan Fraser, and he mentioned Paul Hartley as being injured and had to retire. I couldn't quite get my head around what that had to do with the budget - I mean, even allowing for those players being sold, our overall wage bill must surely have been more than the likes of St Johnstone, ICT and County. Went on to mention his achievements in getting to two semi finals, blah blah blah..... Overall, a bletherer of the highest order, loved by the media, for having achieved, well.... next to feck all in his managerial career.So, do you ever read anyone's CV? everyone i see tells you how great they were, how good the team was and how they led or were instrumental in developing the team... even people i know who frankly i wouldn' t have if i had a choice, it is human nature to build up the positives, and to focus on that, esp when looking back. time to move on again. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 His major (only?) achievement was to avoid relegation in his first half season. That's it, nothing else. It's in the past. Time to move on and make the big leap into the top 6 under Derek. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 no, hes not when are you going to admit you JUST dont understand soccer? Sometimes you should say nothing and let everyone think you're a prick rather than speak up and confirm it. 4 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 no, hes not when are you going to admit you JUST dont understand soccer? I was about to retort with, "When are you going to admit you're a minky, narcissistic, compulsive liar assclown with a pathological proclivity towards expounding nothing but ephemeral fantasy. " I was about to do that, and then I decided not to bother. I'll be the bigger man Vaillant in his study of defence mechanisms took as a central example of 'an immature defence...fantasy - living in a "Walter Mitty" dream world where you imagine you are successful and popular, instead of making real efforts to make friends and succeed at a job'.[2] Fantasy, when pushed to the extreme, is a common trait of narcissistic personality disorder; and certainly 'Vaillant found that not one person who used fantasy a lot had any close friends' Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I was about to retort with, "When are you going to admit you're a minky, narcissistic, compulsive liar assclown with a pathological proclivity towards expounding nothing but ephemeral fantasy. " I was about to do that, and then I decided not to bother. I'll be the bigger man Vaillant in his study of [/size]defence mechanisms took as a central example of 'an immature defence...[/size]fantasy - living in a "[/size]Walter Mitty" dream world where you imagine you are successful and popular, instead of making real efforts to make friends and succeed at a job'.[/size][2] Fantasy, when pushed to the extreme, is a common trait of [/size]narcissistic personality disorder; and certainly 'Vaillant found that not one person who used fantasy a lot had any close friends'[/size]Tje narcissistic link is incredibly accurate to describe our Walter. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 there's a remake of walter mitty coming out this year, utilising ben stiller's comedy stylings. 1 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 13, 2013 Share Posted July 13, 2013 there's a remake of walter mitty Link to comment