Stoney Posted August 2, 2013 Share Posted August 2, 2013 Wondering what the yes folk would do/have done if the father had said no? Would they not marry the girl or would they go ahead and do it anyway disrespecting the father far far more than they would have by not asking him in first place? Was never going to happen, Im a likeable cunt.....ken!!! Link to comment
Pash Posted August 2, 2013 Share Posted August 2, 2013 I wouldn't ask him. I would tell him. Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 2, 2013 Share Posted August 2, 2013 I suppose it depends, if you had an inkling that he didn't like you or that he'd say no then you probably wouldn't ask him and you'd just propose to her without asking. In other words, folk would only really ask if they were at least 99.9999% sure he'd say yes.That was my thinking - so not out of respect at all really then!! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 2, 2013 Author Share Posted August 2, 2013 Mates who have recently got married both asked the father in law first. Personally i'd rather not and I do think it's a pointless thing to do, however the birds sister has recently got married and her other half did the whole asking the father in law thing. If he hadn't I definitely wouldn't. Link to comment
Ohjimmyjimmy Posted August 2, 2013 Share Posted August 2, 2013 I didn't when I asked the wife to marry me. An outdated tradition that harks back to a byegone era. Nothing to do with 'respect' to the father or any of that nonsense. Did those that asked the father for their daughters hand in marriage not feel like utter clowns? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 2, 2013 Share Posted August 2, 2013 I think it depends on the culture. While it might seems 'stupid' to some it's likely a necessity in others, in particular cultures where the family is considered a very important aspect of their social fabric. Remember, we all have certain traditions we follow. Some people go to church at Christmas to chant incantations to their invisible sky-wizard. The Chinese have New Year on the 'wrong' day, dress up like dragons, and dance down the street to firecrackers and drums. Some cultures chop off part of a kid's cock then have a party. In the scheme of things, asking the father for permission to marry his daughter is pretty tame. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 3, 2013 Share Posted August 3, 2013 My father in law asked me when I was going to take her off his hands. Link to comment
dervish Posted August 3, 2013 Share Posted August 3, 2013 My father in law asked me when I was going to take her off his hands. Did he have her FSH? Link to comment
tainboy Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 I called and asked for his grace not his permission. Basically to ask if he accepted I was civil enough or responsible enough to care for and provide for his daughter. I didn't realise I would be having to do constant DIY, vehicle maintenance and catering for the extended family too, or I'd have just stayed at the bar. If any lad doesn't do that for either of my two daughters he will be treated with utter contempt, derision and despise for ever more. After I've knocked fuck out of him. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 I called and asked for his grace not his permission. Basically to ask if he accepted I was civil enough or responsible enough to care for and provide for his daughter. I didn't realise I would be having to do constant DIY, vehicle maintenance and catering for the extended family too, or I'd have just stayed at the bar. If any lad doesn't do that for either of my two daughters he will be treated with utter contempt, derision and despise for ever more. After I've knocked fuck out of him.Being from Tain you would need to ask your own dad if you can marry your girlfriend since she'd also be your sister. Link to comment
LeDandy Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 I didnae speak the same language as my faither in law , having said that if i did then i still wouldna have asked him , I do speak french now and hes a sound old guy but as others have said , it was his quine i was interested in and his opinion meant fuck all . Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 Your Father in Law would be a Paki, so you would have had to swallow his load I suppose. Nah, min... Arab tradition and Rumpus'; favoured pastime with the ethnics are two very different beasts Link to comment
fatjim Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 I'm a free spirit, I live without the shackles of marriage. civil partnership? Link to comment
fatjim Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 My wife's dad died when she was 8 but if he was alive I probably wouldn't have asked him. Link to comment
StevieT1986 Posted August 4, 2013 Share Posted August 4, 2013 If I was going to propose to the mrs i would ask her dad. A bit unsure now as he's reversed into my car and put a big dent in it. I think he's trying to give me a hint Link to comment
Jigot Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 My wife proposed to me!As I like a night oot I said "fuck aye,why no" Went through to the weege tae tell her folks and her auld man tain me oot fer a pint to his local,The Dog Watch,Kelso st Yoker. Fuck me, I thought Oor Wullie,Fat Boab and Wee Eck had knocked it up ower the weekend.Decent pint all the same but the females in the place you wouldnae ride intae battle. Link to comment