neillyboy81 Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 At the start of Derek McInnes's appointed there was doubt, "is he the right man" "ex Hun" some good summer recruitment on the playing front. Simple yet Major steps in terms of off the park changes in sports science, training ground, fitness training and dietary tuition. After a pre season of hard work including an intensive training camp down south, cautious optimism for the season ahead appeared to the fore. What was a realistic expectation for the season? Attractive football, top 6 finish, decent cup run, some passion and fight on the park, not hearing "our keeper hardly had a save to make" My thought was finally clear any improvement on what I'd witnessed the previous few seasons. McInnes spoke well wanting to make the north east and the city fall in love with the team again. Intact I was amazed at how well he spoke in the press, professional, played things down and controlled the hype. Results started well, even beating lower league opposition in a cup game and winning a penalty shoot out. Even at the point it was hard to envisage the cup final win a trophy "nineteen years.... Milne was bang on" League Position remained intact in 2nd, consistency, controlling games, players showing they wanted to win. Back to Back results against Celtic (how sweet that was on both fantastic occasions) As we rolled into April another cup semi final, top six football, European football secured with games to play. A cup win and 3rd, I'd have bit your hand off at the start of the season for that. Back playing on the European stage with a fresh management team and hungry players. So, What happens next ?? Derek's season review will hopefully include Plan B - we need to mix it up, evident on the last 10 games of the season. When teams try and sit in and counter, Do we go to a Diamond in midfield to allow to up top??? Who knows Recruitment - more of the same please, players with quality with a view to having a balance on both sides of the park. Full backs an absolute must, another Striker? yes 1, with quality and variation to they're game. With the out of contract players situation, Weaver goes then we need a No1 not just someone to sit on the bench. The Intigration of more of the youngsters too, particularly looking forward to seeing Scott Wright, but only when it's right time. The end of the season felt sore, but it's done the excitement of the new season ahead coupled with European football is just around the corner. 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 At the start of Derek McInnes's appointed there was doubt, "is he the right man" "ex Hun" some good summer recruitment on the playing front. Simple yet Major steps in terms of off the park changes in sports science, training ground, fitness training and dietary tuition. After a pre season of hard work including an intensive training camp down south, cautious optimism for the season ahead appeared to the fore. What was a realistic expectation for the season? Attractive football, top 6 finish, decent cup run, some passion and fight on the park, not hearing "our keeper hardly had a save to make" My thought was finally clear any improvement on what I'd witnessed the previous few seasons. McInnes spoke well wanting to make the north east and the city fall in love with the team again. Intact I was amazed at how well he spoke in the press, professional, played things down and controlled the hype. Results started well, even beating lower league opposition in a cup game and winning a penalty shoot out. Even at the point it was hard to envisage the cup final win a trophy "nineteen years.... Milne was bang on" League Position remained intact in 2nd, consistency, controlling games, players showing they wanted to win. Back to Back results against Celtic (how sweet that was on both fantastic occasions) As we rolled into April another cup semi final, top six football, European football secured with games to play. A cup win and 3rd, I'd have bit your hand off at the start of the season for that. Back playing on the European stage with a fresh management team and hungry players. So, What happens next ?? Derek's season review will hopefully include Plan B - we need to mix it up, evident on the last 10 games of the season. When teams try and sit in and counter, Do we go to a Diamond in midfield to allow to up top??? Who knows Recruitment - more of the same please, players with quality with a view to having a balance on both sides of the park. Full backs an absolute must, another Striker? yes 1, with quality and variation to they're game. With the out of contract players situation, Weaver goes then we need a No1 not just someone to sit on the bench. The Intigration of more of the youngsters too, particularly looking forward to seeing Scott Wright, but only when it's right time. The end of the season felt sore, but it's done the excitement of the new season ahead coupled with European football is just around the corner.Fuck that. A he's a CH & B he's shite & C he's just signed for Northampton Town thankfully Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Win the league and the Scottish Cup. Retain the League Cup. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 And win the Europa League. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 & then Champions league the following season Link to comment
TopDon Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Also win the energy communities cup again Sent from my U9202L-1 using Tapatalk Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 A better, talented, more capable, more adaptable squad to see us through a longer season where hopefully we'll play more games than we did this year (and there's really only one more game we could have played this season...) 2nd with ideally only 20 points between us and Ra Sellick and another cup (the other bigger one !) and I'd be overjoyed ! Link to comment
K-9 Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 A better, talented, more capable, more adaptable squad to see us through a longer season where hopefully we'll play more games than we did this year (and there's really only one more game we could have played this season...) 2nd with ideally only 20 points between us and Ra Sellick and another cup (the other bigger one !) and I'd be overjoyed !I'd prefer to end up further ahead of Celtic and not in 2nd to Motherwell Link to comment
FASH Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 I'd be disappointed if we didn't win the Superbowl. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Winning the top six trophy was the highlight of this season. I really hope we can emulate this success next year and retain our Top Six Trophy. And reaching the final of Australia's Next Top Model. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Win EVERY game we play in & even some of the ones we don't if possible Link to comment
tup Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 McInnes leaves for West Brom. The end. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 I'm fairly optimistic that Sunderland are not renewing Anderson's contract, so if Derby Co don't nip in & steal him there is a decent chance we could re-sign him for next season. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 And win the Europa League. Our squad isn't big enough to do Europe as well. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Winning the top six trophy was the highlight of this season. I really hope we can emulate this success next year and retain our Top Six Trophy. And reaching the final of Australia's Next Top Model. A Don In Oz has got that in the bag shhhhhurely ? Link to comment
Bamber Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 The league table doesn't lie and we end up where we deserve Lets look at that Goals against we are the second best in the league we were 4 goals better than the 3rd best in the league - we were 22 goals better off than the team in 2nd and 12 goals better off than the team in 4th Goals for we are the 4th best in the league we were 5 goals better off than the 5th best in the league - we were 11 goals worse off than 3rd and 12 goals worse off than 4th Our losses was the 2nd best in the league 2 better than our closest rivals in 2nd and 4th we were 5th for the number of draws 2 were 0-0 5 were 1-1 and one was 2-2 we had 14 games we won by 1 goal only 8 of those were 1-0 Where do we go next year? the league table doesn't lie - it says we are 3rd. the reason we are third is we didn't score enough goals despite being as tight as a gnats chuff less hitting on the counter - more attacking from midfield is where we need to go next year 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Our squad isn't big enough to do Europe as well.Aye, loads of sensible posts and then he comes out with that gem. :-) Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 The league table doesn't lie and we end up where we deserve Lets look at that Goals against we are the second best in the league we were 4 goals better than the 3rd best in the league - we were 22 goals better off than the team in 2nd and 12 goals better off than the team in 4th Goals for we are the 4th best in the league we were 5 goals better off than the 5th best in the league - we were 11 goals worse off than 3rd and 12 goals worse off than 4th Our losses was the 2nd best in the league 2 better than our closest rivals in 2nd and 4th we were 5th for the number of draws 2 were 0-0 5 were 1-1 and one was 2-2 we had 14 games we won by 1 goal only 8 of those were 1-0 Where do we go next year? the league table doesn't lie - it says we are 3rd. the reason we are third is we didn't score enough goals despite being as tight as a gnats chuff less hitting on the counter - more attacking from midfield is where we need to go next yearNo need for the stats.The reason we are third is because we lost on Sunday. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Exactly Tommy. We've next to no chance of winning the Europa League unless we sign at least two folk in the summer. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 No need for the stats.The reason we are third is because we lost on Sunday.If we'd beaten Partick Thistle instead of them beating us 3-1 then we'd be second and Partick would be in the play offs. I'll happily take 3rd and see HIVs relegated thanks very much. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 The reason we were third is because there was two teams better/more consistent than us over the course of the season. Would I have accepted 3rd at start of season? in all honesty only if I knew we were also going to win a cup, so cannot grumble really.Would I accept 3rd AGAIN next season? in all honesty ONLY if we also win the SCOTTISH cup or BOTH cups even better.Otherwise 3rd place is pish next season. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted May 13, 2014 Share Posted May 13, 2014 Everyone goes on their holidays Link to comment
Sandafc Posted May 14, 2014 Share Posted May 14, 2014 Some bizarre statements on here especially the league table doesn't lie, you finish where you deserve to.. So if McLean had did his job properly in the last minute (yes Langfield should have done better but it was still a foul) we would have deserved to finish 2nd but since he didn't, we deserve to finish 3rd? Usually I agree with the statement that the league table doesn't lie, as usually the team above you are more consistent etc but in the context of what happened on Sunday, I don't think that applies. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 14, 2014 Share Posted May 14, 2014 Some bizarre statements on here especially the league table doesn't lie, you finish where you deserve to.. So if McLean had did his job properly in the last minute (yes Langfield should have done better but it was still a foul) we would have deserved to finish 2nd but since he didn't, we deserve to finish 3rd? Usually I agree with the statement that the league table doesn't lie, as usually the team above you are more consistent etc but in the context of what happened on Sunday, I don't think that applies.Regarding Well finishing above us. They deserved to.They beat us twice & we beat them once & drew with them.They played us perfectly at Pittodrie BOTH times. They knew exactly how to play us & they did it. Yes they had the benefit of a dodgey ref (& a shite keeper to throw a nothing ball at) but so did we when we nicked a draw at Fir park.We deserved to knock them out of both cups & they deserved to pip us in the league because they were consistently better in the league over the course of the season & they beat us twice at Pittodrie (regardless of the ref) the table does not lie at all & sour grapes does not change that. They probably benefited in the league because of being knocked out of the cups, so it's actually partly our own doing. Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 21, 2014 Share Posted May 21, 2014 You need to be in the Aberdeen angling association to fish the Don at Dyce, your best bet to give it a go is Inverurie, buy a day permit in the fishing shop there. Dry fly fishing on a Summers day on the river is a great way to spend a day, I used to be a regular but switched to Sea fishing, even that I've not done for a couple years now. Link to comment
Poodler Posted May 21, 2014 Share Posted May 21, 2014 There are otters down at the Don in dyce now. Mental wee things min, the Herons are well feart of them. (Off topic) Link to comment