bruceg1978 Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 Considering going over to Florida next summer. However we're going round in circles on what to book. Can anyone give me some pointers on the following: their will be 4 adults 2 children aged 4 & 5 and 2 toddlers both aged 1. 1) Villa or Hotel - plus can anyone recommend any?2) What parks to buy tickets for and which ones to avoid bearing in mind ages of kids. 3) Hire car or just use shuttle buses4) What area to stay at? 5) Anyone recommend staying in Disney itself? I have been searching Internet and can't decide. Thanks Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 We usually rent a villa with a pool in the Florida Room, but it depends on your budget. Parks are expensive, entrance is circa 100 buck pppd. Less if you buy multiple days, though. Orlando is your best bet... Disney, Nick, and Universal are all right there, Kennedy Space Center is an hour's drive East, everglades 3 hours south... By car I recommend a car just for the freedom... Regardless of where we go we rent a car. That way you get to go where you want, when you want, and as fast or slow as you want. I'm sitting in a restaurant in Universal as I type.. rare fun. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 Considering going over to Florida next summer. However we're going round in circles on what to book. Can anyone give me some pointers on the following: their will be 4 adults 2 children aged 4 & 5 and 2 toddlers both aged 1. 1) Villa or Hotel - plus can anyone recommend any?2) What parks to buy tickets for and which ones to avoid bearing in mind ages of kids. 3) Hire car or just use shuttle buses4) What area to stay at? 5) Anyone recommend staying in Disney itself?I have been searching Internet and can't decide. ThanksA holiday to Tampa with 4 kids. Gary Glitter can only dream of such a thing. Villa all the way. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted August 19, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 19, 2013 Fit like Brewster. We did hiotels in the early years but wouldn't go unless going to a villa now. Villa gives you much more chill out time "oot the backie". To get the best out of your holiday car hire is a must (unless ou stay either in a Disney hotel/resort or on International Drive although the top end is like Blackpool with Neds in union jack shorts or Celtic Sevco tops). Champions Gate area is a really nice area and only ten minutes from the main areas. Buy park tickets before you go. Orlando ticket deals .co.uk are who we buy through. When you going Brucey? Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 .When you going Brucey?What bit of "considering going next summer" are you struggling with ? :-) Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted August 19, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 19, 2013 What bit of "considering going next summer" are you struggling with ?:-)It's past 10 o'clock and the lenses are oot. Can barely read what I've typed never mind fit he wrote :-) Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 It's past 10 o'clock and the lenses are oot.Can barely read what I've typed never mind fit he wrote :-)At least you missed what Rocket said about you :-) 2 Link to comment
thedandydon Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 Go over once every couple years or so. Stayed in Villas in the past but joined the Disney Vacation Club a few years back so stay mostly at a Disney Resort now.I think for the number in your party a villa might work out better. Depends where you plan to spend most of your time. Haven't looked into them in a while but stayed in Kissammee in the past. Its not too far from everything. Lake Beuna Vista is pretty central too. Anywhere near to highway 192 is decent.Would definately reccommend a hire car. Makes it a whole lot simpler to get about if you want to go exploring.Kids are certainly the right age to appreaciate the Disney Parks. Seaworld is good for the little ones too. Universal is more geared towards slightly older ages although theres still a few rides and shows suitable. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 19, 2013 Share Posted August 19, 2013 http://disneycruise.disney.go.com/ships-activities/ships/dream/ Link to comment
brownie Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Considering going over to Florida next summer. However we're going round in circles on what to book. Can anyone give me some pointers on the following: their will be 4 adults 2 children aged 4 & 5 and 2 toddlers both aged 1. 1) Villa or Hotel - plus can anyone recommend any?2) What parks to buy tickets for and which ones to avoid bearing in mind ages of kids.3) Hire car or just use shuttle buses4) What area to stay at?5) Anyone recommend staying in Disney itself? I have been searching Internet and can't decide. Thanks Done both but I'd recommend a villa due to the young kids. That said, an onsite (Disney) hotel might work too. The like of Old Key West resort offer studio apartments which are larger than a normal hotel room, have a kitchen and some of them come with one or two bedrooms. You tehn have the extra hours in the park that Disney offer to onsite guests and the Disney transport system is very good. Disney 14 day pass which will give you the 4 main Disney parks and the 2 water parks. You could squeeze in Universal etc but with the younger ones it’s a lot to fit in. Villa/offsite hotel – Hire car. Disney hotel – Use Disney transport. Villa wise, we usually stay somewhere near the 192 and Disney itself. The area around Emerald Islands, Formosa Gardens etc Is very close to Disney and you have a sneaky shortcut across the 192. Its swings and roundabouts. Villa gives you that flexibility and you can chill out at your own pool at night with a beer while the kids are in bed. Oh and have a look at www.thedibb.co.uk , any question you have will have been answered on there. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Do the decent thing and don't take young, screaming children on an aircraft. It's not fair on them, or the other passengers. 1 Link to comment
brownie Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 If you are going anywhere that is a well known family destination then you should expect that there will be young kids and babies on the flight. 2 Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 An awful long way to go for some theme parks is always my thought when I think of Florida, I'm sure I'd enjoy the place but never really been that tempted. For kids as young as the op's you have Eurodisney almost on our doorstep in relative terms, next to that you have the culture of Paris and the French Countryside, I'd rather shack up in villa in France than sit on a plane for 9 hours with small kids. Each to their own though. 2 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Been to Florida once many years ago, loved it, saw the space shuttle taking offand thought Busch Gardens was great.Wouldn't consider going back coz i'd fear it wasn't so good the second time. Link to comment
minijc Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 I've been 3 times, first was 10 years ago last was 6 years ago, heading back in october and really looking forward to it, only ever stayed in hotels and doing so again this time. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 You can engage in some shooting of people. Just claim you felt threatened and you should get away with it. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 You can engage in some shooting of people. Just claim you felt threatened and you should get away with it. Make sure they are black first Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Clearly....or at least make sure it's someone who won't be missed, like a homeless person or someone poor, or a woman. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 The kids will love Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom. If you like rollercoasters then Universal and Buche Gardens are your thing. I wouldn't both going to Epcot, it's a bit crap. Rides wise....Surprisingly the Harry Potter one is amazing, as is the Spider man ride which are both in Unversal. If you are staying in a villa you'll probably be out of town slightly so maybe a car would be good! Staying in Disney would be great for the kids as well, but i'm not sure if it's worth the extra cash...so I can't really advise yay or nae. Link to comment
Nelly Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Heading out for the first time in October too, been waiting until the kids are old enough to fully enjoy the experiemce and most of all remember it. Going abroad with toddlers is a nightmare, even more so long haul. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Clearly....or at least make sure it's someone who won't be missed, like a homeless person or someone poor, or a woman.The poor homeless women have no chance with you around! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 We've stayed at Orange Lake Country Club a few times.Really nice place in Kissemmee. Not far from all the parks. Book through a company called Alpha rooms, pretty reasonable. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 I was there last year. We stayed at Hilton Doubletree Seaworld which is just off International Drive. We had a hire car between the 5 of us (me the missus, her parents and sister). Had the park tickets bought beforehand online. About 400 each for all parks unlimited for 2 weeks. Had a great time. Would definitely advise the car. Driving is easy enough over there. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 An awful long way to go for some theme parks is always my thought when I think of Florida, I'm sure I'd enjoy the place but never really been that tempted. For kids as young as the op's you have Eurodisney almost on our doorstep in relative terms, next to that you have the culture of Paris and the French Countryside, I'd rather shack up in villa in France than sit on a plane for 9 hours with small kids. Each to their own though. aye, but you can get tanked up to fuck whilst sitting on the same seat for 9hours. france though, and europe in general, is where the intelligencia go for their hollibobs. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 The poor homeless women have no chance with you around! The Boofon could take care of her man while he went about his work. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Kennedy Space Center the day. Considering a helicopter tour over the Everglades. As for the flight, Dayts, Honey Jack Daniels and Coke, with a couple of Arnie movies for entertainment, and you're in the land of the Morbidly obese before you can say, "Homeland Security." Florida's magic... If you tell them you were ASC they might even let you wrestle an alligator. 1 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Kennedy Space Center the day. Considering a helicopter tour over the Everglades. As for the flight, Dayts, Honey Jack Daniels and Coke, with a couple of Arnie movies for entertainment, and you're in the land of the Morbidly obese before you can say, "Homeland Security." Florida's magic... If you tell them you were ASC they might even let you wrestle an alligator. A Stupid Cunt? They would guess that meeting Dayts easy enough. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 A Stupid Cunt? They would guess that meeting Dayts easy enough.Ooft... Harsh... Mind you, tell them you're fae Dundee and they might feed you to an alligator. Link to comment