The Players You Secretly Rated

what players AFC and from other clubs did you rate despite hurling abuse and mis calling them publically.

for AFC I rated former striker Andy Gibson he was absolutely prolific for the reserves though never I felt got a fair crack of the whip at Pittodrie.

Ian Cameron another I rated highly despite being injury prone could've been a really class player with us if he had stayed fit

opposing players

Tommy Coyne, Lubo Moravcik, Tommy Johnson, Istvan Kozma, Michael O.Neill, Pat McGinlay were all plyers who I secretly rated highly.

what players AFC and from other clubs did you rate despite hurling abuse and mis calling them publically.

for AFC I rated former striker Andy Gibson he was absolutely prolific for the reserves though never I felt got a fair crack of the whip at Pittodrie.

Ian Cameron another I rated highly despite being injury prone could've been a really class player with us if he had stayed fit

opposing players

Tommy Coyne, Lubo Moravcik, Tommy Johnson, Istvan Kozma, Michael O.Neill, Pat McGinlay were all plyers who I secretly rated highly.

Moravcik is a strange selection. Is there anyone who, prejudices aside, didn't rate him. I think he was probably the most gifted player I've ever seen in Scotland. If his career hadn't been ravaged by injuries there is no way he'd have been anywhere near the SPL.

Raise you both Laudrup and Gazza. Probably class Di Canio as more gifted as well TBH.

gazza - was good, world class in ability, untill the end of his lazio career. after that a completely different player; only good by meagre scottish standards. like goram, there are two of them.

laudrup - great in scotland but actually didnt achieve that much outwith rangers.

moravcik - see laudrup.

for real class players who have shone in scotland see de boer, larsson and lesser exxtent di canio.

I recall Platini described him as the best two footed player he had ever seen some accolade from him!

I found it strange why a plyer with his talent was allowed to remain in the French and Gernman provincial sides apparently when Zidane left Juventus he recommended they signed Moravcik as his replacement many years later in that 4-3 champions league game at Parkead when the Slovak singlehandedly beat the Italian side I bet they rued their failure to sign him,

Once watched an overweight Scott Macdonald show us what holding the ball, passing, moving and scoring actually meant when he played for Motherwell. Can't remember if it was Pittodrie or Fir park. Would have been cheap too.

Mention here if appropriate. I always recall Davie Robbo when he thought he was the dugs chuffs playing in McCleish's testimonial. He was being a tit about something or other and Kenny Dalgleish making a guest appearance tore him a new one for it. Guess that was the Liverpool sign-on fecked then. Robbo eh, whatever became of him?

EDIT 1 Oh, and Laudrup, like Weir was only as effective as the centre forward in the middle. Got that one in for you EB4B

EDIT 2 Since somebody mentioned Jess. Who remembers when Jess was up against the wee Italian for Torino? was it Sergez Carbonez something like that? Two cracking players.

I would have had the majority of the Dundee United 81-88 era. Jim McLean moulded them into a team akin to what Fergie did for us maybe apart from Jim Leighton v Mcalpine/ Thompson. Not saying exact player for player but along those lines, even McLean himself when Fergie left, he would have kept the fires burning.

Sturrock, Milne, McKinley, Gallagher I liked very much.

From other teams Frunk Suazee, John Robertson, Ravanelli, Thorfassen fae St Mirren. Funnily enough the only Hun I ever wanted we got, Jim Bett although Davie Cooper at a stretch. Same with Tims, Charlie Nicholas