ScottishJohn Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 I've looked it up and there seems to be alot of different companies doing different tours. Has anyone been on one that they would recommend? Link to comment
dave_min Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 The 7pm Bluto Bar Crawl is very ghost-like. 2 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 i don't know that it's a "ghost" tour and it's certainly not very scary during the day (when i did it), but one i very much enjoyed was Mary King's Close. it's pretty amazing to get down under the buildings. i love history and old buildings in general, so i loved it. http://www.realmarykingsclose.com/about-mary-kings-close/about-the-close.aspx i wish i had tried this one http://www.cityofthedeadtours.com/the-double-dead-walk/ Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 The ghost of a once promising young fitba team can be found at Easter Road Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted September 4, 2014 Author Share Posted September 4, 2014 The 7pm Bluto Bar Crawl is very ghost-like. I'd prefer to not be asleep by 7:30 i don't know that it's a "ghost" tour and it's certainly not very scary during the day (when i did it), but one i very much enjoyed was Mary King's Close. it's pretty amazing to get down under the buildings. i love history and old buildings in general, so i loved it. http://www.realmarykingsclose.com/about-mary-kings-close/about-the-close.aspx i wish i had tried this one http://www.cityofthedeadtours.com/the-double-dead-walk/ City Of The Dead is the one Ive been told about I think! "Can cause genuine physical and mental distress." Sounds like I'd like it. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 mary kings close is quite cool. with the actors hamming it up, I bought one of those plague mask hingmys in the gift shop. best bit was learning about the arsenic paint, don't lick the walls. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 I did the dungeons with the loon in the summer. Avoid. Pish. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 Ghost tours? EDI burgh has ZERO FUCKIN GHOST YOU STUPID GROWN UP CUNT. science fact Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 I do. But I'm not a fuckin idiot. Costs ffs Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 I do. But I'm not a fuckin idiot. Costs ffs soooo... tightbreeks, ollie and i are all "fuckin idiots"? huh, Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 Yer...... Or hosts exist. I'm only asking the question .Sonr shot the messenger min Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 Yer...... Or hosts exist. I'm only asking the question .Sonr shot the messenger min whether or not you believe in ghosts/costs/hosts is another question.however, the tours themselves can still be fun. even if you don't. (though clearly not for ollie. ) Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 What if I told you you wouldn't guaranteed 109% see a cost after you paidypu money? Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 What if I told you you wouldn't guaranteed 109% see a cost after you paidypu money? i wouldn't give a fuck. i still enjoyed the tour through the close. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 Ach fuck it I used to live therePreferred the pu s Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 Ach fuck it I used to live therePreferred the pu s i do not like the bus.i do not like pus. i do not like them here or there.i do not like them anywhere. g'night Bluto. sleep well x 3 Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 watch out for the ghosties bluto von blooterington Link to comment
boboisared Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 You on the 11%ers the night ye gibbering idiot. "Gibbering idiot". Class. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 whether or not you believe in ghosts/costs/hosts is another question.however, the tours themselves can still be fun. even if you don't. (though clearly not for ollie. )The dungeon tour was a bit of a let down for me personally, I think I had built it up to be something more. The bairn loved it though, so that was money well spent. I'll be back in the near future for sure to experience the more adult targeted tours. Link to comment
RUL Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 Auld Reekie Cemetary and Vaults tour was pretty interesting...not scary though. Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted September 4, 2014 Author Share Posted September 4, 2014 Thinking of either Auld Reekie or City of The Dead tours. Will probably go to the dungeons just to see what its like. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted September 4, 2014 Share Posted September 4, 2014 I'd go for the City of Dead tour if I were you, especially if you're looking for it to be a bit more scary. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 5, 2014 Share Posted September 5, 2014 The dungeon tour was a bit of a let down for me personally, I think I had built it up to be something more. The bairn loved it though, so that was money well spent. I'll be back in the near future for sure to experience the more adult targeted tours.You should try ADonInOz's dungeon tour. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted September 5, 2014 Share Posted September 5, 2014 You should try ADonInOz's dungeon tour. Nae many reviews for that one - don't think anyone has ever returned to give one. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 5, 2014 Share Posted September 5, 2014 You should try ADonInOz's dungeon tour. Whoa, fuck that. I'm safe in the knowledge the auld reekie 'een is done we actors Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 5, 2014 Share Posted September 5, 2014 There's a ghost tour at Ibrox Link to comment
Ron1903 Posted September 5, 2014 Share Posted September 5, 2014 Have done the Vaults one and foudn it pretty rubbish, just made up ghost stories in each seperate room. Did the Witchery tours with Adam 'someone' can't remember the surname, it wasn't scary but was a good laugh and told a few good stories. Much preferred to the Vaults one. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted September 10, 2014 Share Posted September 10, 2014 I had half price tickets for a tour of the vaults during the Fringe this year and it was pretty rubbish to be honest. It was interesting to see the tunnels under the street but the worst thing was the tour guide and her abysmal acting. She wasn't even hot. I think they do a late night ghosty version of it too which I can imagine being even worse. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted September 10, 2014 Share Posted September 10, 2014 I would presume the best ghost tour would be one where ghosts were an actual part of the proceedings. Since ghosts don't exist that means none of them are the best - they are not ghost tours at all, instead a means for actors to make money whilst trying to gain better employment - before realising they aren't cut out for top-end thespian roles at all. This usually ends in supermarket work, prostitution or suicide. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 10, 2014 Share Posted September 10, 2014 I would presume the best ghost tour would be one where ghosts were an actual part of the proceedings. Since ghosts don't exist that means none of them are the best - they are not ghost tours at all, instead a means for actors to make money whilst trying to gain better employment - before realising they aren't cut out for top-end thespian roles at all. This usually ends in supermarket work, prostitution or suicide.Utter pish. I've seen one. Link to comment