Henry Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Derby County duo Chris Martin and Craig Forsyth have received their first Scotland call-ups for the friendly against Nigeria. Manager Gordon Strachan announced his squad on Monday for the match at Craven Cottage on 28 May. Martin has hit 25 goals this season and scored twice as the Rams beat Brighton 6-2 on aggregate to secure a Championship play-off final spot. The striker, 25, was born in England but his father was born in Scotland. Martin played four times for England under-19s, scoring two goals. Forsyth started his career at Dundee and clinched a move to Watford in 2011. The 25-year-old had loan spells at Bradford and Derby before moving to Pride Park on a permanent deal last summer. Strachan has also selected Derby midfielder Craig Bryson, who has won two Scotland caps, for the match. The 27-year-old has scored 16 goals for County this season. PFA Scotland young player of the year Andrew Robertson, of Dundee United, has received his second call-up. Scotland squad:Goalkeepers: Cammy Bell (Rangers), Matt Gilks (Blackpool), David Marshall (Cardiff City), Allan McGregor (Hull City).Defenders: Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town), Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic), Craig Forsyth (Derby County), Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion), Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers), Alan Hutton (Aston Villa), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Andrew Robertson (Dundee United), Steven Whittaker (Norwich City)Midfielders: Ikechi Anya (Watford), Barry Bannan (Crystal Palace), George Boyd (Hull City), Scott Brown (Celtic), Craig Bryson (Derby County), Chris Burke (Birmingham City), Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion).Forwards: Leigh Griffiths (Celtic), Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic), Chris Martin (Derby County), Ross McCormack (Leeds United), Steven Naismith (Everton). Non-Scot watch: 5 It'd be paradise if Chris Martin could score on his debut. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 My only hope for this game is that the Nigerian Prince I sent four grand to can come over for the match and give me my share of his uncles inheritance. 100 million US dollars is my share. I'll be almost as loaded as Melvo. 1 Link to comment
boboisared Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Caldwell again? Fucks sake. Won't be attending. Link to comment
Mr Brightside Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 I was hoping an Aberdeen player might have sneaked into this, but apparently not!! Never hears of the derby pair, but I hope they r decent.... Don't get me started on clammy bells inclusion, why do we even need 4 keepers?? Is Hutton still lazing about with villas under 16s or is he getting a game somewhere now? Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 If i vote yes does that mean we get our national team back? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 No sign of Sone Aluko in the Nigeria squad. Link to comment
TwoStars Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Less and less encouraged everytime they announce a squad. Has Alan Hutton played a match this season? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 I heard Nigeria asked to play our U16 Ladies side first, but we turned them down. 1 Link to comment
oilcat Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 I thought McGregor and Caldwell were injured? As for the inclusion of Sevcos keeper......where the feck do you start with that? If Reynolds canna get into a squad that includes defenders (and I use that word losely) like Hutton, Greer, Berra and Whittaker, then Strachan and especially that hairlip prick McGhee baith need a swift kick in the chugs Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Gads. Awful squad, but pleased at no AFC inclusion. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Watching the QPR-Wigan game and Wigan were 1 up until Caldwell lunges into one his customary perfectly timed tackles to hand QPR a penalty. They converted it but Caldwell being the donkey he is has also managed to injure himself in the process too and Wigan have used all their subs already. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Watching the QPR-Wigan game and Wigan were 1 up until Caldwell lunges into one his customary perfectly timed tackles to hand QPR a penalty. They converted it but Caldwell being the donkey he is has also managed to injure himself in the process too and Wigan have used all their subs already.Caldwell is an abortion of a football player. He must smoke some beef to continually be selected no matter who is the manager. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted May 12, 2014 Share Posted May 12, 2014 Arsed finishing a grueling season then having to keep training 2 and a half weeks longer cause you have to play a fucking friendly against Nigeria at craven cottage!! I'd definitely be asking for a note from the club physio to be pulling out of this one Link to comment
Henry Posted May 16, 2014 Author Share Posted May 16, 2014 Out - Caldwell, Dorrans, D.Fletcher, McArthur. In - Mark Reynolds, Peter Pawlett Non-Scot watch: 6. Link to comment
Jigot Posted May 18, 2014 Share Posted May 18, 2014 Arsed finishing a grueling season then having to keep training 2 and a half weeks longer cause you have to play a fucking friendly against Nigeria at craven cottage!! I'd definitely be asking for a note from the club physio to be pulling out of this oneAnd if I played for thon team that had the hot laydee physio I'd just be asking her for a tread of the mill pull. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted May 18, 2014 Share Posted May 18, 2014 Scotland squad:Goalkeepers: Cammy Bell (Rangers), Matt Gilks (Blackpool), David Marshall (Cardiff City), Allan McGregor (Hull City).Defenders: Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town), Craig Forsyth (Derby County), Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion), Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers), Alan Hutton (Aston Villa), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Andrew Robertson (Dundee United), Steven Whittaker (Norwich City), Mark Reynolds (Aberdeen)Midfielders: Ikechi Anya (Watford), Barry Bannan (Crystal Palace), George Boyd (Hull City), Scott Brown (Celtic), Craig Bryson (Derby County), Chris Burke (Birmingham City), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion), Peter Pawlett (Aberdeen)Forwards: Leigh Griffiths (Celtic), Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic), Chris Martin (Derby County), Ross McCormack (Leeds United), Steven Naismith (Everton). I'll predict another four players to pull out this week Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 18, 2014 Share Posted May 18, 2014 Surprised we're risking a game against the famous Super Eagles, to be honest. A nice wee friendly against the Latvians would have added to our recent record of marching up the rankings, whereas a game against the Nigerians is... not to sound racist.. a bit of a banana skin. Link to comment
tup Posted May 18, 2014 Share Posted May 18, 2014 Could be a 419 scam. The Nigerians are dodgy as hell. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 19, 2014 Share Posted May 19, 2014 Caldwell again? Fucks sake. Won't be attending.How about now? Link to comment
dave_min Posted May 19, 2014 Share Posted May 19, 2014 My tickets came in the post the other day (h) Not gonna lie - they do look rather fake. Just need to get some time off work for it now.... Link to comment
TwoStars Posted May 20, 2014 Share Posted May 20, 2014 My tickets came in the post the other day (h) Not gonna lie - they do look rather fake. Just need to get some time off work for it now....Just the day off for me. Honestly no idea why I am bothering. This will be my last ever friendly out of Scotland. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 20, 2014 Share Posted May 20, 2014 Anyone that hasn't gotten a ticket & is after an away point, there has been the usual cancellations of folk that were attempting to harvest points but once told to collect tickets down there have had to cancel. 600 collections down there & the cancellations are starting to role in now. Link to comment
dave_min Posted May 20, 2014 Share Posted May 20, 2014 Yaaaaaassssss_min Got some time off for this game sorted now. Working 7am-1pm, then getting the 3pm flight to London. Red-eye back on Thursday. 2 hours off work. I'll earn £850 that day. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 20, 2014 Share Posted May 20, 2014 Yaaaaaassssss_min Got some time off for this game sorted now. Working 7am-1pm, then getting the 3pm flight to London. Red-eye back on Thursday. 2 hours off work. I'll earn £850 that day. Link to comment
TwoStars Posted May 28, 2014 Share Posted May 28, 2014 Hutton and Greer start. For the love of Christ! Glad I decided against going. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted May 28, 2014 Share Posted May 28, 2014 Hutton and Greer start. For the love of Christ!Glad I decided against going.What's the starting line up? Link to comment
The dundee dandy Posted May 28, 2014 Share Posted May 28, 2014 What's the starting line up?Mcgregor, Robertson, greer, hanley, morrison, mulgrew, brown, naismith, maloney and Ikechi Anya Link to comment