MMG Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 The SPFL have known the split since 5pm last Saturday (22nd March). This is the earliest it has been decided since it's inception. You would think this would be a great opportunity to get the post split fixtures announced as early as possible so that the clubs and supporters could start to make arrangements. Any idea when they will be announced? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 been promised this week. club knew middle of last week what order the fixtures were. awaiting sky, bt and alba choices. dons to have 18 at home and 20 away? Link to comment
MMG Posted March 31, 2014 Author Share Posted March 31, 2014 If we were playing teams on the basis of 2/2 home/away then they would be: Celtic (a)Motherwell (h)Dundee Utd (a)ICT (a)St Johnstone (a) I'd fully expect one of either Celtic, St Johnstone or ICT changed to a home game. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 why not United? Could be any of them. Link to comment
MMG Posted March 31, 2014 Author Share Posted March 31, 2014 why not United? Could be any of them.I suppose you're right, I just thought with it being a "derby" so to speak, they would definitely want to keep that on a 2/2 rotation. The same reason why they would never have the Old Firm or Edinburgh derby uneven. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 Think we'll get one of the 4 away games we're due at home. Ideally Motherwell and United at home, but reckon it'll be Well + St Johnstone (team with nothing to play for). Link to comment
oilcat Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 Probably Inverness will be the other home gams so that Yogi can moan that they had to go to Pittodrie shree times this season 2 Link to comment
oilcat Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 Actually the team with nothing to play for is the Jungle Jims......nae chance of that getting moved though I wouldnt think Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 motherwell at home last game, i have an inkling it`ll be . Link to comment
dasm Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 I don't think it will be St. Johnstone or Celtic as they both have a reasonable home/away lineup. All the other teams either have 1 home game and 4 away or vice-versa. Doubt it will be Dundee United either as we are their only home game so I recon we will get ICT at Home and Dundee United will get Motherwell at Home Aberdeen Celtic AwayDundee United AwayInverness Away (Changed to Home)Motherwell HomeSt Johnstone Away St Johnstone Aberdeen HomeCeltic HomeDundee United HomeInverness AwayMotherwell Away Motherwell Aberdeen AwayCeltic HomeDundee United Home (Changed to Away)Inverness HomeSt Johnstone Home Dundee United Aberdeen HomeCeltic AwayInverness AwayMotherwell Away (Changed to Home)St Johnstone Away Celtic Aberdeen AwayDundee U HomeInverness CT AwayMotherwell AwaySt Johnstone Away Inverness Aberdeen Home (changed to Away)Celtic HomeDundee United HomeMotherwell AwaySt Johnstone Home Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 We'll get 2 at home. Inverness and Motherwell. Link to comment
Bigslick Posted March 31, 2014 Share Posted March 31, 2014 I don't think it will be St. Johnstone or Celtic as they both have a reasonable home/away lineup. All the other teams either have 1 home game and 4 away or vice-versa. Doubt it will be Dundee United either as we are their only home game so I recon we will get ICT at Home and Dundee United will get Motherwell at Home Aberdeen Celtic AwayDundee United AwayInverness Away (Changed to Home)Motherwell HomeSt Johnstone Away St Johnstone Aberdeen HomeCeltic HomeDundee United HomeInverness AwayMotherwell Away Motherwell Aberdeen AwayCeltic HomeDundee United Home (Changed to Away)Inverness HomeSt Johnstone Home Dundee United Aberdeen HomeCeltic AwayInverness AwayMotherwell Away (Changed to Home)St Johnstone Away Celtic Aberdeen AwayDundee U HomeInverness CT AwayMotherwell AwaySt Johnstone Away Inverness Aberdeen Home (changed to Away)Celtic HomeDundee United HomeMotherwell AwaySt Johnstone Home Prob about right with one change in tatties picker getting St Johnstone at home. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 So far 18th April ICT V Dons Live on BTSport, Friday night footballFinal game of season Dons v Well also on BT ICT awaySt Johnstone homeCeltic awayUnited awayWell home Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 motherwell at home last game, i have an inkling it`ll be . Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Here is the full set... Link to comment
Henry Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 FIXTURE ROUND 34 Top six Friday 18 April, 2014Inverness CT v Aberdeen - live on BT Sport, 7.45pm Saturday 19 April, 2014Motherwell v Celtic - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pmSt Johnstone v Dundee United Bottom six Saturday 19 April, 2014Hearts v Ross CountyKilmarnock v Partick ThistleSt Mirren v Hibernian FIXTURE ROUND 35 Top six Saturday 26 April, 2014Aberdeen v St JohnstoneDundee United v Motherwell Sunday 27 April, 2014Celtic v Inverness CT Bottom six Friday 25 April, 2014Partick Thistle v St Mirren - Live on BBC ALBA, 7.45pm Saturday 26 April, 2014Ross County v Kilmarnock Sunday 27 April, 2014Hibernian v Hearts - Live on BT Sport, 12.45pm FIXTURE ROUND 36 Top six Saturday 3 May, 2014Celtic v AberdeenInverness CT v Dundee UnitedMotherwell v St Johnstone Bottom six Saturday 3 May, 2014Hibernian v Partick ThistleSt Mirren v Ross County Sunday 4 May, 2013Hearts v Kilmarnock FIXTURE ROUND 37 Top six Tuesday 6 May, 2014Dundee United v Aberdeen - Live on Sky Sports, 7.45pm Wednesday 7 May, 2014Motherwell v Inverness CT, 7.45pmSt Johnstone v Celtic - Live on BT Sport, 7.45pm Bottom six Wednesday 7 May, 2014Hearts v Partick Thistle, 7.45pmKilmarnock v St Mirren, 7.45pmRoss County v Hibernian, 7.45pm FIXTURE ROUND 38 Top six Sunday 11 May, 2014Aberdeen v Motherwell, live on BT Sport, 12.15pmCeltic v Dundee United, live on Sky Sports, 12.15pmInverness CT v St Johnstone, 12.15pm Bottom six Saturday 10 May, 2014*Hibernian v Kilmarnock, 12.15pm*Partick Thistle v Ross County, 12.15pm*St Mirren v Hearts, 12.15pm (*One fixture will be live on BT Sport) All kick-offs 3pm unless started Read more at http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/post-split-fixtures/#ABgxlvKwYQ4zOCwh.99 3 out 5 live on telly. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Marvellous set of fixtures. ICT away - Friday night fitba in pub live on telly St Johnstone home - Nice Saturday home piss up. Celtic away - Doon in Edinburgh that wikend may hae a shifty through for it. United away - Midweek aways generally no way I'll attend...so on telly. Yas. Well home - Excellent...could easily be a cruncher for euro spot /and or 2nd.. Hopefully clinched 2nd by the...rest a few for the final. Shit being sunday but anavoidable. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 18 home games, 20 away. Pricks. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 5 of our last 7 games away from home Link to comment
Big Stall Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 18 home games, 20 away. Pricks. Thats because Aberdeen have done better than expected this season. They usually say something along the lines of teams are seeded based upon their position the previous season, so if you are expected to be top 6, the fixtures work to make it the appropriate number of home/away games. Since there is usually some movement every year, its not always perfect. Going by previous years explanations from the powers that be, it looks like they have applied their formula consistently. Potential massive game at the end...... or damp squib if everything is sorted by then. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Fundamental requirement that you play an even number of home and away games. Supersedes uneven head-to-heads (3 away, 1 home or vice versa). Pish. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Is the SPFL the only league in the civilised world that ends up without an even H&A fixture list ? Looking forward to Tannadice Tuesday Tearup Link to comment
Bamber Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 personally I think the fundamental requirement is you play 2 home and 2 away against each club in your part of the split Simple as that - fact we would have 4 aways is just the way the cookie crumbles no way should we have 3 home ties or 3 aways against a team Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Is the SPFL the only league in the civilised world that ends up without an even H&A fixture list ? Looking forward to Tannadice Tuesday Tearup The League of Ireland has a 33 game season in a league with 12 teams - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_League_of_Ireland#League_table Not surprised we're the ones to suffer the uneven split of fixtures this time as we've had 3 seasons with 20 home and 18 away games to just one season with 18 home and 20 away since the split was introduced. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 18 home games, 20 away. Pricks. May be wrong but have we nae had better results away from home this season in total?Certainly have if you include cup games. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Away results have tailed off lately fnd. Jags away loss, county away draw hearts draw. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Away results have tailed off lately fnd. Jags away loss, county away draw hearts draw.Mostly down either loss of Hayes (&pawlett) or playing Hayes at LB.We certainly need more creative back up next season. Rather than just FB's striker & keeper. Cannot count on Robson, Pawlett & Hayes staying fit all season & Smith isn't quite there yet. Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 2, 2014 Share Posted April 2, 2014 Needed a win tonight looking at these fixtures to come. Have to fancy United and Motherwell to pick up few points so we will need to pull off couple of good away wins. Link to comment