Season Expectations - Can We Challenge Celtic

We should of course be aiming to challenge Rasellic, though of course as others have said if there is even the slightest danger of them being involved in a genuine title fight they'll strengthen in January to such an extent that maintaining a proper challenge after the new year would be that bit trickier.

Fundamentally it requires all teams (us included) not shiting it when we play the fuckers and causing them to drop points. Their consistency last season was bordering on the freakish and I don't think they can repeat it. Interesting times.

If we can beat them away from home in Scottish cup & end their undefeated run at home (in the same season) when nobody gave us a chance, then no reason we cannot better them over a whole season.

Saying that I mean as in head to head & that has to be our one goal regarding THEM this season.

Arguably more importantly for us throughout the whole season though is for us to dominate all the rest the way celtic have in the past & THAT is a very reasonable expectation, so if you break it down into chunks like that, then it is not unreasonable for us to hope for "unrealistic" things.

Take each game as it comes & play to win EVERY game. That's all we can do.

& sign Shinnie

I'm disappointed in you.

You forgot to say ditch Clangers

:wtf:

The only reason I'd say we can't is because no other team will come close to beating Ra Sellick… We won't win every game, they have a better chance to do that and given our form from February/March onwards I would expect more of the same at some point this season. But I certainly don't have any faith that any other team in the league will be taking many points from them.

On that performance today... no chance. But opening game of season quite often throws up weird results and performances. I put much of today's insipid display on the exertions of the Europa qualifiers, plus the lift we gave them with a gift of a goal.

But, I don't feel we've really strengthened much (if at all) from last season. Remains to be seen if the players have the mental attitude to raise the bar even more.

Celtic will drop points too - of that I have no doubt. A shit result today of course - but two goals right at the end of each half (the first half one right after we smacked the post), I think gave the result a worse feel than it actually was; deserved to get beat, but not the end of the world. All will be forgotten when we beat them at their patch just afore Xmas. A comfy victory at Killie will get us moving.

But there is also a 'biding our time' element to it aswell. Hamilton top of the league most folk think it is good to see something different. None of the teams are shitting themselves like if for example we were 5 points clear.

Happy to keep ticking along for our 80 point target but not necessarily take top anytime soon.

However of course win the next two games and we are top

• 2 months later...

Obviously we can challenge Celtic, because we're top of the league at the half way point. After a shaky start we're improving to the point where we realistically can beat any other team in the league, including Celtic.

Even if Celtic spend money they're not assured of anything. They already have a team full of players valued at way more than our players, being paid way more than our players, and we're above them. Unless they buy some genuine World Class players, and they won't, all they'll be doing is gambling that buying other expensive players will improve their team.

We, on the other hand, could improve a couple of positions... IF we have the ambition to go for it now we have a chance, a real chance, of winning the league.

I doubt the Aberdeen board has the ambition to match the opportunity, unfortunately, so if we stumble it'll be because we miss the opportunity more than Celtic being 'better' than us.

• 3 months later...

Now that second place is confirmed there's pretty much nothing left to play for.

Get McManus back from Morton and play him up front with Shankland. Let's see what they can do, with a substantial amount of game time, against the better teams in this league,

I'd written us off pretty much after drawing to Partick but simple fact is... all we need to do is win all our games and see if a Dundee team can sneak one and its a final day decider.

All I want is us to take it to the last day of the season and then see what happens then and there.

I'd written us off pretty much after drawing to Partick but simple fact is... all we need to do is win all our games and see if a Dundee team can sneak one and its a final day decider.

All I want is us to take it to the last day of the season and then see what happens then and there.

Stranger things have happened.

I'll give up hope when we mathematically can't win the thing.

And with the right acquisitions close season who's to say we can't be in an even better position this time next season.

Stranger things have happened.

I'll give up hope when we mathematically can't win the thing.

And with the right acquisitions close season who's to say we can't be in an even better position this time next season.

Likewise when mathematically impossible I won't give up. I think with plastic Hun and prob sevco Hun back next season will hinder our challenge so see as our best chance to pip the Tim this season

I think Hearts will make things better , if they have cash to invest in players. They can take points from Celtic.

That new wee club nae so much..straight back doon again if they survive at all.