The Boofon Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 I know.I was in the marines. Were you on drums or trumpet? Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 My efforts at waxing have finished a wee bit streaky - prob due to my applying wax in all directions (?). You won't look out of place in Aberdeen then, it'll look like you've been shat on by a seagull. Link to comment
dervish Posted October 9, 2014 Share Posted October 9, 2014 Suspect he was on the rusty trumpet. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted December 13, 2014 Share Posted December 13, 2014 What's the fit of fjallraven jackets like? Eyeing one online at the moment. I'm a large in pretty much every brand I wear, but just had to return a jacket by another brand as it was massive. Link to comment
rumpus Posted December 13, 2014 Share Posted December 13, 2014 What's the fit of fjallraven jackets like? Eyeing one online at the moment. I'm a large in pretty much every brand I wear, but just had to return a jacket by another brand as it was massive. No trying to be a smart arsed pedantic cunt but... Try the fucking things on first before purchasing. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted December 13, 2014 Share Posted December 13, 2014 No trying to be a smart arsed pedantic cunt but... Try the fucking things on first before purchasing.You managed though. 1 Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted December 14, 2014 Share Posted December 14, 2014 chiemsee make some good stuff, not to ott. good german surfy/ski clathes. might have a search for stussy!! Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted December 14, 2014 Share Posted December 14, 2014 uh oh, stussy are shit. oxbow are still good. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 What's the fit of fjallraven jackets like? Eyeing one online at the moment. I'm a large in pretty much every brand I wear, but just had to return a jacket by another brand as it was massive. The Greenland Winter is made considerably larger than the equivalent size in the standard Greenland (non-lined) version, which fit me perfectly, and the size down was too neat. Truth be told, the winter version is just nae that smart in comparison to the standard one. Better off plumping for a Barbour at that price bracket (if it's a good winter jacket you're after). Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 Aye avoid the final raven stuff DD min; its scandic clothibg is the graveyard of fashion. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 Scandinavian clothing is all the rage these days bluto. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 The Greenland Winter is made considerably larger than the equivalent size in the standard Greenland (non-lined) version, which fit me perfectly, and the size down was too neat. Truth be told, the winter version is just nae that smart in comparison to the standard one. Better off plumping for a Barbour at that price bracket (if it's a good winter jacket you're after).Cheers hulk. I may re evaluate then - been searching for something along those lines, like a carharrt or penfield number, but it would appear it's mostly parkas these brands same to make right now... Link to comment
DD1903 Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 Aye avoid the final raven stuff DD min; its scandic clothibg is the graveyard of fashion.Bloots, down here it's scandi fashion or a shell suit option Link to comment
The Hulk Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 Cheers hulk. I may re evaluate then - been searching for something along those lines, like a carharrt or penfield number, but it would appear it's mostly parkas these brands same to make right now... I briefly considered a Penfield when the Fjallraven was struck off the list - also didn't want a parka. I ended up plumping for a slightly more obscure (also Swedish) Dunderdon J38 field jacket, very sturdy, well-made, warm and good-fitting winter coat and on the basis of road-testing the two, appears to me as better value - 25% cheaper than the Greenland Winter. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 I just got a FjalRaven keb jacket and it's tremendous, just as well I never saw blutos post as I hold his thoughts on fashion and style in the highest regard and his opinions would have dissuaded me on purchasing FjalRaven. It copes with the weather with ease and that's without me applying a coat of wax Link to comment
Ke1t Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 I would just like to draw attention to the fact that Tiso and/or Fjallraven are lying bastards. On buying the jacket, I was told it came with two coats of wax on it already. Was there f*ck two coats of wax on that. Sunday afternoon I set off, striding towards the town centre and the rain starts. Great I thought - "do your worst rain" etc. And it did - I was f*cking "drookit" to use Oor Wullie terminology. The rain came through the jacket, like a hot knife through butter. The hood / neck, forearms and a large circle around the mid-torso were the worst affected areas - my pot belly was soaked. Raging. I would have been far drier, had I quickly fashioned a crude shelter using my own pubes. So I can only deduce that the pre-applied wax is a brief automated spray, a token gesture, in no way a proper application. You're ignoring the simplest and most obvious likelyhood, That being that the coat IS waterproofed as advertised, and the fact that the rain just blew through the wax layers and soaked you is PROOF that god hates you and created a miracle whereby the waxen layers didst stop the rain not, and smite you they did with grievous wet, for angered is the Lord and great in His wrath. I'm disappointed that you would fail to consider a miracle as the more likely reason you got soaked, and instead choose to besmirch the humble, yet diligent, artisans who crafted the coat in the first place. 3 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 I've good a Wood Wood jacket as my standard winter jacket, got it a sale a few years ago, thick and cosy as fuck not water proof as its just cotton. It's thick enough to with stand a semi decent shower and most precipitation falls as snow when it's cold enough to warrant it. Just wore it up a slight snow clad hill in Perthshire and it was so hot I had to open the zipper. Was probably just sweating cause I'm an unfit cunt... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2014 Share Posted December 15, 2014 I just got a FjalRaven keb jacket and it's tremendous, just as well I never saw blutos post as I hold his thoughts on fashion and style in the highest regard and his opinions would have dissuaded me on purchasing FjalRaven. It copes with the weather with ease and that's without me applying a coat of waxIndeed Buck, wax is for people with strange no illegal sexual thoughts Link to comment
DD1903 Posted December 16, 2014 Share Posted December 16, 2014 I briefly considered a Penfield when the Fjallraven was struck off the list - also didn't want a parka. I ended up plumping for a slightly more obscure (also Swedish) Dunderdon J38 field jacket, very sturdy, well-made, warm and good-fitting winter coat and on the basis of road-testing the two, appears to me as better value - 25% cheaper than the Greenland Winter.I'll have a wee swatch at that. I found the fjallraven on sale online for 170, so that's why i was keen to have a go. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted December 16, 2014 Share Posted December 16, 2014 Can we just make sure that none of these jaikets are too heavy or have hidden pockets? Remember someone has to hold and rifle through them at the square-go with those mad trumpets. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted December 16, 2014 Share Posted December 16, 2014 I briefly considered a Penfield when the Fjallraven was struck off the list - also didn't want a parka. I ended up plumping for a slightly more obscure (also Swedish) Dunderdon J38 field jacket, very sturdy, well-made, warm and good-fitting winter coat and on the basis of road-testing the two, appears to me as better value - 25% cheaper than the Greenland Winter.I take it this brand are a normal fit? ie you don't have to go up or down from your usual size? Link to comment