redone Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 The win against St Johnstone was Aberdeen's 6th straight league win - the first time they have achieved that since season 89/90…. By my reckoning we had 8 straight League Wins in Oct-Dec 1984…. And of course we won the League that year… Can anyone confirm/correct me on my stats ? We won 7 league games in a row in Oct/Nov 1992 although we lost the league cup final to the huns in the middle of that run Link to comment
RUL Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 I'd love to know why anyone feels Motherwell, smashed 5-0 at Hamilton and fairly brutal all season, league position is false? For me they are in the league position they deserve. It's unrealistic to expect even the greatest of teams to win every week so I am not taking anything for granted but if we play well then we will win easily. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Certainly in the position they deserve to be in, But they still have the quality to pick up... more of less the same team that finished 2nd last year is all we're thinking. Just don't take them lightly and we'll romp it. Link to comment
ebbe Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Motherwell are stinking, and have been punching above their weight for years. On current form, although not taking anything for granted, I think we'll win comfortably. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 They have a few injury problems too. Nothing to fear. COYR Link to comment
tup Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Their new manager seems to be awful, we will surely put two or three past the dismal Twardzik. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted January 3, 2015 Author Share Posted January 3, 2015 We won 7 league games in a row in Oct/Nov 1992 although we lost the league cup final to the huns in the middle of that run Good stuff - must have missed that whilst staring at the results page last night ! Link to comment
lukas989 Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 We won 7 league games in a row in Oct/Nov 1992 although we lost the league cup final to the huns in the middle of that run That Cup final was by far the worst I've felt leaving a game....the last time I was at Hampden for a game of footy - hoping for better times against Utd. Motherwell could be at full strength and we should still murder them. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 KingStreetLoon is fully aware you're a chocolate Reekie. Harsh but fair......................... Link to comment
Tord31 Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Can register players between 9 and 5 today so wondering if perhaps the motherwell gadge will put some signings out of nowhere from deepest England. They have a lot of injuries at the moment. If we play our best we will take this one. This sentence brings its own challenge to the management team to keep everyone focussed and at the very top of their game. Link to comment
Mouse Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 I'm actually pretty confident we can keep the winning run going for at least another 2 games, no reason why not to. Squad has the correct mentality for once Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Wanting to head down for this one but reckon I'll just watch it on TV as I'm already skint till the end of the month... might sneak in the St Mirren game though! Motherwell have been shite this season but they still have the potential to be a good team. I think they'll raise their game and it'll be a close one. 1-0 Aberdeen though... Pawlett. Motherwell have been a strange one this season. Recently they've been best of the rest then lost their best player but kept going the season after. This time they finished 2nd, lost hardly anyone, and have been shit!If its only loot stopping you going min, ChutneyLove will sponsor yer ticket. Seasons greetings. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Aye Byrney, you can hop in the car with me min, just bring a pair of J's punts as payment. In Looking forward to laughing at the dance moves of the motherwell barmy army Almost expecting a win, haven't felt that against Motherwell for a while. Was at the 2-2 last year with Anderson's handball. LOL Chutters, you coming doon? Pint before hand? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Not going to make it Poodles chum, but happy to sponsor a fellow Dandy. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Not going to make it Poodles chum, but happy to sponsor a fellow Dandy.The world needs more good cunts like you #donsfamily #givethatmanaline Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 And the world just lost a good cunt. Mike Hill who I thieved the calendar fae passed away on New Year's Day. RIP big man, your memory will live on with a random thread on a fitba website. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Tough game to be expected. As others have mentioned dont feel motherwell's league position is a fair reflection of the quality in their side. After their result against Hamilton, they will be looking to pick themselves up and look to put in a much better performance at home against us. Exactly, after being pasted - in the "lanarkshire derby" no less (!) - they will back down to earth alright. I expect them to come out against us seeking not to lose, rather than to win, which means a turgid, cynical, boring and dirty game - hope we can still eek out a result though. Mind when Mulgrew first joined us, 6-7 yrs ago, and he scored a late free kick to take the points at fir park, after a shitty game*? I'd take that just now! (*one of the neutrals I took that day actually fell asleep during the game, and later insisted we leave 5 mins early to get to the pub promptly, meaning we missed the late goal which was about the sole highlight). Link to comment
lukas989 Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Of course theres always the 'you never know' element - but to be honest, most of us would be fucking filled with disbelief at defeat. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 And the world just lost a good cunt. Mike Hill who I thieved the calendar fae passed away on New Year's Day. RIP big man, your memory will live on with a random thread on a fitba website.Bastard. I had him in my death pool team. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Bastard. I had him in my death pool team.Shit thread. Link to comment
afcwull Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 coyr keep the dream alive!!! 2 nil dons !!! goodwillie with another belter!! Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 InHope to fuck we get a result and it makes it worth getting out of my sick bed for. 1-3 Pawlett, Rooney, Jack, - Sutton (pen) Link to comment
zoso77 Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 In for this,feeling well confident for good bounce and good result.pre match boozer of choice in city or Motherwell? Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 I see this on official; site. Not sure if that means those returning are available to utilise in the squad tomorrow or nae: http://www.afc.co.uk/news/5531.php#.VKgKkyusVBk Aberdeen have agreed to extend Danny Rogers loan spell at Dumbarton. The Republic of Ireland U21 keeper will stay with the SPFL Championship side till the end of the season.Danny has so far made 18 appearances for the Sons and had 6 clean sheets.Meanwhile Joe Shaughnessy who was on loan at Falkirk, Jamie Masson who was on loan at Brechin City and Declan McManus who was on loan at Morton will all be returning to Pittodrie in January and will be available to play for the Dons during the second half of the season. Joe made 12 appearances whilst at Falkirk, Jamie played 14 times for the Glebe Park side scoring twice, whilst Declan scored 12 goals in 20 games during his stay at Cappielow. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Masson and McManus for sure no. They are playing for Brechin and Morton today. Shaughnessey perhaps Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Masson and McManus for sure no. They are playing for Brechin and Morton today. Shaughnessey perhaps Aye, just noticed Masson scored to put Brechin 1-0 up at Forfar. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Masson and McManus for sure no. They are playing for Brechin and Morton today. Shaughnessey perhapsMasson is coming back this month. Brechin wanted to extend the deal to the end of the season but McInnes refused. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 InHope to fuck we get a result and it makes it worth getting out of my sick bed for. 1-3 Pawlett, Rooney, Jack, - Sutton (pen)You're sitting in the bog. Link to comment
Guest RosemountRed Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Masson and McManus for sure no. They are playing for Brechin and Morton today. Shaughnessey perhaps Not sure who Shaughnessey would replace, or why? Anyone know if he was any good at Falkirk? Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 3, 2015 Share Posted January 3, 2015 Not sure who Shaughnessey would replace, or why? Anyone know if he was any good at Falkirk?Dropped from the first team due to poor form. Bench, cover for Logan or Considine. Link to comment