Aberdeen Fan Jailed For 10 Months

More do to with previous offences im led to believe.

Also wasnt the best behaved while being arrested.

Seems the police in scotland just want you to sit and be quite at the football, if they tried this in the 80's they would have just been laughed at.

thats not exactly true, he wasn't actually at the football and what reason did he have for shouting this kind of nonsense in the street? leave that to the huns and tims

if we want to point fingers, point them at the OF and not the police. The police didn't sentence the guy and they don't come up with these laws. If OF fans could have learned to behave themselves these laws would never have been required, like drinking at matches, those bastards ruin it for all of us.

More lies published by the Daily Record, someone should report them to the Press Complaints Commission for inaccurate reporting,

This month, Lennon was attacked by Aberdeen fans at Tynecastle in Edinburgh while watching the Dons’ League Cup tie against St Johnstone.

He was spat on and coins and a bottle thrown at him.

Speaking before his side's 1-0 Scottish Premiership win against St Mirren, Lennon explained the details of what had happened in the stand on Saturday.

"I'm sitting in the directors' box and I'm actually with a lot of the Aberdeen staff." he said.

"I'm sitting next to Billy Brown and two of my own staff. You get the usual abuse, which is fine, you can live with that.

"But then I was aware that a coin flew past my head and actually hit an Aberdeen member of staff on the back.

"He had a padded jacket on, so he was aware that something's hit and he handed the coin to the stewards.

"At half-time, the stewards moved us, which was fine, they were looking out for us. We moved to a row just in front of the press box.

"When Aberdeen scored the third goal, I don't know what it was, a drink of some sort, again it came flying over my head and missed me and landed in the press box and hit a couple of the journalists there."

So no spitting, a coin not coins and no mention of a bottle and questionable if the items could of been said to have been thrown at him or just in his direction!

http://www.pcc.org.uk

The reason the law is applied inconsistently is because there is no genuine appetite to tackle these problems in our society. If there was, a clear, consistent and firm line would be taken. Its not difficult.

Also, the Police are inconsistent and very much pick and choose what they get involved in - its easy for them to pick up a single dons fans for sectarian abuse, but too much bother to confront the very much larger numbers who indulge in such at (eg) Ibrox or Tynecastle.

Tackling the first instance gets them quickly back to the warm station to put their feet up, but the latter would be a major Police operation. They say its "too difficult" to tackle the problem among the huns, for example - but I can remember the 1980s where black players would receive significant disgusting abuse from the stands (monkey noises or thrown bananas etc) and that has been stamped out very firmly and successfully.

Appreciate the Aberdeen guy must have felt quite hard-done by to get lifted for shouting abuse at sellick fans in the street - we have all done or said something stupid in our time (Im no exception) - but it if was "dirty niggers" or "dirty poofs" he was shouting, instead of "fenian bastards", no-one would defend him.

I would not say Aberdeen fans had a sectarian problem, but when playing Celtic people do try to be provocative and it is not uncommon to hear language like this being used. Accordingly, I increasingly tend to skip Aberdeen-Celtic games and just watch it on the telly. It is amazingly thoughtless to shout such things, and not wonder "Mmm I wonder if any of our own fans might be Catholics/whatever?"

Another reason the problem is allowed to perpetuate is because Scotland likes to pretend that the objectionable behaviours of sellick fans and orcs is two sides of the same coin - but it isnt.

There have been many failed attempts to prosecute people for singing rebel songs, under sectarian laws. But rebel songs aren't sectarian, or even anything to do with religion (its nationalism). Religion isnt even mentioned in them. Imagine a scotsman being taken to court in england for signing "flower of Scotland" - that is the direct equivalent. The typical rebel song is (in my experience) about as offensive as the typical Corries song - i.e not very.

I do understand why some people might object to rebel songs, I sympathise but ultimately where there is freedom of speech we will occasionally encounter views we dislike or which offend us.

In contrast, rangers songs specifically threaten ("surrender or you will die" etc) and denigrate Catholics "fenians" "taigs" and their religion "eff the Pope" etc etc.

The difference is resoundingly clear, but Scotland lacks both the self-confidence and maturity to confront the problem, which is why we pretend the objectionable behaviours of the fans are directly comparable. We cant just tackle the problem, we need a big show of being even handed and chiding everyone equally - its a load of infantile piss really.

To the credit of Aberdeen fans, a friend of mine who is a sellick man (but otherwise likeable) once complimented our support saying we were one of very few Scottish teams who did not display significant religious hatred when playing sellick. (yes you might get the odd idiot, but you would never get significant numbers of dons fans chanting for "fenian blood" or whatever).

Scotland is a really strange place, for how it regards and treats its Catholic citizens and the football stuff is but one manifestation of this. It is wrong to blame football and football fans as though they personally invented and sustain the problem - its a much wider / deeper issue than that.

The reason the law is applied inconsistently is because there is no genuine appetite to tackle these problems in our society. If there was, a clear, consistent and firm line would be taken. Its not difficult.

Also, the Police are inconsistent and very much pick and choose what they get involved in - its easy for them to pick up a single dons fans for sectarian abuse, but too much bother to confront the very much larger numbers who indulge in such at (eg) Ibrox or Tynecastle.

Tackling the first instance gets them quickly back to the warm station to put their feet up, but the latter would be a major Police operation. They say its "too difficult" to tackle the problem among the huns, for example - but I can remember the 1980s where black players would receive significant disgusting abuse from the stands (monkey noises or thrown bananas etc) and that has been stamped out very firmly and successfully.

Appreciate the Aberdeen guy must have felt quite hard-done by to get lifted for shouting abuse at sellick fans in the street - we have all done or said something stupid in our time (Im no exception) - but it if was "dirty niggers" or "dirty poofs" he was shouting, instead of "fenian bastards", no-one would defend him.

I would not say Aberdeen fans had a sectarian problem, but when playing Celtic people do try to be provocative and it is not uncommon to hear language like this being used. Accordingly, I increasingly tend to skip Aberdeen-Celtic games and just watch it on the telly. It is amazingly thoughtless to shout such things, and not wonder "Mmm I wonder if any of our own fans might be Catholics/whatever?"

Another reason the problem is allowed to perpetuate is because Scotland likes to pretend that the objectionable behaviours of sellick fans and orcs is two sides of the same coin - but it isnt.

There have been many failed attempts to prosecute people for singing rebel songs, under sectarian laws. But rebel songs aren't sectarian, or even anything to do with religion (its nationalism). Religion isnt even mentioned in them. Imagine a scotsman being taken to court in england for signing "flower of Scotland" - that is the direct equivalent. The typical rebel song is (in my experience) about as offensive as the typical Corries song - i.e not very.

I do understand why some people might object to rebel songs, I sympathise but ultimately where there is freedom of speech we will occasionally encounter views we dislike or which offend us.

In contrast, rangers songs specifically threaten ("surrender or you will die" etc) and denigrate Catholics "fenians" "taigs" and their religion "eff the Pope" etc etc.

The difference is resoundingly clear, but Scotland lacks both the self-confidence and maturity to confront the problem, which is why we pretend the objectionable behaviours of the fans are directly comparable. We cant just tackle the problem, we need a big show of being even handed and chiding everyone equally - its a load of infantile piss really.

To the credit of Aberdeen fans, a friend of mine who is a sellick man (but otherwise likeable) once complimented our support saying we were one of very few Scottish teams who did not display significant religious hatred when playing sellick. (yes you might get the odd idiot, but you would never get significant numbers of dons fans chanting for "fenian blood" or whatever).

Scotland is a really strange place, for how it regards and treats its Catholic citizens and the football stuff is but one manifestation of this. It is wrong to blame football and football fans as though they personally invented and sustain the problem - its a much wider / deeper issue than that.

You're surely not speaking from an Aberdeen perspective here (or anywhere outwith the West coast bubble), I've never ever came across one instance in my 45 years living here where anyone has been treated differently because of their religion, no one cares to be honest.

The bobby sands stuff sometimes sung is just to get a bite, it works, it has nothing to do with a religious hatred. In the 80's we would sing pro Celtic/Ira songs to Rangers fans, as times have moved on most of the songs have been consigned to history due to not being PC, at no time were any of them meant as a sectarian attack.

Jailing the guy for what he shouted is ridiculous and was done simply to appease those who seek to be offended.

BTW CS, how on earth does someone know you're catholic to single you out??

More lies published by the Daily Record, someone should report them to the Press Complaints Commission for inaccurate reporting,

So no spitting, a coin not coins and no mention of a bottle and questionable if the items could of been said to have been thrown at him or just in his direction!

This is what we all need to do

You're surely not speaking from an Aberdeen perspective here (or anywhere outwith the West coast bubble),

I am an aberdeen fan, I can offer no other footballing persepective. I appreciate though that, living in Glasgow, my experience or viewpoint is likely to be different than if I lived in aberdeen.

I've never ever came across one instance in my 45 years living here where anyone has been treated differently because of their religion, no one cares to be honest.

You are right that very few people, these days, do care about such things (and rightly so - and so much for the better).

I myself in the past I have been guilty of various prejudice (thought not religious - not that this makes it any less shameful) and so I must be careful not get on my high horse.

I could demonstrate a myriad of ways of how catholics have been treated differently in scotland, including into the 21st century, but then I do not seek attention for it, nor wish to bore the forum by being a whiner (any more than I do currently lol)

The bobby sands stuff sometimes sung is just to get a bite, it works, it has nothing to do with a religious hatred. In the 80's we would sing pro Celtic/Ira songs to Rangers fans, as times have moved on most of the songs have been consigned to history due to not being PC, at no time were any of them meant as a sectarian attack.

I dont mind the bobby sands stuff. If its reasonable for the tims to glorify him, then its reasonable for others to take the piss out of him.

My concern is - do the people who sing that feel they are winding up irish republicans, or are they winding up catholics? And do they see any fundamental difference between these two things? (Many in scotland do not).

I dont like hearing the word "fenian" at the football, what can I say?

I have no problem with stuff about glasgow slums, weegies or whatever - how could I, as an aberdeen fan? - so I dont feel I am especially thin skinned or eager to take offence. Indeed, I have skin like a rhino.

Jailing the guy for what he shouted is ridiculous and was done simply to appease those who seek to be offended.

I appreciate there was likely no genuine hatred behind that the guy said, but would you say the same if he had made comments referencing race or sexuality?

I do sympathise with the guy - I remain surprised that I havent been jailed for various things I have said over the years,.

I dont feel "singled out" by any support other than that of the hun (and diet hun).

I think you make a good point about "knowing": I think in scotland that if you have black skin or your name is abdul, then its easy to be different. But if you look the same, people have a hard time accepting that you might be different in some way.

Cheers

CS

You're surely not speaking from an Aberdeen perspective here (or anywhere outwith the West coast bubble), I've never ever came across one instance in my 45 years living here where anyone has been treated differently because of their religion, no one cares to be honest.

It's the rattling when they walk that gives it away.

Cafflicks should tell the kids that were buggered at fort agustus and covered up by the high heid yins that it's the cafflicks being persecuted.

And for the record, I have the highest contempt for all religions (except Sikh) as the are pretty much all a shower of devious, untrustworthy, contemptful, conceited wankers. Oh and thieving kiddy fiddlers.

Speaking before his side's 1-0 Scottish Premiership win against St Mirren, Lennon explained the details of what had happened in the stand on Saturday.

"I'm sitting in the directors' box and I'm actually with a lot of the Aberdeen staff." he said.

"I'm sitting next to Billy Brown and two of my own staff. You get the usual abuse, which is fine, you can live with that.

"But then I was aware that a coin flew past my head and actually hit an Aberdeen member of staff on the back.

"He had a padded jacket on, so he was aware that something's hit and he handed the coin to the stewards.

"At half-time, the stewards moved us, which was fine, they were looking out for us. We moved to a row just in front of the press box.

"When Aberdeen scored the third goal, I don't know what it was, a drink of some sort, again it came flying over my head and missed me and landed in the press box and hit a couple of the journalists there."

Still boils my piss that nobody took Lennon up on this one. Moved IN FRONT of press box yet cup went flying over his head and hit press guys. Now with in front of press box being in the suits area right at front either someone in dug out through the cup up the way or Lennon is a lying cunt.

I will go with the latter!!