Dmm1197 Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Just wondered whether anyone knows anything about Chris's injury which happened on Saturday night. How serious is it, what is it that is wrong and what was the cause of the injury, was it the pitch to blame because i have read that he went down with no one near him. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Broken knee according to sky sports news 1 Link to comment
ebbe Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 won't be seeing him for 6, 7 months then. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Just wondered whether anyone knows anything about Chris's injury which happened on Saturday night. How serious is it, what is it that is wrong and what was the cause of the injury, was it the pitch to blame because i have read that he went down with no one near him.I don't think it was a football related injury Link to comment
Guest Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Broken knee according to sky sports news You being serious? How can you break your knee exactly? Link to comment
Pudgie Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 You being serious? How can you break your knee exactly?Not totally sure. A bit of googling comes up with a broken patella. It was only up for a bit but it was up there. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Do not want anyone to hurt themselves but if any were going to do it then langfield and clark would be the least missed in my opinion (football wise of course) 2 2 Link to comment
dervish Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Do not want anyone to hurt themselves but if any were going to do it then langfield and clark would be the least missed in my opinion (football wise of course) I don't much rate Clark as a player but the one job he can do is be mildly substandard in many positions. Which may have, in a perverse way, turned out to be useful to cover injuries over the season. If he wasn't croaked of course... Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 If that's us used up our one big injury for the season, then that'll do me. Was going to be utility player anyway, and lengthy injury means nae games which means nae new contract. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Not totally sure. A bit of googling comes up with a broken patella. It was only up for a bit but it was up there. The patella is your knee cap. He may well have dislodged it, but I can't see that. More than likely ligament damage. Your knee is basically like CV joint on a car. There are no real bones... just ligaments, cartlidge and the patella which is the 'armour plating' on the front. Not that I'm a GP or a physio or course, but I've never heard of anyone refer to 'breaking their knee'. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 won't be seeing him for 6, 7 months then. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Maybe one of his 5 "professional friends" is a doctor. We could ask him. (or her of course) No sexism here. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 So in TWL world the patella is not made of bone, right? Yes, but you'd hear someone say that the person had broken their knee cap I would have thought, same as if you broken/cracked your skull, you'd hear that expression, not "I've broken ma heid". Link to comment
Guest Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Maybe one of his 5 "professional friends" is a doctor. We could ask him. (or her of course) No sexism here. How did you know? One is a Doctor, one a Lawyer, one a Head Teacher, one a Politician and the other a Project Manager. I'd love to carry on this little parody, but can I just draw your attention to the use of the word 'professional' from Wiki.... 'A professional is a person who is engaged in a certain activity, or occupation, for gain or compensation as means of livelihood; such as a permanent career, not as an amateur or pastime' So, in a nutshell, no low life scum, tax dodgers, or unemployable neds. I think you get the gist. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 How did you know? One is a Doctor, one a Lawyer, one a Head Teacher, one a Politician and the other a Project Manager. I'd love to carry on this little parody, but can I just draw your attention to the use of the word 'professional' from Wiki.... 'A professional is a person who is engaged in a certain activity, or occupation, for gain or compensation as means of livelihood; such as a permanent career, not as an amateur or pastime' So, in a nutshell, no low life scum, tax dodgers, or unemployable neds. I think you get the gist. No. I don't. Please continue. What's your point? Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 One is a Doctor, one a Lawyer, one a Head Teacher, one a Politician and the other a Project Manager.Is that the SNP lad ? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 The patella is your knee cap. He may well have dislodged it, but I can't see that. More than likely ligament damage. Your knee is basically like CV joint on a car. There are no real bones... just ligaments, cartlidge and the patella which is the 'armour plating' on the front. Not that I'm a GP or a physio or course, but I've never heard of anyone refer to 'breaking their knee'.Did wee Bazza Fergushun not break his Patella whilst playing for Blackburn? Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Patella is yummy, especially in Spain. 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 So in TWL world the patella is not made of bone, right? Indeed. Clark himself said it made an audible "crack".Sounds a bit bony that. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Is that the SNP lad ? I was, of course, taking the piss. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Indeed. Clark himself said it made an audible "crack".Sounds a bit bony that. Ligaments can make an awful sound when they snap/tear. I thought I'd broken my ankle but it turned out it was a serious ligament tear. No. I don't. Please continue. What's your point? My point? You seem hellbent on raising this issue about my 'professional' friends. You're like a dog with a bone. Woof!! Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 I was, of course, taking the piss.I guessed you were about the doctor but hey ho life goes on. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Patella is yummy, especially in Spain.Not as nice as Nutella! Link to comment
Guest Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 I guessed you were about the doctor but hey ho life goes on. I take it you're referring to Ewan Dow?... a past acquaintance of mine from supporters group days but he doesn't attend Pittodrie these days. I think he's a season ticket holder (sponsor as well) of some local Junior team down Perth way. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 No, it was Mark McDonald i was thinking. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted July 23, 2013 Share Posted July 23, 2013 Yes, but you'd hear someone say that the person had broken their knee cap I would have thought, same as if you broken/cracked your skull, you'd hear that expression, not "I've broken ma heid". Well you would normally say fractured skull but in actual fact a fracture is simply a break also. (in terms of bones at least)Clean break is the same thing as a fracture pretty much, just the fact that the crack has a slightly bigger gap. Also when a Dr is speaking about a fractured skull, he/she describes it as a break, or where & how big the break is. So "I've broken ma heid" is actually the correct description but fractured sounds less severe & what people prefer to use. Link to comment
Dmm1197 Posted July 23, 2013 Author Share Posted July 23, 2013 Just wondered if Chris Clark has been seen around Balmoor tonight. If yes how was his leg. Althoigh he was meant to have a scan on monday we still havent been told anything. Link to comment