ChutneyLove Posted July 24, 2013 Share Posted July 24, 2013 It's been 30 years or so by now, someone come clean. You'd think in a city that gossip gets round like wildfire in that there'd at least be some pretty well developed rumours. A nasty piece of work, choking him with a cheese-wire for a couple of quid. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 24, 2013 Share Posted July 24, 2013 It's been 30 years or so by now, someone come clean. You'd think in a city that gossip gets round like wildfire in that there'd at least be some pretty well developed rumours. A nasty piece of work, choking him with a cheese-wire for a couple of quid. September 29th 1983 29/9/1983 George Murdoch – Aberdeen What do you do if you see someone being murdered? On Wednesday, September 29th, 1983, two cyclists in Pitfodels Station Road, Aberdeen, saw a taxi driver in a life-and-death struggle with his passenger. The attacker had the cabby pinned to the ground and was strangling him.The cyclists sped off to call the police from a phone box. By the time the police arrived the taxi driver, George Murdoch, 58, was dead, and his wallet and some cash was gone.The killer was shortish, in his twenties, with short dark hair. The description suggests he was probably the same man who went into a fish and chip shop on the Great Western Road in Mannofield about 15 minutes after the murder. Witnesses remembered blood dripping from his hand injury on to the counter, scratches on his cheek and nose and the beginnings of a bruise on the lower lid of one of his eyes.It was part of the pattern of frustration felt by police that this sighting wasn’t reported until three weeks after it happened. Detectives were astonished that no one in the chippy connected the dishevelled customer to the killing about a mile away. And of the six people known to have been in the shop at the time, only one was traced. I doubt Aberdeen cops could solve a 'mystery' where the killer walked into the nearest police station, soaked in blood, waving a butcher's knife above his heid shouting, "I fucking killed the bastard!" Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 When you went through the turnstiles at pittodrie on the Saturday, plodwere inspecting all males's hands for signs of cuts and scratches.A poor show that nobody got caught for this. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 you just never know. the chippy incident above could be completely unrelated. im aurprised more folk dont get away with murder. Link to comment
swifty Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 you just never know.the chippy incident above could be completely unrelated.im aurprised more folk dont get away with murder.Darren Mackie got away with murder for years! Link to comment
Jonty Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 you just never know. the chippy incident above could be completely unrelated. im aurprised more folk dont get away with murder. I agree - why would you stop at a chipper 15 mins after murdering somebody? Surely you would peg it off up the railway line where nobody would see you? The guy was almost beheaded wasnt he? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 I agree - why would you stop at a chipper 15 mins after murdering somebody? Surely you would peg it off up the railway line where nobody would see you? The guy was almost beheaded wasnt he? dunno. never heard of the incident till today. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 The cheese wire is a bit of a red herring, the police did find one there but it wasn't used in the killing. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 cheese wire.ouch nae stopping that slicing your head off. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 There is not a day goes past when I drive over that wee bridge on that road that I do not think of George.Agreed that the Mannofield Chipper thing was just folk bletherin On this type of subject I was remembering a case from late 70's / 80's in Aberdeen where a couple kidnapped a wee lassie from Market Street and tortured her.Think they eventually caught up with them in Kincorth. Anyone else mind o this ? Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 On this type of subject I was remembering a case from late 70's / 80's in Aberdeen where a couple kidnapped a wee lassie from Market Street and tortured her.Think they eventually caught up with them in Kincorth. Anyone else mind o this ?Aye, it was quite a few days she was missing for but at least she was found alive.There was also the tramp who got murdered in Springbank Terrace in 1981, theynever caught who did that. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Fit aboot the wifey that was dumped oot a volvo at the hospital door and the volvo was found crushed at a scrappy, did the boy get away with that ene? Link to comment
boboisared Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 http://www.afc-chat....showtopic=18277 How strange, already a thread on here (googled it as I wanted to read more about it and this popped up). Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 A woman once murdered a little girl in Urqhuart Road because she called her a coconut, to try and cover up the murder her husband rammed a broom handle up her to make it look like she'd been raped, it was a neighbour of there's. I think it was in the 50's or 60's so probably only Tommy would remember it. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 A woman once murdered a little girl in Urqhuart Road because she called her a coconut, to try and cover up the murder her husband rammed a broom handle up her to make it look like she'd been raped, it was a neighbour of there's. I think it was in the 50's or 60's so probably only Tommy would remember it.It was in the 30's but i have heard about it.Helen Priestly was the victim and the lack of sperm suggestedto the police it had not been a sexual attack and that a woman was involved.Well done plod, they got the bitch. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 I read about in the book in the link, great read if you're interested in local history and murders. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Blood-Granite-True-Crime-Aberdeen/dp/1845022084/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1374754719&sr=8-1 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Bit off topic but I came across this on Wikipedia the other day. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_John_Burnett Last man to be executed in Aberdeen, mental story like. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 We should never have got rid of executions, would be a good day out going along to watch one. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 We should never have got rid of executions, would be a good day out going along to watch one.Haha! Link to comment
jassb Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 I'd probably wait for a double header, followed by an all day session. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 30 years ago or not, the guy that done it could still get a knock at his door some day. Just yesterday a guy was charged with killing that copper in the Tottenham riots in 1985 & also the guys that done Stephen Lawrence have only just recently been sent down. Imagine looking over your shoulder like that for the rest of your life, it must cross his mind every morning he wakes up that today could be the day... Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 30 years ago or not, the guy that done it could still get a knock at his door some day. Just yesterday a guy was charged with killing that copper in the Tottenham riots in 1985 & also the guys that done Stephen Lawrence have only just recently been sent down. Imagine looking over your shoulder like that for the rest of your life, it must cross his mind every morning he wakes up that today could be the day... I don't think those guys killed Lawrence. 1 1 Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 I don't think those guys killed Lawrence.Well the met had to fit someone up after the public outcry over what happened previously. They looked suitably dodgy, job done. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Well the met had to fit someone up after the public outcry over what happened previously. They looked suitably dodgy, job done.I remember tv footage when they walked from court - think it was when first cleared, they were winding upthe Lawrence supporters and gobbed on them and threw some punches- looked a bunch of total neds, not thatthat makes them guilty.But i think they were. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Nah Tommy they were being abused and spat on, brotherhood of muslim supporters there in an organised attempt to get at them, they only defended themselves. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Nah Tommy they were being abused and spat on, brotherhood of muslim supporters there in an organised attempt to get at them, they only defended themselves.I stand corrected m'lud. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Nah Tommy they were being abused and spat on, brotherhood of muslim supporters there in an organised attempt to get at them, they only defended themselves.Was Lawro a Muslim? Or just these cunts turning up everywhere that they can get their bearded faces on tv as per...? Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 Was Lawro a Muslim? Or just these cunts turning up everywhere that they can get their bearded faces on tv as per...? He looked like a mozzy. Wouldn't surprise me if he accidently fell on the blade he was carrying. His folks are never out of the papers, he's dead, get over it! Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 I stand corrected m'lud. No problems Thomas, 1 Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 He looked like a mozzy. Wouldn't surprise me if he accidently fell on the blade he was carrying. His folks are never out of the papers, he's dead, get over it! Ooft, harsh but fair! 1 Link to comment