Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 So have we had a bit of chat about these recent news items? Apologies if I have missed them somewhere. (I am sure I will be suitably chastised, if I have). 1) What did you make of Tam Cowan (a comedian) being censured for taking the mickey (ie making jokes) out of womans football? I think it said everything about modern Scotland and the BBC - petty, intolerant and humourless. The BBC seem to be wanting to give womans football a high profile (probably because its cheap) and I think Cowan hit a nerve by inconveniently pointing out that it was completely shite. Ive seen fat huns dance in the street for pennies, with more grace than womens football can muster. Their goal-keeping, in particular, is toe-curling. Our modern society makes Mary Whitehouse look like the Queen of permissiveness and edginess. Our society like a form of secular presbyterianism - cold, disapproving, utterly humourless, aye ready with a tutt or glower, at the slightest hint of a good natured joke or half-a-smile. and..... 2) What did you make of the Soldiers accused of being involved in "sectarian" (which is Scottish for "anti-Catholic") singing at Ibrox? I dont think its a good idea that organisation like the Army be paraded at any football ground, as though the troops are the sole property of that fanbase alone. Particularly given the background of Rangers and the Old Firm, I cant believe any right thinking person would think this a good idea. I cannot help but lose respect for the Armed Forces when they associate themselves with this kind of scum, (the boche), but I have now lost total respect for them in the wake of this behaviour. I will not again purchase a poppy (as I would proudly do every single year) nor ever donate to any Forces charity. I was feeling increasingly about uncomfortable about some of the charity you hear about anyway - "help for heroes" etc. (I can think of many adjectives for the troops who went to Iraq based on pure lies, and helped cause >100,000 civilian deaths, but "heroes" isnt one of them). Both of my grandads fought in WW2 etc, so perhaps I had a misplaced, generous and sentimental view of the Armed Forces to start with. I had even hoped to join the Royal Navy as a boy (wanted to fly a Harrier, because my eyes went). Perhaps I should be thankful to these bigots, for showing the Army up as the unprofessional gaggle of semi-literate scum which it is. I thought it was typical of Scotland that a long list of MSPs qued up to condemn Tam Cowan, but (to the best of my knowledge) didnt say anything about the soldiers at Ibrox. Of course, if the hatred was directed at "niggers" or "poofters" - instead of "fenians" - them I am sure we would have heard all about it. These are two more reasons why I am against independence, this is not the quality of society I want to live in. Being part of Britain helps dilute these poorer aspects of Scotland, to a more tolerable level. Of course, the irony here is that the Huns and their Army-Twat mates have painted Britain in a poor light. The floor is yours...................... Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 1/ Tam Cowan is a commedian. The clue is in the title. 2/ Easily avoidable situation, bit like an inappropriate (by which I mean not particularly relevant) minute's silence being talked over. Someone decided not to press the "avoid like the plague" button despite, in this particular instance, it being flagged up to them like a big flaggy thing on flag day. Someone needs p45. Next. Link to comment
Clagnuts Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ienZj9onV0Q Link to comment
dandydonsfan Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 1) It is difficult for the BBC to allow non-PC jokes when there's so many humourless websites/groups of people waiting to fire off emails saying how offended they are. 2) Your views on the armed forces are ridiculous. You won't donate to any forces charities because a few young Glaswegan ned soldiers sang bigotted rangers songs at Ibrox? Get a life. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 2, 2013 Author Share Posted October 2, 2013 I agree with what you guys say about Cowan. He is indeed a satirist / comedian first, not a serious pundit. I find it absolutely remarkable what has happened to him over this. Its OK if he attacks mens football / mens clubs, but not the helpless little girls, eh? But: 2) Your views on the armed forces are ridiculous. You won't donate to any forces charities because a few young Glaswegan ned soldiers sang bigotted rangers songs at Ibrox? Get a life. So are you saying people should accept publicly-funded, state institutions indulging in such manner, in public? I should reward them by giving them money and my respect, should I? If a black friend said he had difficulty trusting the police, after the racist way a couple of cops had dealt with him, would you sympathise with him, or tell him to "get a life". Some people say if you disagree with "gay marriage" you are a "bigot". They dont tell the gays to "get a life" if they are upset over it. Women do not even need to "suffer" mild jokes about how good they are at football - broadcasters and MSPs will fall over themselves to be outraged - but people need to listen to stuff like this at Ibrox? How is that fair? Seems to me the perpetuation of this issue is down to the cowardice / non-interest of Scots when it comes to addressing home-grown bigotry. Many prefer to concentrate on the myth of an inclusive, tolerant and modern Scotland. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 Seems to me the perpetuation of this issue is down to the cowardice / non-interest of Scots when it comes to addressing home-grown bigotry. Many prefer to concentrate on the myth of an inclusive, tolerant and modern Scotland.What has the UK government ever done about sectarianism in Scotland? Link to comment
wee jock poo-pong mcplop Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 On the cowan frontFolk are just waiting to be affronted about any little thing, waiting fingers hovering over their keyboards foaming at the mouth.Fuckwits just want to feel important.500 folk complained about the marmite advert which pretends the jar is unloved like a neglected cat and being rescue by the marmite police FFSAny complaints should be by post only then you would see who could be bothered.As for the army thing it did look unsavoury but what do hou expect? They are huns and they are in the army, they don't suddenly grow brains when you sign up. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 People these days are thin-skinned little bitches. 6 months on this board would sort the fuckers oot. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted October 2, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted October 2, 2013 Womens fitba is pish Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 As Ex forces I find yer post disgusting to say you won't donate to forces charity's and won't buy a poppy.... Do you even know what a poppy represents??? Just cause a few we're caught singing about Bobby sands, who cares let them sing, there teams gan to be dead in a matter oh months and we'll dancing on there grave again...Lighten up Gadjee and don't Tar the true hero's oh this country with a couple oh Knuckle dragging squaddies Link to comment
caledonia Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 People who say i do not give a fuck about the army etc etc are just attention seekers.Who would not give a fuck about someone who is risking their life on your behalf and if it were not for the army of old we would not be here today. People could use anything to point score Link to comment