Bbc Alba, Gaelic And Afc

A chairdean,

As you many of you will all be aware, BBC ALBA have covered a number of Aberdeen games in the SPL and SPFL in recent years.

I'm currently researching the impact of BBC ALBA (but independent from BBC ALBA influence) and looking for research participants, and there is particular focus on the attitudes towards ALBA and also the Gaelic language amongst sports fans. I have so far found that there are a range of views on BBC ALBA and Gaelic in Scotland and it often provokes heated debate.

As part of the data collection I'm currently conducting online survey questionnaires and I'm looking for participants.

It doesn't take very long (between 9 and 13 minutes) and there are rewards for taking part, if you choose to leave your details (this is not compulsory and the survey can be undertaken completely anonymously too): you will be entered into a prize draw for High Street Retail Vouchers (Love2Love Shopping). On top of this, there are also paid research opportunities for further research participation, which are explained at the end of the online questionnaire.

The questionnaire can be found at: https://www.surveymo.../s/gaelic_media

Mòran taing,
Gòrdan

www.soillse.ac.uk

Thanks for that input, Dave. You're perfectly entitled to your opinion. If you could spend a couple minutes doing my survey I'd really appreciate it.

I also used to think Gaelic was a waste of time. However, I've noticed that every time BBC Alba covers a Dons match, it also ends up being shown live on RedTV international.

As a result, I'm now a big supporter of the language.

Hahaha great!

I also used to think Gaelic was a waste of time. However, I've noticed that every time BBC Alba covers a Dons match, it also ends up being shown live on RedTV international.

As a result, I'm now a big supporter of the language.

I stopped doing the survey, as you cant answer "none / never" in some cases.

BBC Alba is a complete piss take. It mocks Scottish license payers - paying for broadcasts you cannot understand. You could barely fill a football stadium with the amount of people who speak Gaelic. I would never dream of watching the channel.

We are lucky to speak English, the most beautiful and flexible language in the world. No need for Gaelic, a crude island dialect.

BBC Alba is a complete piss take. It mocks Scottish license payers - paying for broadcasts you cannot understand. You could barely fill a football stadium with the amount of people who speak Gaelic. I would never dream of watching the channel.

We are lucky to speak English, the most beautiful and flexible language in the world. No need for Gaelic, a crude island dialect.

English language is the ginger specky twat son of French.

French on the other hand is the pure thoroughbred. The language of love, romance and seduction.

We are not lucky to speak it, it was forced upon us by our english masters. Being a nation where over half the population are cowardly subservient bastards we embrace it and still to this day, some pricks even go so far to correct their fellow countrymen if grammatical errors are made.

Pathetic.

English language is the ginger specky twat son of French.

French on the other hand is the pure thoroughbred. The language of love, romance and seduction.

We are not lucky to speak it, it was forced upon us by our english masters. Being a nation where over half the population are cowardly subservient bastards we embrace it and still to this day, some pricks even go so far to correct their fellow countrymen if grammatical errors are made.

Pathetic.

Would have thought Latin would have been the most beautiful language in the world to a real catholic

Thats quite funny really but I guess not in the way you intended.

You don't speak a language therefore its a waste of time and money.

Thats a bit like huns saying AFC is a waste of time and money and should be closed down for the good of Scottish football.

Or saying cheesecake should be banned as its a waste of cream cheese.

Actually by your argument there shouldn't be a BBC Scotland because its of no relevance to the majority of the tax payers in the UK.

Moronic shite really.

With the half billion channels available in the average UK home I don't see the fuss about having a Gaelic channel, its not exactly big budget and its culturally of some significance unlike most of the shite the BBC produce these days.

I dinna mind BBC Alba, I just blank out the pish the commentator is talking. They fairly back the Dons do these Gaelic gadgies.

The best thing about the gaelic is their bread, which is magic with lasagne.

You're fond of that one.

I'll sit down with a good, traditional Scottish sunday lasagne to watch it, accompanied by some Gaelic bread in a tribute to the incomprehensible jonas at Alba who show the club so much support.

It means 'you're shite at maths' in Gaelic.

The only Gaelic thing I'm a fan of is their bread, fine accompaniment for lasagne thon.

I'm going to get into the Alba spirit by having lasagne and Gaelic bread for denner.

• Upvote 8