European Shocks

A dull week with nae fitba (really) so a simple question, what's the biggest shock to have happened in European football (club or national)?

Surely CSKA Moscow's humbling of Barcelona in 1992 in the first Champions League season is up there. Good piece about it here http://futbolgrad.com/soldiers-tango-homage-cska-moscow-catalonia/

Others that spring to mind:

Man U losing to Rotor Volgograd

Greece winning Euro 2004

Latvia beating Turkey to qualify for Euro 2004

I know what Everton aren't....and that's a good team. I know what they are good at...being bitter.

Second actually and only reason I know this is because lad at work whom supports Arsenal told me otherwise I genuinely wouldn't have had a clue.

Second is top 4. Typical red shite. :clangers2:

39 Italians can't be wrong.

Steaua Bucharest winning the Champions League in 1986...

he is gonna say it was deliberate but that is dreadful.

#skyfootballfan

football back in the day is littered with stuff we would call shocks. ipswich vs az in a major final ffs.

but they werent really shocks it was just a more level playing field.

these days a 'shocks' mean fuck all - like a one off defeat for the big superpowers in a meaningless champions league round 6 game.

as a romantic i quite like the denmark 92 victory.

the semi vs holland was a phenomenal game..

great tournament all round really.

I know what Everton aren't....and that's a good team. I know what they are good at...being bitter.

Second actually and only reason I know this is because lad at work whom supports Arsenal told me otherwise I genuinely wouldn't have had a clue.

i canna believe some idiot sheik would come in and buy man city, whens theres also everton on the go.

Rubin Kazan winning in the Nou Camp.

barcelona are (were) a very good side, but strip aside the PR machine and hype, they are allowed to lose a game you know.

teams like tehm become so accustumed to winning, occasionally drop points in meaningless champions league games.

CAUSE IT DOESNT MATTER.

cause the competition is a sham.

shocks dinna happen anymore.

• 6 months later...

One of the biggest "shocks" was North Korea beating Italy 1-0 during the World Cup in 1966.

I don't consider Denmark winning the Euro's as a big shock as they had done well in the few years previous to the tournament e.g 1986 World Cup.

Bulgaria beating the world champions Germany in 1994 was a massive shock.

Biggest shock of all time - either Inverness beating Celtic in 2000 or Newcastle getting knock out of the FA cup in 1972 by Hereford (I think it was).

Celtic 1- 2 Aberdeen. April 2004.

We ended Celtic's 77 home game unbeaten run with a last minute goal by a team literally down to bare bones through injury. One of our best players at the time, Steve Tosh off injured after 23 minutes too. 1-0 down aswell.

Look at our team that day:

Aberdeen: Preece, Higgins, Rutkiewicz, Muirhead, Morrison, Tosh (Prunty 23), Heikkinen, Sheerin, Buckley, Zdrilic, Foster.
Subs Not Used: Esson, Souter, Stewart, Donald.

:swear: