Bluto10 Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 We was probably and ashamed and embarrassed that he bought it in the first place.I would be.But then of course I would waste my money on clothing better suited to old age hill walker or american tourists. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 8, 2014 Author Share Posted October 8, 2014 Aye it does. If you've not washed it and it soaks through then the wax is not good enough. I think the issue as that there wasnt (adequate) wax on it in the first place! (the factory stuff is probably applied via a spray and likely isnt very thorough). Theres plenty wax on it now however (and then some) and I look forward to the next rain! Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 8, 2014 Author Share Posted October 8, 2014 Well, 175 then! I'd still be taking it back for at least a replacement. If it's sold for rain proof/resistant and it leaks, then it's faulty. Get them'telt'! Fair doos (mine was ~£150 - not being pedantic sorry! - I just think the factory waxing isnt up to much, but my prodigious application the other night should sort it out Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 8, 2014 Author Share Posted October 8, 2014 old age hill walkerThats precisely the vibe i was going for! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 I think the issue as that there wasnt (adequate) wax on it in the first place! (the factory stuff is probably applied via a spray and likely isnt very thorough). Theres plenty wax on it now however (and then some) and I look forward to the next rain!Exactly and that's why you should have taken it back. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 Bought a Ma Strum winter jacket recently, thickest jacket I've ever owned, will only be able to be worn in sub zero conditions I think. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 Fair doos (mine was ~£150 - not being pedantic sorry! - I just think the factory waxing isnt up to much, but my prodigious application the other night should sort it out Pedant! Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 A jacket that you have to wax yourself always seems unfinished to me. Used to have a couple of Barbours back in the day, circa 1986, but never waxed them - preferred the 'lived-in' look. Good jackets though, never got ripped in a fight, plus you looked like a farmer, or better still plain clothes CID (proved useful on a number of occassions). Always worn Berghaus though. Anything with Gortex is best. Link to comment
Ohjimmyjimmy Posted October 8, 2014 Share Posted October 8, 2014 Bought a Ma Strum winter jacket recently, thickest jacket I've ever owned, will only be able to be worn in sub zero conditions I think.Wannabe casual jacket of choice. Honking. 3 Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Fine jackets like. Ideal for the severe conditions scottish football can throw up. Nae a top lable by any stretch but I stll like my penfield. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Just googled them. Awful. "Military inspired"Aye cause we all dream of being brain dead cannon fodder goons Like the minks walking down the road with pit bulls it does not mean you are hard. And wearing army surplus does not make you admiral of the fleet Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 not true, I have an officers jacket and make me feel like a boss.... Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 I guess not everyone walks down the street with their Aberdeen strip with Bluto 10 on the back for a night game then have to be put to bed 45 mins before it starts... I'll stick to MA Strum for the time being. I heard a rumour he soiled himself too. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Jeez my forthright opinions on fashion seem to strike a nerve with some. jealousy probably Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Eh would take Stevie Wonder's advice on fashion afore yours. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Yeah but you are from Dundee min Dundee. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 I'd live in Dundee before taking any advice fae Blurto. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Not a lot of love in this room this morning :-( Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Ok, I'd rather live in Northern Kurdistan than take some of Blurto's advice. Better? 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 People who wear military clothing generally have a unhealthy obsession with guns, are complete loners and stay at home all day in their bedroom. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Not a lot of love in this room this morning :-(That's because you're a dickhead. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Berty min you take this fashion stuff on the interwrbs very seriously. That's not a good thing.It only interweb.Chillax guy. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Come to my bedroom so I'm not alone and you can play Russian roulette with my gun, I'll fill it with bullets before you play though. Why your bedroom? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Good stuff Bert's I knew you were a good guy. Always good to differentiate reallife from interwebs. Some on here get affa worked up tho. When you find yourself hating online avatars its time to find yersel a new hobby. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 To be fair, when Berto said he wouldn't let you shoot yourself it's because he'd already have lost the game of Russki roulette on purpose after realising he'd reached a lifetime low with you in his hoose. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 We shall do berty. And being the guys we are it won't be any alta Rica rubbish it'll be only the finest beans know to man. It'll be like the days of Hemingway in Venice. Classy. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 9, 2014 Author Share Posted October 9, 2014 wearing army surplus does not make you admiral of the fleet Aye, its Navy surplus which makes you Admiral Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Aye, its Navy surplus which makes you Admiral I know. I was in the marines. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted October 9, 2014 Author Share Posted October 9, 2014 Exactly and that's why you should have taken it back. Fair doos - Id bet they were all similar "off the shelf" though. The British are not good at complaining My efforts at waxing have finished a wee bit streaky - prob due to my applying wax in all directions (?). Link to comment