daytripping Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 I'm off tomorrow/well today, never ever been in Glasgow for fun unless I had a flight next day or at a concert, I'm actually really looking forward to it. So tell me hatsters what can I get up to in 3 days, I'm staying central with a young lady so no time for the normal japestar stuff we get up to at football, hope I don't get recognised either late on, I'm Sauchiehall street area, think I have my food places sorted but outside shopping what else is good in the big smoke. Glasgowdon...your time to shine, I love culture, give me some hints pal. Ta. x Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Are you thinking about a tup-style update thread, dayts? Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 11, 2014 Author Share Posted July 11, 2014 Are you thinking about a tup-style update thread, dayts? Yeah it has crossed my mind, headbutted a hun at 6.17, shagged the bird at 6.24, out on the lash 6.27, kebab 6.38. I dunno CL, will see how it goes, will update all you good folk as I go along, would be rude not too, Wish you were all coming with me though, would be a proper good time, next season lets make the Dingwall 5 the Dingwall 50, carnage from the word go. lol pissed by Inverurie and tables so full of lines you can't see the fake wood. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Sounds good to me. Can we invite 360 and Melvo? 1 Link to comment
tup Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 It would never be on a par with my holiday thread, sorry daytripping. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 When you revealing this year's destination, tup? Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Yeah it has crossed my mind, headbutted a hun at 6.17, shagged the bird at 6.24, out on the lash 6.27, kebab 6.38. I dunno CL, will see how it goes, will update all you good folk as I go along, would be rude not too, Wish you were all coming with me though, would be a proper good time, next season lets make the Dingwall 5 the Dingwall 50, carnage from the word go. lol pissed by Inverurie and tables so full of lines you can't see the fake wood. Biff on a Train........ Far better than snakes on a plane anyway, For that reason am in! Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 7 sleeps unitl tup's holiday, the countdown is ON. Sorry for de-railing your thread, dayts. Maybe it'll get back on track when you start posting about your time in the weege. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 It would never be on a par with my holiday thread, sorry daytripping.It would be a million times better. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Biff on a Train........ Far better than snakes on a plane anyway, For that reason am in!Soap is a veritable cult classic piece of film noir. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Dayts old bean, would be happy to help. Firstly, what food spots do you fancy? I'll make sure they're all decent. Museums? People wtaching? Give me some hints and I'll do my best. Link to comment
tup Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 The best thing about Glasgow is the road leading north. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 I'm off tomorrow/well today, never ever been in Glasgow for fun unless I had a flight next day or at a concert, I'm actually really looking forward to it. So tell me hatsters what can I get up to in 3 days, I'm staying central with a young lady so no time for the normal japestar stuff we get up to at football, hope I don't get recognised either late on, I'm Sauchiehall street area, think I have my food places sorted but outside shopping what else is good in the big smoke. Glasgowdon...your time to shine, I love culture, give me some hints pal. Ta. xThought you said you were married Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Eastern Edge of City Center: (all this stuff is a short walk from the Centre, though if its dark - stick to the path / beware the full moon etc haha!) Visit the Westbeer brewery in the Templeton Building, at Glasgow Green sample their beer and food. Sit outside in their beer garden if its nice / walk around the Green even. The brewery is directly next to the Peoples Palace (museum) and Winter Gardens, which could be worth a look. There is also Lord Nelsons Obelisk (first public monument to mark his victories) and the Doulton Fountain, the largest extant terracotta fountain in the world. https://westbeer.com/west http://www.glasgowlife.org.uk/museums/peoples-palace/Pages/default.aspx Also the Barras Market - not everyones cup of tea, (a bit skanky perhaps) but I have long liked it (mainly for the bustle of the place and to take advantage of the widespread media piracy). City Centre For drinks: http://www.merchantsquareglasgow.com/ Some nearby interesting places: http://www.sharmanka.com/Home/Welcome.html http://gphs1800.tripod.com/ (you may already be acquainted with these Gentlemen haha) For interest (very small museum): http://www.nts.org.uk/property/tenement-house/ (the latter is in Garnethill, which also has the fire-damaged Art-school, St Aloysius Church (excellent) and a Synagoge to look at). Have a stoat about the shops etc. Or there is Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis - if a nice enough day, a walk around the Necropolis can be very peaceful, both moving and interesting to read the old monuments and headstones. Good views over the city too. Theres also the Gallery of Modern Art, in Royal Exchange Square - but then Modern Art is sh*te. West End Walk about Botanic Gardens if its nice.http://www.glasgowbotanicgardens.com/(or Kelvingrove Park and surrounding areas) I like the Botanics - some of the squirrels are so bold they will come and eat out of your hand. At the Botanics end of Byres Road there is Oran Mor - an old church made into a restaurant / bar / venue, and there is always music/gigs etc on. Or Byres Road / Ashton Lane or Cresswell lane for food drinks. (or the lanes on the other side of Byres Rd). The lanes are nice, esp for visitors and esp if its nice weather. There is Kelvingrove Art Gallery near here (its OK), but I wouldnt recommend the Riverside Museum (bland). Just some ideas for you - have a good weekend. 1 Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Couple of good exhibitions on at the RM at the moment, Commonwealth related. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 11, 2014 Author Share Posted July 11, 2014 Train wifi is crap, just typed a post but it didn't post, going to Bibi tonight I think Gdon, any good? Really hot on the train with no air con, nearly at Perth though so not long to go. Cheers for the tips CS, will take in some of those for sure. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Train wifi is crap, just typed a post but it didn't post, going to Bibi tonight I think Gdon, any good? Really hot on the train with no air con, nearly at Perth though so not long to go. Cheers for the tips CS, will take in some of those for sure. Never eaten there myself dayts but I know two people that love it. If that takes you down the West End this evening then I'd stick there. Weather is beautiful. Grab some al fresco refreshments down Ashton/Cresswell Lane way and see if the Kelvingrove gallery is any good since they re-opened it. Where are you staying? Sauchiehall Street is pretty big. Link to comment
tup Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Dont agree with all this cash getting spent on a weegie slum turd polishing exercise for the Commonwealth Games. Waste of fucking money. 1 Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Dont agree with all this cash getting spent on a weegie slum turd polishing exercise for the Commonwealth Games. Waste of fucking money. Thanks - stuff looks awesome. Link to comment
tup Posted July 11, 2014 Share Posted July 11, 2014 Dinna get me started on this baton shite. You're a moron if you go and watch that pish. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 13, 2014 Author Share Posted July 13, 2014 Best laid plans and all that...basically ended up sitting inside or outside cruisers, just watching the World go by having a laugh in the sun makes for a great day, had a brilliant time, even went clubbing on Friday night. Ended in a casino last night till god knows what hour, great night, started the evening in Torres Tapas, meal was amazing. Have to say the people were so friendly as well, a million miles away from the football crowd. Some amount of friendly weirdos as well, was in the Counting house and this guy was shouting random things out at the bar, he must have been known as no one blinked an eye, stuff like...DID YOU SEE THOSE CYCLISTS WHO CRASHED, I SING FROM THE SOUL, BRAZIL FOR 3RD I THINK, I thought he was brilliant. Downside was the amount of beggars sitting with their paper cups, just do one!! the buskers were mostly all brilliant and I don't mind giving them some cash but I'm not feeding someones smack habit. Link to comment
Jigot Posted July 13, 2014 Share Posted July 13, 2014 Mrs J is heading west next week, to visit the wicked Witch, who is a fuckin right bastard, coincidence? Fuck naw! POODER that's what's needed! That, and her fucking train. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted July 14, 2014 Share Posted July 14, 2014 Best laid plans and all that...basically ended up sitting inside or outside cruisers, just watching the World go by having a laugh in the sun makes for a great day, had a brilliant time, even went clubbing on Friday night. Ended in a casino last night till god knows what hour, great night, started the evening in Torres Tapas, meal was amazing. Have to say the people were so friendly as well, a million miles away from the football crowd. Some amount of friendly weirdos as well, was in the Counting house and this guy was shouting random things out at the bar, he must have been known as no one blinked an eye, stuff like...DID YOU SEE THOSE CYCLISTS WHO CRASHED, I SING FROM THE SOUL, BRAZIL FOR 3RD I THINK, I thought he was brilliant. Downside was the amount of beggars sitting with their paper cups, just do one!! the buskers were mostly all brilliant and I don't mind giving them some cash but I'm not feeding someones smack habit. Glad you had a good time. Torres wouldn't be my first stop - I'll give you a better tip for tapas next time. Which club/pubs were you in? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 14, 2014 Share Posted July 14, 2014 4 days until tup's annual extravaganza. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 14, 2014 Share Posted July 14, 2014 Can imagine the gritty industrial past of Glasgow will appeal to a reformedsoccermentalist. Link to comment
dave_min Posted July 14, 2014 Share Posted July 14, 2014 Does this mean you made it out alive? Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 14, 2014 Author Share Posted July 14, 2014 Does this mean you made it out alive? It does indeed, I was actually pleasantly surprised by the people and how nice they were, I shall be returning soon. Link to comment