Contact Lenses

Pudgie

Some bint went off with my specs in a club, and I was getting fed up of them anyway. So, next plan was to get contact lenses. Problem is, I'm a fanny when it comes to stuff around and in my eyes. Anyone managed to overcome a fear of that or does it never really become any more comfortable? And is there any recommended brands to go for or avoid?

Used to be the same as yourself, was squeamish about putting anything near my eyes.

Discovered 5 years ago I had probably been needing glasses for about 5 years previously and went for the contacts during day and glasses in the evening. I started with monthly contacts (you get 2 pairs for each month), but they are far heavier on your eyes and if you lose a set you're fucked. So I get Acuvue Moist daily lenses, quite light and you don't notice them once they're in and just bin them when you are done, only hassle I ever have is if I haven't had a good nights sleep they can be a pain in the morning, but can usually just wear glasses for an hour and pop them in, or if I've had them in for 12 hrs or so (not recommended), they can become a bit sore. If you do get contacts, but hydrating drops, they work wonders.

As for the squeamish thing, I got over it pretty quickly, after the first few times you become used to it and the sensation goes away, usually your optician will show you how to put them in correctly. You're not even pressing something against your eye, just placing on top of it. Its been totally worth it for me - I still have a cheap pair of glasses I keep in the car and wear in the evening, but my contacts are great.

Man up.

You're being a cunt.

Is this your discreet way of telling us you pulled a munter the other night?

Lost ma specs :rolleyes:

What sort of vindictive cunt steals a mans prescription spectacles? Anyway - if you have some loose change, get laser eye surgery. No more glasses slipping down your nose when you're sweaty, or steaming up when you come in from the cold; or contacts disappearing in behind your eye, or tearing and feeling broken glass against your eyelid whenever you blink. Best £64 a month for four years Ive ever spent.

That was my thoughts exactly. Comes up to me as if butter wouldn't melt, asks to try them on and bolts. And trying to clock someone in a dark club when you're short sighted isn't really the easiest thing in the world.

For laser eye surgery I really don't think my eyesight is bad enough to merit the expense. If I was half blind then fair enough but my prescription is quite weak.

Cheers for the advice though. Think I'll be popping into Black and Lizars on the way home one night.

Having a special prescription, my options back in the day were the types of lenses you wore a year at a time (obviously cleaning each day). Went fine until eh got a horrendous infection deep in my eye. Nearly went blind according to the docs.

Other than that, they were good.

Was this whilst in Dundeh?

Nope

Ach, thought it might have been something soap related. Sounds like a 1 in nae muckle chance o happening kind of thing. Reckon I'll take my chances.

Accuvue Dailies. Tremendous although I'm fortunate as am short sighted only so need them for far out - golf, motorways when I'm watching for the junction signs etc.

Any relation of Christian? And I'm the same, tried playing golf with a pair of old specs that don't really fit. Fell off at the second tee and that was that. Hopefully contacts will help with the pool and golf. And of course clocking techt walking down Union St.

Not quite as fulfulling as spotting bounceable freight on Union Street I accept, but the other massive difference I noticed (if you're into that kind of thing) was ski'ing. In fact that was where I first noticed my eyes were weakening in the first place. No fucking about with prescription goggles for me!

And golf with glasses is just wrong, unless you're going to do the (prescription) Zack Johnston thing.

Not quite as fulfulling as spotting bounceable freight on Union Street I accept, but the other massive difference I noticed (if you're into that kind of thing) was ski'ing. In fact that was where I first noticed my eyes were weakening in the first place. No fucking about with prescription goggles for me!

And golf with glasses is just wrong, unless you're going to do the (prescription) Zack Johnston thing.

Not a skier but I can definitely see where they could be handy.

Aye, but it's better than losing your ball 'cause you can see where the wee bastard went. And even then, I still looked like less of a twat than Johnson!

I wear monthlies now. Take them out once every week to give them a clean and let my eyes breathe a bit. Once you get used to them, which doesn't take long, you really don't even notice they're in.

If you are going to go with that sort of thing don't buy them through a high street optician. I get 6 month supplies from this place and they're just as good as the £20 per month option you get at local opticians.

http://www.contactlenses.co.uk/details802_172.html

I understand why you are hesitant about putting stuff in your eyes.

Go for soft, daily disposable lenses. They are extremely comfortable and you will get used to them very quickly.

It can be tricky to put lenses in/out at first, but you will get the hang of it very quick. The thing is not to panic - even if you manage to shove a lens under your eyelid or something, its not the end of the world. It is not even uncomfortable, and it always comes out by itself in the morning ("gunk" builds up on it after a nights sleep, meaning its easy to find / get out).

I recommend Tesco opticians (me and the wife both use them) - they are pretty cheap and - because they're based in Tesco stores - are accessible and have good opening hours. (My Tesco optician is a foxy lady - another bonus).

I used to wear lenses all the time, but now I prefer to wear glasses in the day time and keep my lenses for (eg) nights out, or for when glasses arent suitable (e.g. I couldn't have worn my glasses at Alton Towers - rollercoasters etc).

Its good to alternate, as if you wear lenses too much, your eyeballs can dry out.

My glasses (frames and lenses) cost £20 from Tesco.

A months supply of contact lenses from Tesco also costs me ~£20.

I just buy a box of lenses and replenish them when needed (time varies) - its much more cost effective than buying every single month via direct debit.

I've been through a load of them. If you want can get 1 monthly ones which you sleep in. No shit. My worry with them is always that I'll be mangled KO then leave then in then end up blind. No chance with them though. Get in about the silicone hydrogels. Think you get dailies like that too though now.

If I could I'd go for getting zapped. Some folk will say "why risk getting zapped?". There are risks in wearing contacts as well. I've got one fucked eye and contacts near made a cunt of the other one so over maybe 50 years of using the same hand you scrape turds off your ring to put things into your eye if you can do it mebbies get zapped (not the cheap versions though).

Aside from the rather crude discourse above in this post if you want PM.

I understand why you are hesitant about putting stuff in your eyes.

Go for soft, daily disposable lenses. They are extremely comfortable and you will get used to them very quickly.

It can be tricky to put lenses in/out at first, but you will get the hang of it very quick. The thing is not to panic - even if you manage to shove a lens under your eyelid or something, its not the end of the world. It is not even uncomfortable, and it always comes out by itself in the morning ("gunk" builds up on it after a nights sleep, meaning its easy to find / get out).

I recommend Tesco opticians (me and the wife both use them) - they are pretty cheap and - because they're based in Tesco stores - are accessible and have good opening hours. (My Tesco optician is a foxy lady - another bonus).

I used to wear lenses all the time, but now I prefer to wear glasses in the day time and keep my lenses for (eg) nights out, or for when glasses arent suitable (e.g. I couldn't have worn my glasses at Alton Towers - rollercoasters etc).

Its good to alternate, as if you wear lenses too much, your eyeballs can dry out.

My glasses (frames and lenses) cost £20 from Tesco.

A months supply of contact lenses from Tesco also costs me ~£20.

I just buy a box of lenses and replenish them when needed (time varies) - its much more cost effective than buying every single month via direct debit.

Mink.