beer gut Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Reported that Rick Mayall has died. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-27770266 Loved him in The New Statesman and as Lord Flasheart in Blackadder. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 No fucking way. This better be a hoax. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted June 9, 2014 Site Sponsor Share Posted June 9, 2014 Reported that Rick Mayall has died. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-27770266 Loved him in The New Statesman and as Lord Flasheart in Blackadder.Only 56. Fucks sake Link to comment
Dandy_SBT Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Anyone have him in the sweeper? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 I wonder if it was a stroke. I dreamed I had a stroke last night... The right hand side of my face went all melty, and I was talking like I was eating a pie, trying to tell people I was having a stroke. Anyway, shit... Rik Mayall was one of my comedic icons growing up, leading the alternative comedy scene that supplanted a British comedy scene dominated by Bob Monkhouse and Jim Davidson. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 http://youtu.be/MMLfYuew5B4 http://youtu.be/6CnAsdQiGzs http://youtu.be/gW2nb4EQY3Q Link to comment
beer gut Posted June 9, 2014 Author Share Posted June 9, 2014 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxA0a5G6ccg Link to comment
thedandydon Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Sad to hear. One of the great alternative comedians from these shores, certainly during the 80’s and early 90’s. Not so BANG ON. : ( Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 https://youtube.com/watch?v=aKfbSHW9uGA Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Was he a poof? No he's married with 2 kids. I wonder if it's related to his accident all those years ago? "Haven't you heard? Rick is dead! The People's Poet is dead!" And then one particularly sensitive and articulate teenager will say, "Other kids, do you understand nothing? How can Rick be dead when we still have his poems?" And then another kid will say... [he then farts loudly and realises what he's been taking. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 So, anyway, this is what comedy used to be like in Britain... EDIT: Just watch the first 5 minutes. Go on. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 This saddens me from the Bottom of my heart....... Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 kelt I hate you for that. 1:18 is when it really kicks into high gear. Watch the whole hour. Go on. I dare you. Link to comment
ebbe Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 i'll give you the benefit of the doubt, i'll watch it later. if I'm not on here again by half 8 i'll have drilled a Phillips heid screw threw my temple. Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Dinna see what the fuss is with you lot. You all must be a lot older than me. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Dinna see what the fuss is with you lot.You all must be a lot older than me.I appreciate you are probably a big Alan Carr fan chief...but show some fucking respect. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Aye aye, RIP and all that but I can't say my heart is bleeding about this. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Unbelievable. Another of my heroes gone. Dinna really ken fit to say but his long time comedy partner Ade Edmonson came out with a belter: Edmondson added: "There were times when Rik and I were writing together when we almost died laughing.They were some of the most carefree stupid days I ever had, and I feel privileged to have shared them with him."And now he's died for real. Without me. Selfish bastard." Link to comment
don corleone Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Gutted. Great in the young ones, bottom, blackadder, comic strip, new statesman. Hell liked pretty everything he was in. RIP comrade. . Link to comment
don corleone Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 RIP comrade. Particularly loved the young ones, bottom and the new statesman. Link to comment
Mouse Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Sad news, used to watch Bottom and Drop Dead Fred a lot as a youngster Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 My mate got this from Rik Mayall 3 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted June 9, 2014 Share Posted June 9, 2014 Loved the young ones. But I may be in the minority here when I say I thought bottom was absolute shite. Link to comment