Bbc Alba, Gaelic And Afc

Thanks for all did they survey - it will be open for another few days if anyone else wants to do it. Everyone's entitled to their opinion. I don't want to get too deep into a dispute about the worth of Gaelic or the merits of spending money on it, but I'd like to put one thing into a bit of perspective:

A number of well known Scottish newspapers often present BBC ALBA as some kind of gravy train, when it actually runs on a shoe string. Currently BBC ALBA receives a total annual funding of £10 million from the BBC - this represents 0.02% of the overall BBC budget of £5billion. Jonathon Ross's last contract of £16.9million could have funded the whole channel for a year and you'd still have a few million quid left over at the end!

How aboot the NFL playoffs on BBC alba , bit of a black hole for 4 weeks , needs filling , could be fun in gaelic . How about Gaelic soft/semi hardcore porn .

Is there nae mair Doric spikers than gaelic eens onywye ? Fit wye di we nae hae BBC Doric ? Presented by ? Is frank Gilfeather still alive ?

Thanks for all did they survey - it will be open for another few days if anyone else wants to do it. Everyone's entitled to their opinion. I don't want to get too deep into a dispute about the worth of Gaelic or the merits of spending money on it, but I'd like to put one thing into a bit of perspective:

A number of well known Scottish newspapers often present BBC ALBA as some kind of gravy train, when it actually runs on a shoe string. Currently BBC ALBA receives a total annual funding of £10 million from the BBC - this represents 0.02% of the overall BBC budget of £5billion. Jonathon Ross's last contract of £16.9million could have funded the whole channel for a year and you'd still have a few million quid left over at the end!

I filled it out. If I don't win anything I'm blaming you.

PS I ken fa Gordon Solie was. JR claimed he was the best play-by-play announcer ever. But he died in 2000. Are you related?

Fortunately, no relation! Anything to do with wrestling...

Thanks all who've done the survey. Going to close it down in the next couple days if there's anyone else who'd like to do before I do.

Many thanks,

Dùrachdan,

Gòrdan

I stopped doing the survey, as you cant answer "none / never" in some cases.

BBC Alba is a complete piss take. It mocks Scottish license payers - paying for broadcasts you cannot understand. You could barely fill a football stadium with the amount of people who speak Gaelic. I would never dream of watching the channel.

We are lucky to speak English, the most beautiful and flexible language in the world. No need for Gaelic, a crude island dialect.

A dialect? Seems you're not very educated. The 'Scots' language is a dialect which is, basically, English with a few 'Scots words thrown in. Anyone who speaks English can follow something written in 'Scots', whereas Gaelic, being a language could not be followed unless you spoke it. Of course, the 'Clydeside' part of your name says it all.