gla5gowdon Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Morning all you fine folk, Fancy a wee holiday in April/May up to Aberlour and surrounding areas for a bit of walking, whisky etc. Anyone recommend accommodation and/or places to eat? Thanks x Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 I can't, but Bluto will be along in a minute or 2 with a copy'n'paste off tripadvisor. 1 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Are we talking "chuck ooer the broon sass min" or "could I peruse the wine list my good sir?" Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted October 24, 2014 Author Share Posted October 24, 2014 Are we talking "chuck ooer the broon sass min" or "could I peruse the wine list my good sir?" Either, just want a rare feed. Link to comment
Poodler Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 What kind of walking do you do GD? Will you be managing munro's or lower level? Link to comment
PheasantPlucker Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Craigellachie Hotel, simply for the Whisky 'Library' Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 I can't, but Bluto will be along in a minute or 2 with a copy'n'paste off tripadvisor.Dinna get jealous with me mate just cause you're idea of a lifetime holiday is two all inclusive weeks on the Costa. Link to comment
caledonia Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Aberlour A total shithole. Aberlour is great for what gla5gowdon wants good sceenery and plenty of distillerys being its on the speycant remember the one in the heart of Aberlour but there are plenty round that area Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Yup, Craigellachie hotel is pretty smart. Recently bought over and complete refurb. London money so haven't heard any recent reviews. Aberlour hotel also bought over and done up. Class it more in the cheap and cheerful bracket. There was another fishing inn about 5 miles south. Name escapes me. They used to do a magic steak. Bonny wee golf course too. Tup Aberlour is shite relative to most things including shite itself. But not Wick. Back to the fitba. Link to comment
tup Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Aberlour makes Wick seem like St Tropez. Weird little place, full of cunts IMO. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 24, 2014 Share Posted October 24, 2014 Weird little place, full of cunts IMO.The highlands? Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 25, 2014 Share Posted October 25, 2014 Dinna get jealous with me mate just cause you're idea of a lifetime holiday is two all inclusive weeks on the Costa. lolz Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 25, 2014 Share Posted October 25, 2014 Yup, Craigellachie hotel is pretty smart. Recently bought over and complete refurb. London money so haven't heard any recent reviews. Aberlour hotel also bought over and done up. Class it more in the cheap and cheerful bracket. There was another fishing inn about 5 miles south. Name escapes me. They used to do a magic steak. Bonny wee golf course too.TupAberlour is shite relative to most things including shite itself. But not Wick.Back to the fitba.Stayed in the Craigellachie just as it reopened after the refurb. Cannot fault the food or the rooms. The staff were the highlight. Couldn't have been nicer. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 25, 2014 Share Posted October 25, 2014 Good to hear Boof. One of my old stomping grounds. What was the fishing place called? On the bend in the road. Bally something? Some cracking steaks (and lock ins) there in the 90's! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 25, 2014 Share Posted October 25, 2014 Good to hear Boof. One of my old stomping grounds. What was the fishing place called? On the bend in the road. Bally something? Some cracking steaks (and lock ins) there in the 90's!Cardhu? My older brother goes up there every now and again though and speaks highly of it. Pretty sure that's the name of it. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 25, 2014 Share Posted October 25, 2014 Spoke to an old pool playing buddy. Delnashaugh on ballandalloch estate. Nice enough but middle of nowhere. Bit like Wick, but without the smell of fish. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 26, 2014 Share Posted October 26, 2014 Aye is delnashaugh that's correct used to be great for food it's under new management so don't know how it is now, But was always a nice comfortable wee inn. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted October 27, 2014 Author Share Posted October 27, 2014 What kind of walking do you do GD? Will you be managing munro's or lower level? Have bagged a few of the big boys but don't recall any being close?Craigellachie Hotel, simply for the Whisky 'Library' Chers bud, will look it up.Aberlour A total shithole. As mentioned elsewhere, distillery trips are the objective of the trip. Plus, Wick Aberlour is great for what gla5gowdon wants good sceenery and plenty of distillerys being its on the speycant remember the one in the heart of Aberlour but there are plenty round that areaBingo. Stayed in the Craigellachie just as it reopened after the refurb. Cannot fault the food or the rooms. The staff were the highlight. Couldn't have been nicer.Another for the Craigellachie, cheers pal. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Bingo. Your nearest bingo halls would be in Elgin: http://www.yell.com/s/bingo-carron-aberlour.html Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Your nearest bingo halls would be in Elgin: http://www.yell.com/s/bingo-carron-aberlour.htmlBingo nights in Keith every other weekend Island boy. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Great, so GD has a 50/50 chance of catching some bingo action if he goes with your recommendation. Edit: that's assuming he goes at a weekend FFS Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Im sure the weegie don will be able to take full advantage of the Craigellachie Hotel's wifi and play bingo online, in one of the copious amounts of online bingo sites, with a single malt in his hand to keep him company as he gets a sweat on... Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted October 27, 2014 Author Share Posted October 27, 2014 Im sure the weegie don will be able to take full advantage of the Craigellachie Hotel's wifi and play bingo online, in one of the copious amounts of online bingo sites, with a single malt in his hand to keep him company as he gets a sweat on... Rumbled! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Great, so GD has a 50/50 chance of catching some bingo action if he goes with your recommendation. Edit: that's assuming he goes at a weekend FFSCorrect. If there is no Bingo on in Keith he can go to Elgin. Decent saving on fuel going to Keith instead of Elgin. Or use the free wifi like EPK suggests. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Speaking of Bingo Ebbe and I joined the Mecca bingo in Hamilton last Froday prior to the Hamilton match. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Speaking of Bingo Ebbe and I joined the Mecca bingo in Hamilton last Froday prior to the Hamilton match.You could have played a Euro link up game with Blurto while you were there. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 You should head to Grantown on Spey or Nairn long before you consider Aberlour, no need to thank me, always glad to help. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted October 27, 2014 Author Share Posted October 27, 2014 You should head to Grantown on Spey or Nairn long before you consider Aberlour, no need to thank me, always glad to help. Aberlour has a better strategic location for walking than Nairn etc. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Aberlour has a better strategic location for walking than Nairn etc. Commute, better than being stuck in a village. Link to comment