daytripping Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 Anyone have any experience in this? I'm not sure which extras to pay for at this stage, seems you just get the very basics in the price, stuff like fitted wardrobes they'll be charging through the nose for so I'll arrange that myself but metal switches and plug sockets I'm thinking i'll take the hit on, same goes for internal door to the garage. The tile packages are confusing, just go for the basics? Anything I really should go for at the build stage? the catalogue of extras is huge and fecking pricey. Any tips and advice appreciated. Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 My advice to you Neebs and every one else, would be never buy the first and never buy the last houses on a new development. Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 Fuck ups and things needing ironing out at the start. At the end of a development it's a case of using up material that's left (shite) and the fact that the workforce will have their minds on the next move. I'd buy an ex-sales hoose masel, which contradicts my opinion of buying the first units Ah ken, but you get them cheaper. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 This house is going for about a hundred grand UK. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 Hi Dayts, bluto10 here. I don't have any tips,Bourne of experience. But I can advise you one thing g. Buy low my good man and sell ruddy high. Best of British. BlutoTen# Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 3, 2014 Author Share Posted May 3, 2014 A fine house Kelt, where is it?? I'm not going to say how much I'm spending but it's enough to make me break out in cold sweats. Sure it will be worth it at the end of the day and the market seems to be pretty much one way right now. Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 3, 2014 Author Share Posted May 3, 2014 Hi Dayts, bluto10 here. I don't have any tips,Bourne of experience. But I can advise you one thing g. Buy low my good man and sell ruddy high. Best of British. BlutoTen# I think this will be my place of residence for a long time, so buy high and keep is the plan. Thanks for the advice though bro, appreciated. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 A fine house Kelt, where is it?? I'm not going to say how much I'm spending but it's enough to make me break out in cold sweats. Sure it will be worth it at the end of the day and the market seems to be pretty much one way right now. It's in Chicago, in an upmarket area. Downside is that it's 'haunted'. Man like yourself shouldn't be bothered by a few ghosties, like. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 If he couldn't handle them, highly likely, I'd clean up the mess for him Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 This house is going for about a hundred grand UK. Looks like a high maintenance hoose to me Kelt, exterior wise. Mind you, there's a train load of ex-Forth Bridge penters looking for a berth. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 If he couldn't handle them, highly likely, I'd clean up the mess for him How would you discern between spooky ghosty and alcohol-induced hallucination, though? Haunted hoose would be perfect for you, I'm thinking. Shit flying around your head, hands reaching out of the telly, voices coming out of thin air telling you to kill the neighbours... Bluto sitting in the middle of it just thinking he's a wee bit pissed is all. Ghosts eventually give up and find someone sober to haunt. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 Looks like a high maintenance hoose to me Kelt, exterior wise. Mind you, there's a train load of ex-Forth Bridge penters looking for a berth. couple of hundred bucks will get you a team of highly skilled Mexicans who'll have that fucker primed and pinted in a day. Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 3, 2014 Share Posted May 3, 2014 Fuck, Kelt. Mexicans are skilled right enough.They're shit hot at crammin' whole families into the smallest of cars never mind watermelon trucks but surely a ladder can only take so many people, even Mexican peepeel? Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 4, 2014 Author Share Posted May 4, 2014 How would you discern between spooky ghosty and alcohol-induced hallucination, though? Haunted hoose would be perfect for you, I'm thinking. Shit flying around your head, hands reaching out of the telly, voices coming out of thin air telling you to kill the neighbours... Bluto sitting in the middle of it just thinking he's a wee bit pissed is all. Ghosts eventually give up and find someone sober to haunt. It looks haunted, almost like a Amityville type hoose, wouldn't put me off, I'd like the character. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 New builds are shite Doors made from cardboard, etc 2 Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 New builds are shite Doors made from cardboard, etcCorrect, Dee! That's why I bought this 140 year auld hoose, designed and built, under the entire supervision of Mackintosh, himself. Ah've just dug oot the deeds and it appears that my hoose was indeed a project ,carried out in it's entirety byOor Wullie, Fat Boab, Wee Eck and the Interior was the vision of a drug fueled PC Murdoch. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 New builds are shite Doors made from cardboard, etc Amen brother. Fuck that. Correct, Dee! That's why I bought this 140 year auld hoose, designed and built, under the entire supervision of Mackintosh, himself. Ah've just dug oot the deeds and it appears that my hoose was indeed a project ,carried out in it's entirety byOor Wullie, Fat Boab, Wee Eck and the Interior was the vision of a drug fueled PC Murdoch. New build houses are for people with no soul. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Amen brother. Fuck that. New build houses are for people with no soul. James Brown had his place at Beech Island custom built. Are you saying James Brown had no soul. Is that what you're saying? Are you saying that? You watch this video and have a think about what you've done. Link to comment
tup Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Living in one of these brochure designed neighbourhoods that spring up everywhere is my vision of hell on earth. 2 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Living in one of these brochure designed neighbourhoods that spring up everywhere is my vision of hell on earth. An entire area of about 10,000 identical houses, identical lawns, and identical nuclear families doesn't appeal? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 That's a Nazi neighbourhood if I recall correctly? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Living in one of these brochure designed neighbourhoods that spring up everywhere is my vision of hell on earth.Eh? Wick!? 1 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 James Brown had his place at Beech Island custom built. Are you saying James Brown had no soul. Is that what you're saying? Are you saying that? You watch this video and have a think about what you've done. Isn't everywhere in the US a new build? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I think most of these new housing schemes look soulless and devoid of any character.They all look the same. Link to comment
tup Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Plus the houses are cheap as fuck to build with low quality materials. No wonder spiv housebuilders are falling over themselves to rattle them up. 1 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 Plus the houses are cheap as fuck to build with low quality materials. No wonder spiv housebuilders are falling over themselves to rattle them up. And some think Milne should build us a new stadium.... Link to comment
don corleone Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 A colleague of mine has been in a new build for 6 months now. Says its been a total nightmare due to constant leaks and floods because of the shoddy pipe work throughout the entire building and most recently the massive settling cracks throughout his flat that have appeared over the last month. Link to comment
360 Posted May 4, 2014 Share Posted May 4, 2014 I think most of these new housing schemes look soulless and devoid of any character.They all look the same. A house is what you make of it. It may look like your next door neighbour's house, but the memories and events are all unique. I think what you said is very shallow, and it doesn't reflect very well on you. 3 Link to comment