Afc (And Other) Books

Clydeside_Sheep

A couple of weeks ago, the wife-machine and I were out a walk, and we went through the botanic gardens. By chance, there was a book fare on.

I got:

Willie Miller "The Don" - pristine condition - £3.

ASC (Congrats you have just met....) - pristine condition - £2.

No' bad, eh? I was quite pleased. I expect some sarky comments from some inevitable hun at the till, but in was just some old dears who were very pleasant and even gave me a plastic bag for my books.

(I also got a hardback book about the 17th cent Civil Wars in the Stewart Kingdoms for a fiver).

What other good dons books are there available?

I have another one at home, but its years since I read it and cant mind the name. I am sure Doug Rougvie is on the cover.

If anyone ahs a chance to visit this event again at the Botanics (Glasgow) Id say it was very worthwhile, they have a good range of stuff (even lots of stuff for the weans).

At least that's his natural dialect, not quite as odd as island laddies like yourself and Sheep#1 trying to pass yourselves off as Doric speakers, "min" :swear:

Fit are ya spikkin aboot Quine?

A man of the people such as myself, just tries to talk to others on the same level, my extensive vocabulary may make inferior people such as yourself feel inadequate :swear:

:roids:

I was born in Aberdeen I'll have you know.

:flag:

Ha ha, roon ye an 'at, ye fussy cunt Bri :P

I got Willie's book in a poundshop in Paisley.

There is also a book by some chancer called Dan Rivers, called 'Congratulations, you have just met the casuals', seems like it was written by some wee 15 year old Ned who wanted to be a casual. Utter pap.

Thanks sheep#1, I knew someone would discuss books eventually.

I figured the casual book would be crappy, but its easy reading and often funny. I have read a few of the genre (eg the Grimason brothers book etc), They all claim the same thing - no-one ever ran them, they were always the best dressed and they never carried weapons, it was always those other c*nts.

Myself, I'd just rather have a few jars then go to the football, rather than spoil my day by worrying I might get a knife put in me at any second, but maybe that's just me.

The Willie Miller book seems promising. I've only leafed through it. Id forgotten Jock Stein was in the Aberdeen camp for Gothenburg.

The pictures are good, pictures of the Willie Miller I remember as a boy, the swarthy, moustachioed personification of virility, in red.

:)

My current Dons related books collection contains:

The Don which you've got

The 2 casual ones - Jay's is decent, fuck knows who that boy Dan is but I'm nae impressed

Gothenburg Glory - think it's full of EE newspaper cuttings

Aberdeen FC Miscellany - aright

Pittodrie Idols - canna mind reading it but Zander Diamond is one of the 'idols' so it must be a grim read

On Fire with Fergie - nae bad, canna be arsed reviewing it now

King Joey - fucking quality

Big Dunc Shearer's book - as above

Steve Paterson's book - as above

The Legends of Aberdeen - canna mind

Also got a book on the Hun's demise but not read it yet

My current Dons related books collection contains:

The Don which you've got

The 2 casual ones - Jay's is decent, fuck knows who that boy Dan is but I'm nae impressed

Gothenburg Glory - think it's full of EE newspaper cuttings

Aberdeen FC Miscellany - aright

Pittodrie Idols - canna mind reading it but Zander Diamond is one of the 'idols' so it must be a grim read

On Fire with Fergie - nae bad, canna be arsed reviewing it now

King Joey - fucking quality

Big Dunc Shearer's book - as above

Steve Paterson's book - as above

The Legends of Aberdeen - canna mind

Also got a book on the Hun's demise but not read it yet

Thanks for all that info.

I also have a book about the death of the hun. Is yours the Phil MacGiollabhain one, "Downfall"? I thought it was very apt he used the same name as the recent german film about the fall of Hitler. I like MacGiollabhain, he always gives the hun steel.

If I wrote the book, Id have actually called it "Der Untergang". :hysterical:

Thanks sheep#1, I knew someone would discuss books eventually.

I figured the casual book would be crappy, but its easy reading and often funny. I have read a few of the genre (eg the Grimason brothers book etc), They all claim the same thing - no-one ever ran them, they were always the best dressed and they never carried weapons, it was always those other c*nts.

Myself, I'd just rather have a few jars then go to the football, rather than spoil my day by worrying I might get a knife put in me at any second, but maybe that's just me.

The Willie Miller book seems promising. I've only leafed through it. Id forgotten Jock Stein was in the Aberdeen camp for Gothenburg.

The pictures are good, pictures of the Willie Miller I remember as a boy, the swarthy, moustachioed personification of virility, in red.

:)

Jay's book, Bloody Casuals is pretty good. Read plenty books on the subject and it's not the best written (although none of them are contenders for the pulitzer prize), but way better than that Rivers boy efforts. Think he featured in a Danny Dyer documentary, giving the big 'un about battering Hibs. He looks like a fatter Martin Clunes with even worse hair, so I have my doubts about his credentials.

Haven't actually got round to Willie's book yet (I only ever read books on the shitter or on holiday). Hoping there's a chapter dedicated on how to run a fish and chip restaurant :crossfingers:

Jay's book, Bloody Casuals is pretty good. Read plenty books on the subject and it's not the best written (although none of them are contenders for the pulitzer prize), but way better than that Rivers boy efforts. Think he featured in a Danny Dyer documentary, giving the big 'un about battering Hibs. He looks like a fatter Martin Clunes with even worse hair, so I have my doubts about his credentials.

Haven't actually got round to Willie's book yet (I only ever read books on the shitter or on holiday). Hoping there's a chapter dedicated on how to run a fish and chip restaurant :crossfingers:

dont let appearances decieve you.

DT looks like an out of shape james corden but he's always first to put his face on the line for the dons

we dinna need pictures min.

why do you waste so much of your life perfecting your football forum entries (pictures, correcting spelling mistakes, editing your posts, correcting your mistakes by editing your posts once someone like boofon has pointed out a hilarious spelling gaff...)?

get a life min.