tightbreeks Posted January 15, 2015 Share Posted January 15, 2015 Scotland the brave, like mexico 86. the tunes easy to sing along to in time. it's got a bit of oomph about it as well, like the gerries, French, Italians and Brazilians. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 15, 2015 Share Posted January 15, 2015 The froggy one is popular. But few can boast a composer as rich and varies as William Blake. But that's why britians great.#peiple Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 15, 2015 Share Posted January 15, 2015 love the pub landlord taking on farage. with his first class MA in Modern History will be making our nige shit bricks. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 15, 2015 Share Posted January 15, 2015 Use a lostprophets song. Let's be bad guys like Russia. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted January 16, 2015 Share Posted January 16, 2015 Caledonia is a winner, none of this end of a wedding Loch Lomond pish. Or some Rod Stewart....... How about getting a packed Hampden singing/doing this? (Obviously with the alcohol ban lifted) Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 16, 2015 Share Posted January 16, 2015 I like the Corries "Scotland will Flourish", even if 1 or 2 lines are a bit too SNP / separatist its still a cracking song. I would be against any sentimental, weepy pish, like the Loch Lomond song or Caledonia. As modern Scots identity is completely cut off from the bulk of Scots history, it will be difficult to find something suitable / worthwhile / non-puerile. How about a comedy anthem? Jingle Bells? Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted January 19, 2015 Share Posted January 19, 2015 Your constant put downs on Scotland embarrass me. As a passionate scot who might or might not have voted yes no matter what I am still proud of Scotland. With our without the UK tag scotland can stand upright and display her coloursproudly. Thankfully not everyone is a bitter as you are over stuff that really shouldn't matter OK asshole, I'll bite... one minute I'm the "freedom fighter" talking Scotland up, now I'm "constantly putting us down". Both are equally laughable as they are untrue, but don't stop casting that net. 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 Members of the Tartan Army are being asked to vote on whether Flower of Scotland should be the country's national anthem. It comes after the question was raised at the Scottish Parliament's public petitions committee.The SFA said it believes the answer should come from its "most loyal fans" and has opened up an online vote for the Scotland Supporters Club.The options include Flower of Scotland, Caledonia and Scotland the Brave.Supporters can also choose Highland Cathedral or make their own suggestion.The online poll closes at 17:00 on Wednesday. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 Everyone would be humped with Scotland the Brave as nobody knows the words. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 In terms of the fans it would matter, but the players don't seem to give a fuck anyways even with FOS. Scott Brown, captain of the national team just stares into space when it is belted out. It does my tits in. Probably becuase for most of them it's not their national anthem. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 That is one reason indeed - many, many guffs in the team, but the likes of Scott Brown doesn't want to upset the fuckwits over at Tattie Bowl by singing it.Not at all. He's actually quite a fervent nationalist. Probably just disnae ken the words. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 That is one reason indeed - many, many guffs in the team, but the likes of Scott Brown doesn't want to upset the fuckwits over at Tattie Bowl by singing it. Nah, there might be some that take that attitude but nae Broony. Huge nationalist in every respect. Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 That is one reason indeed - many, many guffs in the team, but the likes of Scott Brown doesn't want to upset the fuckwits over at Tattie Bowl by singing it. I doubt that's the reason, he wears the same steeley gaze when in the lineup before every game, I would call it focus rather than not wanting to offend his teams' fans. You slug Link to comment
The Hulk Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 For me, the national anthem should be "A man's a man" (For a' that and a' that). No other song better encapsulates the Scottish psyche of outward-looking egalitarianism and brotherly love than this song. A 220 year old song that is as relevant now as it's ever been. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 In terms of the fans it would matter, but the players don't seem to give a fuck anyways even with FOS. Scott Brown, captain of the national team just stares into space when it is belted out. It does my tits in.That's cause he is 'in the zone' and proper hard; trying g in vain to be Keane or Gerrard. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 That's cause he is 'in the zone' and proper hard; . Correct. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 Primal Scream - Rocks Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 11, 2015 Share Posted February 11, 2015 This Scott Brown love-in is making me sick.Agreed. I'm yet to be convinced he's actually better than Langfield. He's certainly more composed and can kick the ball further, but he's still slightly suspect in my eyes. Link to comment