RUL Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Was bored last night and googled Jim bett, curious to see what became of his boys who played for us. One of the links was a thread on a rangers forum comparing bett and bobby Russell. Loads of positive comments about bett at Aberdeen, some saying he was superior to paul mcstay at the time? I mind bett being great but I was to young to care about other players at other teams and compare them. What do the older lot reckon, tommy I'm looking at you here, was bett better than mcstay? Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 I thought Bett was a fantastic player and yes, he was far more direct than McStay soI'd say he was a better player too.The comparison of Bett and Russell is FAF though. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 I hate to say I am old enough to recall Bett and McStay too.Bett had the advantage of midfield partners Mason, Connor, Stark, Simpson, Grant, to name but a few and yes he was more direct than McStay also Bett was deadly from the penalty spot. McStay was in a Celtic side that in his early days was certainly fare superior to Rangers just a comparison of an Rangers midfield of the early to mid 80s ( Prytz, Bett! Russell, Redford, Fraser ,McMinn, D Fergsuon) compared to the Celtic midfield of that same timeAitken, McStay, Grant, MacLeod, Colquhoun, Burns, whilst neitherwas a sta spangled line up everyone of that Celtic line up went on to play intenational football. the mid to late 80s was when the McStay class stood out like a sore thumb in a very average Celtic side. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted September 4, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted September 4, 2013 Was bored last night and googled Jim bett, curious to see what became of his boys who played for us. One of the links was a thread on a rangers forum comparing bett and bobby Russell. Loads of positive comments about bett at Aberdeen, some saying he was superior to paul mcstay at the time? I mind bett being great but I was to young to care about other players at other teams and compare them. What do the older lot reckon, tommy I'm looking at you here, was bett better than mcstay?I agree with Tommy, better than McStay Comparing him to Russell is like comparing Robin Van Persie to Darren Mackie. Link to comment
K-9 Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Bett of Aberdeen would have starred in the Celtic side back then but Mcstay would have struggled in Aberdeen side in my opinion. Bett had much more to his game. 1 Link to comment
steems Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Bett was a far better player than McStay.McStay came into the Celtic team with a lot of potential. When he retired he still had the same potential. As for Celtic's midfield at the time all being internationalists - I would hazard a guess all of Betts Rangers midield parnters also played for their country. For the Scot's it probably had more to do with playing for Rangers and Celtic than it did with being good enough! 1 Link to comment
The Hulk Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Paul McStay was a classy player whom if he had moved abroad and broadened his horizons would've become even better. But alas he was Celtic through and through and stunted his career by staying with Celtic all his days. Bett was more powerful and more intelligent. Jim Bett was the player that Paul McStay could've been. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 I thought mcStay was overrated. Bett was much more dynamic. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Bett was in some senses the complete midfielder, someone who could both win and use the ball very effectively. McStay was very silky, but lacked Bett's physicality and probably also his set-piece ability. My favourite Jim Bett goal came in a 3-0 home win against Hearts in about 1990, when, chasing a long ball towards the Beach End, he caught it more or less on the byline and hammered it with his left foot towards goal. The ball did a weird 'out-in' loopy thing, smacked off the underside of the crossbar and up into the roof of the net, leaving Henry Smith and pretty much the entire ground both baffled and seriously impressed. Nae idea if he meant it or not, but by fuck it looked cool. Paul McStay, for all youse young yins, was pretty much a prototype Barry Ferguson, with most of the same strengths and weaknesses. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Bett was a far better player than McStay.McStay came into the Celtic team with a lot of potential.When he retired he still had the same potential. As for Celtic's midfield at the time all being internationalists - I would hazard a guess all of Betts Rangers midield parnters also played for their country. For the Scot's it probably had more to do with playing for Rangers and Celtic than it did with being good enough!steems,. Bobby Russell, and Ian Redford never played for Scotland indeed they both left Rangers in the mid 80s Russell moving to Motherwell and Redford going to Tannadice where he was a key player in the UEFA cup run of 1987 I am sure that during that season redford was called up into a squad but never played. Prytz did indee play for the Swedish national side and bett himself made a handful of appearances for the national side while at Ibrox. I have to agree with other points1) WHEN he fulfils his potential he will be some player. 2) McStay was unfortunate in the era he played back in his rea the holding midfield role was not the anchor role it is and has been for the last 10 years , thereis no doubt in my mind that had he played in the last 10 years he would have been as good as Viera, Keane, Essien,. Hamann all the great holding midfielders . the game was far more physical in the 80s early 90s and so many really skilful players suffered for that. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Oxford don to be fair to McStay he was capable of pinging 50 -60 yard balls in to folk, nae like barry the crab. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 McStay was an overhyped Shellic 'legend' who wasn't fit to lace Jim Bett's boots. /thread 1 Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 When I hear McStay's name, I always think "under-achiever". Whether that's because he was overrated, or because he stifled his career by staying with a Celtic side that was poor, or both... Bett, on the other hand, was instrumental in AFC playing some of the best football of their entire history (and no, I'm not forgetting the Fergie era - we were a terrific side to watch in the late 80's and early 90's). He was a true powerhouse who should have had far more caps for his country. Certainly more than Turdo McLeod, anyway. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Jocky as I have said on this board many times before Bett was a victim of an era where Scotland was blessed with an abundance of midfielders Souness,, McStay, Aitken, Strachan, Simpson, Bannon, Wark, Weir, Provan, Burns, Cooper, then after that generation Collins Nevin, MacLeod, McAllister, Connor, Durrant, McStay,Bett was around when all the above and many other I have omitted were competing for a midfield slot and to be fair any manager would have had a headache picking from the aforementioned list an almost impossible task Link to comment
OddJob Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 When I hear McStay's name, I always think "under-achiever". Whether that's because he was overrated, or because he stifled his career by staying with a Celtic side that was poor, or both... Bett, on the other hand, was instrumental in AFC playing some of the best football of their entire history (and no, I'm not forgetting the Fergie era - we were a terrific side to watch in the late 80's and early 90's). He was a true powerhouse who should have had far more caps for his country. Certainly more than Turdo McLeod, anyway. One of the most biased commentators ever. Arsehole Jocky as I have said on this board many times before Bett was a victim of an era where Scotland was blessed with an abundance of midfielders Souness,, McStay, Aitken, Strachan, Simpson, Bannon, Wark, Weir, Provan, Burns, Cooper, then after that generation Collins Nevin, MacLeod, McAllister, Connor, Durrant, McStay,Bett was around when all the above and many other I have omitted were competing for a midfield slot and to be fair any manager would have had a headache picking from the aforementioned list an almost impossible task Are you trying to tell me his career WASN'T over then Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Jocky as I have said on this board many times before Bett was a victim of an era where Scotland was blessed with an abundance of midfielders Souness,, McStay, Aitken, Strachan, Simpson, Bannon, Wark, Weir, Provan, Burns, Cooper, then after that generation Collins Nevin, MacLeod, McAllister, Connor, Durrant, McStay,Bett was around when all the above and many other I have omitted were competing for a midfield slot and to be fair any manager would have had a headache picking from the aforementioned list an almost impossible taskWhy Weir never got at least 25 caps is beyond me. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Why Weir never got at least 25 caps is beyond me. Let me explain. Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Let me explain. You explained well. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 For younger hatters I would say think of Barry Ferguson without the Hunish tendencies and you have Paul McStay the player. He was a good player but just because he played for Celtic he seemingly could do no wrong in the Press' eyes. He had a good team built around him but you have to question if he was that good why did he never move to England or abroad although did he not nearly sign for some Spic mob. Anyway although through Scarlet spectacles Jazza B will always be a Dons God for me. He was just very, very good at his job. From scoring on his debut v Hibs to the day the single handly took the game to the Huns at Ibrox in 92 I think, he is everything we miss today. Thon team from early 90's with him , Nicholas, Gillhaus and young Jess & Booth were to me as much of a delight to watch as the 83-85 team 1 Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 You explained well.Cooper (Rangers)Provan (celtic)Burns (celtic)the three named above were the principal reason Weir was undercapped and can you spot the link. but add to WeirBannon, Sturrock, Stark, McDougall, Black, Andy Ritchie, Ralph Milne, and you have a list of players that were undoubtedly denied the international career that theier ability merited while they watched the likes ofGraeme Sharp, Alan McInally, JIm McInally, Murdo MacLeod, Alan Brazil, Ian Wilson, win numerous caps that must have been galling. Link to comment
caledonia Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Bett for me as McStay was hit or miss Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 just sums up to me what I have always maintained from 1984- 1992 we had a purple patch of quality in Scottish football during that 8 year spell you could nearly be certain of the Scotland back four being Gough, McLeish Miller , Malpas with Leighton behind was there4 a more consistent or reliable back line to play for it's country I doubt it. Link to comment
RUL Posted September 4, 2013 Author Share Posted September 4, 2013 So why were we so shit at world cups etc? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 So why were we so shit at world cups etc? Because there was no way any Scotland manager including Fergie could just pick the Aberdeen starting 11 and get away with it in the weegiecentric press. Filled oot with shite fae the bigot brothers instead of just picking the 83 cup winners cup team 2 Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 Because there was no way any Scotland manager including Fergie could just pick the Aberdeen starting 11 and get away with it in the weegiecentric press. Filled oot with shite fae the bigot brothers instead of just picking the 83 cup winners cup team If only Big Jock knew. 2 Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4, 2013 Share Posted September 4, 2013 So why were we so shit at world cups etc?Good question , 82 WC was the first since the Ally MacLeod debacle, we had Alan Rough in goal, always a handicap while Leighton McAlpine, and Billy Thomson all arguably better goalkeepers didn't get a sniff 86 obviously the loss of Jock Stein had an effect , we had a caretaker manager, a WC played in stifling heat, with some players in the twilight of their careers, obviously there are the moments that are make or break ( 82 the Hansen / Miller collision against the Soviet Union, 86 the Stvie Nicol missed sitter from 4 yards out against the Uruguayans) Link to comment
Redstar Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Souness,Cooper, DurrantNot sure about those 3 cunts chief. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Bett was far superior to McStay, no doubt about it. McStay was overrated, which was highlighted when he said he was leaving Smeltic. Did a lap of honour at the last game of the season, throwing his shirt into the crowd. Then no fucker came in for him during the summer. He was lining back up first game of the season at the San Giro, his career stumbling to a whimper of an end. Up there with Durrant in the "over-rated because they play for a Glasgow club" section. Anyone who actually saw either of them play would agree that they both had potential when breaking through into their club sides, but never fulfilled it. McStay gathered far too many Scotland caps. Bett could and usually did boss matches. He won the ball and distributed it well. When he had an off-game - which wasn't very often, the whole team fell apart. 2 Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Used to play 5's against Jim Bett every Friday after work at BOD Academy in the late 90's early 00,s, he loved a battle with the Pipes. He took Baldur along sometimes and how he managed a brief career in professional football i'll never know, he was total vagina. Mark Perry sometimes played aswell, he was no Roger Milla but a nice man all the same. Jim Bett in his pomp was a beast. McStay was and probably still is a gerbil faced fuck.My brother played in those 5's and said he could never get the ba aff o Bett, although my brother was a pussy Link to comment