Jocky Balboa Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 I'll cut straight to the chase with this one: After reading the last Red Final, which contained articles on the team mentioned above, which finished runners-up in the league and won both cups (playing some of the best football in our history in the process!) I feel it merits discussion among us and perhaps even an official commemoration in the form of AFC holding an official event, a la Gothenburg Greats. Your thoughts on this (and the season in general)? Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 I fondly recall the pumpings of Hearts & Dundee Utd en route to the Scottish Cup win. 4-1 & 4-0 (for our younger viewers).Probably more than the final itself which was a bit of an anti climax. Hearts came to Pittodrie in the QF apparently (according to the press) ready to methodically dump us out of the competition.We (esp Gillhaus & Nicholas) reamed them inside oot in that 2nd half shooting into the Merkland.Was in sector Y that day. Ace celebrations & probably around 20 odd pints afterwards to top it off. Semi against the Arabs was a brilliant day oot.Drunk Edinburgh dry...in the corner terracing at Tynecastle under the roof. The bit wi the maist bio hazardous urinals known to man.Think Irvine scored 2 in 1st half. Also an OG. The Gillhaus wrapped it up with a fearsome, bullet like strike from the edge of the box.Marvelous. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 I fondly recall the pumpings of Hearts & Dundee Utd en route to the Scottish Cup win. 4-1 & 4-0 (for our younger viewers).Probably more than the final itself which was a bit of an anti climax. Hearts came to Pittodrie in the QF apparently (according to the press) ready to methodically dump us out of the competition.We (esp Gillhaus & Nicholas) reamed them inside oot in that 2nd half shooting into the Merkland.Was in sector Y that day. Ace celebrations & probably around 20 odd pints afterwards to top it off. Semi against the Arabs was a brilliant day oot.Drunk Edinburgh dry...in the corner terracing at Tynecastle under the roof. The bit wi the maist bio hazardous urinals known to man.Think Irvine scored 2 in 1st half. Also an OG. The Gillhaus wrapped it up with a fearsome, bullet like strike from the edge of the box.Marvelous. Just for you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ka5DLZz3gec Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 Just for you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ka5DLZz3gec Cheers. Big Bri Irvine with a composed finish too!Forgot aboot that een. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 Just for you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ka5DLZz3gec Gillhaus looked like such a brilliant player. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 We (esp Gillhaus & Nicholas) reamed them inside oot . Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 Gilhaus was borderline world class Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 Gilhaus was borderline world class Some debut. But hardly prolific. his beast league total with Aberdeen was 14 in 35 games. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 Not bad for a winger never an out and out striker Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 First season I properly remember is 1994/95. We finished 2nd bottom. Depressing. We finished 3rd the season after and have only managed top 3 once since then. Nit Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 was that the season we lost the league to rangers on the last day when we needed a draw at ibrox and had michael watt in goals. Hately clattered him early doors and his bottle went?or was that the next season?I remember that last day as i was playing football in glasgow and saw huns celebrating and didnt even need to ask the score. Even at that early age (about 11) I found them odious.Think i found a £10 note that day too which perked me up no end managed to buy fish suppers for about half the team !I think a double cup win is worth celebrating not like we have many other reasons Link to comment
Sandafc Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 Some debut. But hardly prolific. his beast league total with Aberdeen was 14 in 35 games.27 goals in 78 not too bad at all. Quality player, oh to have him upfront with Jess, Booth etc nowadays. Link to comment
Biscuit Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 was that the season we lost the league to rangers on the last day when we needed a draw at ibrox and had michael watt in goals. Hately clattered him early doors and his bottle went?or was that the next season?I remember that last day as i was playing football in glasgow and saw huns celebrating and didnt even need to ask the score. Even at that early age (about 11) I found them odious.Think i found a £10 note that day too which perked me up no end managed to buy fish suppers for about half the team !I think a double cup win is worth celebrating not like we have many other reasonsThat was 1991. I was at both the cup finals as a kid. Best memory though was the 4 nil win at Tyncastle. Against Dundee utd in the semi final played them off the park that day, sea of sun hats in the aberdeen end looked great. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted October 19, 2013 Share Posted October 19, 2013 it would be nice to think we would one day be able to think back to the famous cup win of 2013-2014. No better chance for journeymen to become legends and youngsters to make a proper name for themselves. I think I would probably need to take at least a week off work to recover from the celebrating Link to comment
RUL Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 I was at the semi at Tynecastle, for some reason I thought we won 1-0. My memory is clearly getting worse. Link to comment
WillemVan Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 For all the fans who are too young to have seen Gillhaus..... believe all the hype, he was fucking sensational. I remember one particular game against the Tims when i was a ball boy, he ripped Paul Elliot, an England international, a new arsehole. Too think we signed a dutch international for the best part of a million quid...how times have changed. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 For all the fans who are too young to have seen Gillhaus..... believe all the hype, he was fucking sensational. I remember one particular game against the Tims when i was a ball boy, he ripped Paul Elliot, an England international, a new arsehole. Too think we signed a dutch international for the best part of a million quid...how times have changed. He was not an England international. What about Williem Van der Ark, how did you rate him Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 Gillhaus. Nicholas. Jess all great players, but for me the real dynamo of that side was Mason.He should've played for his country. Link to comment
tup Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 Gilhaus was without doubt the best player ever to play for Aberdeen. He had just won the European Cup when we signed him. I was at the Celtic cup final, awful game, but a tremendous climax. Link to comment
tup Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 Amazes me that more than one poster above cannot even spell his name correctly. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 21, 2013 Author Share Posted October 21, 2013 Disagree. Winners=Champions of the league. Anything else domestic is window dressing. Good team, not great. "an official commemoration in the form of AFC holding an official event, a la Gothenburg Greats". No thanks, not for me. You're more than entitled to your opinion, but I think that team should be remembered in some way. Had we not lost the league on the last day of the following season, I am convinced we would have seen the dawn of a new era in our history and Scottish Football's. I'm not suggesting European trophy winners, but by hell we would have given anyone in Britain a right game back them and more than held our own in a Europa league format (take note, JC worshippers). Some of the best football of our history was played between 1988-91 and I would like to see some kind of commemoration, even if only a minor one or a commemorative DVD. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 Amazes me that more than one poster above cannot even spell his name correctly. According to Wiki, you can't spell it properly either: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans_Gillhaus Link to comment
tup Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 Dinna care about that made up pish, it is spelled with one 'l'. Link to comment
tup Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 Appears we were spelling it wrong for years then, 2 l's appears to be correct. In programs I have here from that spell it has only one. Bizarre, we couldna even spell our best player's name, no wonder we turned pish. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 As a 26 year old, the best player to ever play for the Dons is clearly Stephen Glass Link to comment
WillemVan Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 England U21 and England B International He was not an England international. What about Williem Van der Ark, how did you rate him Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 21, 2013 Author Share Posted October 21, 2013 Gillhaus. Nicholas. Jess all great players, but for me the real dynamo of that side was Mason.He should've played for his country.Mason was tremendous and along with Theo, the main reason we won the Skol Cup in '89. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 As I mentioned Mason should've played for England. He was unfortunate to be around at the same time as Gascgoine, Beardsley, Platt, for me on his day he was an equal to anyone else England had at the time. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 Mason was a fantastic player.My favourite back then. I'd love a midfield of him , Bett, Grant and Connor again.Would sweep all before them in this day and age. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 21, 2013 Share Posted October 21, 2013 What I liked most about mason was his honesty whether he was right back. Right midfield. Centre midfield. Off the front man. On the wing. Or up front. ALL positions the scouser played with 100% effort. Never sulked just got on with the job in his efficient highly effective manner. Also it was his directness always played the ball forward. Always looking to be positive he is second in my favourite Don of all time list. Link to comment