madjockmcferson Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 So, the wife runs about 100 miles a month. She is getting really bad shin splints and has never really suffered from them before. She has been doing some research and thinks that these compression socks or tubes that you can buy (they cost 50 USD here) might help. I'm skeptical and I dont really want her to spend 50 USD - has anyone used these and do they work? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 Only thing that fixes shin splits is rest. Lots of it, at least 4 weeks off running. Then good running shoes with air pockets etc to give lots of spring and to absorb the impact when running. Nothing else is worth trying. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 Only thing that fixes shin splits is rest. Lots of it, at least 4 weeks off running. Then good running shoes with air pockets etc to give lots of spring and to absorb the impact when running. Nothing else is worth trying. how about giving barefoot running a go, 3spam? it forces you to run differently (landing on the balls of your feet rather than the heel). some swear by it. and admittedly while the Vibram shoes are goofy looking, they're incredibly comfortable. it seems to have solved the problem for some, but not for others. http://www.dailymile.com/forums/anything-goes/topics/16140-shin-splints-and-minimalist-shoes The study’s findings included some that barefoot runners will find gratifying. They are indeed more likely to land on their mid-foot or the ball of their foot, avoiding the harmful practice of “heel-striking.” Previous research has shown that landing on the heel generates sudden, powerful impacts that are equivalent in force to several times a runner’s body weight. These impacts–which occur about a thousand times during each mile run—lead to injuries in the knees, hips, and other areas. Running shoes promote heel-striking because of the thick cushioning below the heel, and roughly 75% of shod American runners run this way.There are dangers to barefoot running as well, though, and they mainly stem from runners trying to switch to an entirely new stride too quickly after ditching their heavily-cushioned shoes. ”The bottom line is that when a runner goes from shoes to no shoes, their body may not automatically change its gait,” Rothschild said. Stress fractures on the front part of the foot and increased soreness in the calves can result from suddenly attempting to shift weight away from the heels after running one way for years. Still, of the barefoot runners Rothschild surveyed, 42% reported no negative effects from the switch.http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/science/2012/07/is-barefoot-running-really-better/ http://www.rei.com/learn/expert-advice/how-to-choose-barefoot-minimalist-running-shoes.html http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/index.htm Link to comment
weapon Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 I suffered from this as well and read that it was down to my trainers, so i went and bought a new pair and rested up for a week or so and thayt did the trick!! You can even go to the extent of making sure the trainers she buys are tailored for her running style by going to a shop that accesses how you run etc before reccomending a suitable trainer Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 Only thing that fixes shin splits is rest. Lots of it, at least 4 weeks off running. Then good running shoes with air pockets etc to give lots of spring and to absorb the impact when running. Nothing else is worth trying. Pretty much accurate. Get her to work on her core muscles while she's nae running. Stronger core= less strain on legs. Go to a good running shop and get her stride checked as well and get new running trainers according to the results. Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 So, the wife runs about 100 miles a month. She is getting really bad shin splints and has never really suffered from them before. She has been doing some research and thinks that these compression socks or tubes that you can buy (they cost 50 USD here) might help. I'm skeptical and I dont really want her to spend 50 USD - has anyone used these and do they work? I'd advise she gives up running, maybe takes the bus or walks. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 I got shin splints in training for my first marathon, pain-killered through that one. Had had my gait checked and trainers picked prior to this. I wear compression socks (cost about £20) after that one and have never had any issue with shin splints again, even training for and running the second marathon with the same trainers. Da ken if the two were related, or if it was just because of the shock to the system training the first time. Still wear them though... Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted August 14, 2013 Author Share Posted August 14, 2013 She buys a new pair of shoes every few months at a real shoe store whenever she sees they are waring down. She is really on top of that, they are shoes specifically for her running style, so her shoes aren't the problem. She has decided not to run for 2 days - she is quite bad at not stopping when she gets an injury whereas I stop whenever I feel slightly ill. Link to comment
Tyrant Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 I tend to keep going too when I have a slight illness or injury. And I inevitably feel much worse. Doesn't really do you any favours ignoring illness or injury. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 how about giving barefoot running a go, 3spam? Never tried it and I wouldnt while running along the pavements in Aberdeen on my to and from work either Can see why it would work but I'd say most are road running these days and you'd need feet like a Amazonian tribesman to handle all the stuff left on the streets here. I've had shin splints a few times mainly because my exercise regime is sporadic, i can sometimes take 3-4 months off and then stupidly think I can go straight back to the pace i was at before I stopped. I find that the best thing was to rest for a few days when I first felt the twinge and when I invested in a really good pair of trainers it stopped altogether. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 Never tried it and I wouldnt while running along the pavements in Aberdeen on my to and from work either Can see why it would work but I'd say most are road running these days and you'd need feet like a Amazonian tribesman to handle all the stuff left on the streets here. I've had shin splints a few times mainly because my exercise regime is sporadic, i can sometimes take 3-4 months off and then stupidly think I can go straight back to the pace i was at before I stopped. I find that the best thing was to rest for a few days when I first felt the twinge and when I invested in a really good pair of trainers it stopped altogether. there are different soles on the Vibram footwear, depending on where you're running and your feet, lolmine have the sturdiest bottoms, so at least my feet don't get bruised as badly on small rocks. but if you'd never wear them more because of how goofy you'd look.. aye. there's no overcoming that Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 you've lost me LGIR I thought you were asking about barefoot running, like Zola Budd Link to comment
RUL Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 I thought she was on about that but surely nobody in the uk runs bare foot? Whilst looking at running shoes the other day I noticed you do actually get bare foot trainer styles Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 14, 2013 Share Posted August 14, 2013 you've lost me LGIR I thought you were asking about barefoot running, like Zola Budd I thought she was on about that but surely nobody in the uk runs bare foot? Whilst looking at running shoes the other day I noticed you do actually get bare foot trainer styles neither of you click links, do you? the bottom two links in my original post.. contains info on what's generally termed barefoot running (but isn't in fact, barefoot) and minimalist running shoes. more accurately it should probably be called "barefoot-style running". with the Vibram and other minimalist footwear, you end up running on mostly the balls of your feet. a more natural and less painful style of running for some. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted August 20, 2013 Author Share Posted August 20, 2013 I think runners like gear that looks retarded. It's part of their psyche. Link to comment