2015 Holidays

minijc

Hope the £800 from Inverness to NY isnt each min, otherwise your getting ripped off.

I've got Budapest or Krakow in May. Not sure where yet, its for a stagger. Aviemore in July and then somewhere warm in October.

After a 2014 containing 2 x trips to the USA, 2x trips to London, 1x Prague and Leeds Festival I should probably take it easy this year.

Gairloch in April to play golf,eat/drink shite and recover after London.

Houston in July to see my Dad, looking forward to doing all the tourist shoite there. Anyone been to NASA before?

Gran Canaria in November.

Forgot Dublin in June with Scotland and hopefully a trip or 2 away with the Dandies.

Gairloch in April to play golf,eat/drink shite and recover after London.

Houston in July to see my Dad, looking forward to doing all the tourist shoite there. Anyone been to NASA before?

Gran Canaria in November.

Forgot Dublin in June with Scotland and hopefully a trip or 2 away with the Dandies.

I went to NASA last year.

It was alright, but I got bored pretty fast. Place could do with a right good dusting.

There's also a space shuttle sitting in the car park being painted (although, it'll probably be finished by the time you arrive).

Thought Dallas, Austin & San Antonio were all better than Houston.

It's also a little known fact that they built an Alamo in San Antonio in tribute to the (superior) one in Paisley.

It was alright, but I got bored pretty fast. Place could do with a right good dusting.

There's also a space shuttle sitting in the car park being painted (although, it'll probably be finished by the time you arrive).

Was helluva underwhelming IMO too. Looking at a bit of rock from the moon should have been interesting given where it had come from, but it was very mehhhh.

I was in Houston for work a couple of years ago and used some of my time off to visit NASA. Big let down for me. It looks like it's not been updated for about 20 years so all the interactive games for kids etc are on old Spectrum type antiques! Some interesting bits but on the whole it felt a bit neglected for such a big attraction. I spent a Saturday morning downtown which was strange - it's like a ghost town amongst the sky scrapers as nobody lives there, only offices. Discovery green had a wee buzz about it though and I just sat on the grass perving on a yoga class.

I'm currently trying to plan a honeymoon for a couple of weeks in May/June. We visited travel agents for the first time in our lives at the weekend. Trailfinders were spot on and the girl we got was pretty knowledgable (in terms of what they have in their own brochures I guess) and planned out an amazing trip. New York for 3 nights, Honolulu for 2 nights, Maui (smaller island in Hawaii) for 7 nights and then 2 nights in San Francisco on the way home. All basic hotels etc apart from the week on Maui. Sounded brilliant until she told us the price came to almost 7 grand!

Also priced up Dubai and Mauritius but that's not really what we are after so we need to start again. Anyone got any suggestions? Has to have a few nights in a cool city before a week chilling in luxury to keep future Mrs Hope happy. Where could we combine somewhere like Bali with? Or somewhere closer to home like Montenegro could be a winner.

Also went into Barrhead travel in Union Sq. Never again, wifie didn't have a clue and was only interested in selling us a cruise.

I was in Houston for work a couple of years ago and used some of my time off to visit NASA. Big let down for me. It looks like it's not been updated for about 20 years so all the interactive games for kids etc are on old Spectrum type antiques! Some interesting bits but on the whole it felt a bit neglected for such a big attraction. I spent a Saturday morning downtown which was strange - it's like a ghost town amongst the sky scrapers as nobody lives there, only offices. Discovery green had a wee buzz about it though and I just sat on the grass perving on a yoga class.

I'm currently trying to plan a honeymoon for a couple of weeks in May/June. We visited travel agents for the first time in our lives at the weekend. Trailfinders were spot on and the girl we got was pretty knowledgable (in terms of what they have in their own brochures I guess) and planned out an amazing trip. New York for 3 nights, Honolulu for 2 nights, Maui (smaller island in Hawaii) for 7 nights and then 2 nights in San Francisco on the way home. All basic hotels etc apart from the week on Maui. Sounded brilliant until she told us the price came to almost 7 grand!

Also priced up Dubai and Mauritius but that's not really what we are after so we need to start again. Anyone got any suggestions? Has to have a few nights in a cool city before a week chilling in luxury to keep future Mrs Hope happy. Where could we combine somewhere like Bali with? Or somewhere closer to home like Montenegro could be a winner.

Also went into Barrhead travel in Union Sq. Never again, wifie didn't have a clue and was only interested in selling us a cruise.

Aberdeen - New York - San Jose, Costa Rica - Aberdeen. Less than £800. Then you'll need accommodation obviously.

Honestly chum, don't go wasting huge amounts of money on a very impressive honeymoon. You'll only add it to the list of regrets once you split up.

Camping holiday in Ballater shall suffice. Watch the locals and the squaddies knock the shit out of each other and then a moonlit fuck on the banks of the Dee.

Job done.

Sounds like not enough time in a couple of places and too much time in an airport/plane to me.

Why nae do a week each in New York then Miami or something similar. Going somewhere for a couple of days seems pointless.

I have a free pass to go to NASA anytime I want. Got it from my pal Buzz when we travelled together a few years ago.

Thought Dallas, Austin & San Antonio were all better than Houston.

It's also a little known fact that they built an Alamo in San Antonio in tribute to the (superior) one in Paisley.

I'll be going to Dallas in March/April 2016, but this thread is for 2015 holidays.

I'll holla nearer the time.

Aberdeen - New York - San Jose, Costa Rica - Aberdeen. Less than £800. Then you'll need accommodation obviously.

Sounds interesting, I hadn't looked at Central America yet.

Honestly chum, don't go wasting huge amounts of money on a very impressive honeymoon. You'll only add it to the list of regrets once you split up.

Camping holiday in Ballater shall suffice. Watch the locals and the squaddies knock the shit out of each other and then a moonlit fuck on the banks of the Dee.

Job done.

Ok, I'll book a campsite in Ballater then I'll come back nearer the time for advice on how to make my marriage last more than 3 days.

Sounds like not enough time in a couple of places and too much time in an airport/plane to me.

Why nae do a week each in New York then Miami or something similar. Going somewhere for a couple of days seems pointless.

I have a free pass to go to NASA anytime I want. Got it from my pal Buzz when we travelled together a few years ago.

Agree to a point, we were perhaps trying to cram too much in on that Hawaii one. However, when visiting a city, I think 2 full days is enough to get a good feel of the place.

Totally agree - you need more than 2 days in San francisco for a start. Great city. And from what I hear, more time in NY.

Although, I thought Miami was an overpriced shit hole tbh

Sounds interesting, I hadn't looked at Central America yet.

Ok, I'll book a campsite in Ballater then I'll come back nearer the time for advice on how to make my marriage last more than 3 days.

Agree to a point, we were perhaps trying to cram too much in on that Hawaii one. However, when visiting a city, I think 2 full days is enough to get a good feel of the place.

Trust me chum, no need to play at being Billy Big Bollocks and throwing the cash around, it'll end in tears.

If she's shallow enough to dump you because camping's not good enough, get rid.

Totally agree - you need more than 2 days in San francisco for a start. Great city. And from what I hear, more time in NY.

Although, I thought Miami was an overpriced shit hole tbh

Well to be honest some folk spe d a lifetime in one place and dinna exorer their own doorstep.

Depends on your itinerary.

But realistically you can still get the NY experience in two days (,as long as you are willing to sacrifice some stuff,and prioritise)

Don't think there's anything wrong g withstopoff s as long as its well thought out

Well to be honest some folk spe d a lifetime in one place and dinna exorer their own doorstep.

Depends on your itinerary.

But realistically you can still get the NY experience in two days (,as long as you are willing to sacrifice some stuff,and prioritise)

Don't think there's anything wrong g withstopoff s as long as its well thought out

Just going from what I've been told re NY. We stopped off in San francisco for 3 nights a couple of years back, which was really 1 evening and 2 full days. It wasn't enough for me. Great city.

i've been to NYC several times, and you'll get to some of the highlights in a couple/few days.

and if you're willing to sacrifice some sleep, nosying around at night is worth it.

it's a beautiful city. and lots of explore. but if you really want to scratch a bit below the surface, you should probably spend a bit longer there. you'll leave still wanting more.

why not save yourself the flights cross-country and just move about on the eastern seaboard? Boston is definitely worth a visit. as is Washington. some of the southern cities like Savannah and Charleston would be a completely different feel.

Just going from what I've been told re NY. We stopped off in San francisco for 3 nights a couple of years back, which was really 1 evening and 2 full days. It wasn't enough for me. Great city.

Its never enough when its a great city; I completely agree.

But depending how far you are from home how like you are to return and the respective merits of your first choice destination compared to those in between then sometimes it is worth cutting short the time at location in favour of others

i've been to NYC several times, and you'll get to some of the highlights in a couple/few days.

and if you're willing to sacrifice some sleep, nosying around at night is worth it.

it's a beautiful city. and lots of explore. but if you really want to scratch a bit below the surface, you should probably spend a bit longer there. you'll leave still wanting more.

why not save yourself the flights cross-country and just move about on the eastern seaboard? Boston is definitely worth a visit. as is Washington. some of the southern cities like Savannah and Charleston would be a completely different feel.

Yeah Boston is ace.

As is cape town and the new england are in general.

I'd like to try out long island way next.