robbojunior Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 If people want to leave early then fair enough, doesn't make them any less of a fan. I just don't understand it myself. I can't think of any other form of entertainment that you pay for and leave early. Do folk leave the cinema or theatre early? (I suppose if it's a shite show maybe). Or a gig? Do folk go to see their favourite band and leave early to beat the traffic? I just can't understand why you'd want to personally. But as I say, up to them. Link to comment
Queensferry COYR Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I travel to every game from South Queensferry by car and never leave early, even though it would give me a head start and make it easier to get past the harbour. I pay for a season ticket at want to cheer my team for the full game. 1 Link to comment
mavv1903 Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 cannae understand leaving at 3-1 when chance we could score, a few folk on our bus left and missed both our goals nae fucking luck.... Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 cannae understand leaving at 3-1 when chance we could score, a few folk on our bus left and missed both our goals nae fucking luck.... Especially weird if you're on a bus… You're not leaving until everyone gets back, might as well stay to the end... Link to comment
Josh83 Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 People give over their hard earned money to watch the dons if they want to boo at half time or leave early what's the problem with that? They have paid there money like everyone else Link to comment
fifered Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 The uberfans are out in force on this thread. I mind being in the rds the game we were getting pummelled by celtic, think it was 5 at half time, mcgeady did his little turn that the pundits wanked over for about a year afterwards. A load of folk stood up and left when celtic scored their 5th to be shouted at and abused by a load of super fans for not staying. Who cares what anyone else does, leave don't leave, I couldn't care less about it. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 Left plenty of times when we're getting beat, whether to catch an earlier train at away games or just because I don't want to stand and watch us lose in the cold. You don't have to make yourself a martyr just so you can have bragging points over other Dandies. Wasn't there yesterday, would have hoped I wouldn't have left by the time it went 3-2 but can't say for sure. Most important thing is that the boys did a tremendous job to get a point in the end. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 Don't think there's many folk saying they're uber fans or saying folk are not proper fans if they leave early. Most just saying they don't understand why you'd want to. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I don't think I've ever stayed to the final whistle. Lucky if I stay to the half time whistle. 1 Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 Don't think there's many folk saying they're uber fans or saying folk are not proper fans if they leave early. Most just saying they don't understand why you'd want to.I didn't really read the thread but was more responding to the OP. Rewind the clock to Parkhead when we lost 9-0, would you have stayed until the end? Just curious more than anything. Anyways, I can completely understand why people would leave early, whatever the score was. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I travel to every game from South Queensferry by car and never leave early, even though it would give me a head start and make it easier to get past the harbour. I pay for a season ticket at want to cheer my team for the full game.Definite Superfan. Good on yi pal, that's one hoor of a journey. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I done it once against Dundee under Paterson as we were 0-2 down inside the first half. Finished 3-3 ironically that day as well.#superfanstreakI done it once against Dundee under Paterson as we were 0-2 down inside the first half. Finished 3-3 ironically that day as well.#superfanstreakI mind that game. 2-0 down, 3-2 up then a draw I've left heaps of games early. Arsed watching a shite game then sitting in traffic. I haven't left early once this season though... Credit to the Dons for that 1 Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 My suggestion for the new stadia.Pound activated heated seats. Pound for 15 minutes. Money spinner.Great idea. I have a trick with golf range tokens that could save u a fortune over say a 10 year period. I had never left early until Hamilton away this season. I was dying for a piss with 5 mins to go and couldn't b arsed going all the way back up to my seat afterwards when we were getting pumped anyway. I am a thrifty gent and value for money is very important. The chance of seeing a late goal is my cover story. Each to their own though. Link to comment
LeDandy Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I watched the whole match right until the end on REDtv , Fuck that nae watching the whole match shit , poofy fuckers of fans , mind you i did miss 4 minutes of the first half when i went for a shite and 5 minutes of the 2nd half when the wife ordered me to empty the dishwasher , but fuck min , I was there til the end ! Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I left early and I'll tell you for why , Our bus was overcrowded with folk standing it was made clear that when all seats were filled post game no other cunt wad getting on, and those left could go fuck themselves,Also anyone that pays the entrance is entitled shout what they want , within the law, they can leave when they want if they miss a goal lime I did then that's just tough luck. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I didn't really read the thread but was more responding to the OP. Rewind the clock to Parkhead when we lost 9-0, would you have stayed until the end? Just curious more than anything. Anyways, I can completely understand why people would leave early, whatever the score was. Personally aye i would have. I can understand why folk wouldn't. Guess maybe even just the hope of scoring one goal, and maybe the opportunity to vent my frustration at the final whistle, and maybe just so as not to give the celtic fans the satisfaction of folk leaving, and maybe just to see the players reactions, added to the fact its my day out to watch the football, a combination of all the above. I remember as a kid being at the football with my dad's mate and he insisted we left early in a game against hearts when we were 1-0 down (and I couldn't say no as I was too young and he was driving), and if memory serves we won 4-1 with all goals in the last 10 mins - we missed them all. That probably set my mentality of never leaving a game early. 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 Left early at this one, Ecstatic and slightly gutted at the same time . 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I paid tenner or whatever to get in to Huntly v Aberdeen pre season a while back... game kicked off and I left the stadium. I wanted another beer.Lasted about 15mins the Brighton friendly . Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I've never made it in a couple of times never mind leaving early. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 Left early at this one, Ecstatic and slightly gutted at the same time . Unfortunate like. Section Y that day was explosive. Massive piley ons. There was bodies all over the place. Toon afterwards was a blur.I was in the Y . Link to comment
Guest Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 People been leaving early to beat the traffic since the feckin 80's.... get over it. Every single club in the land have supporters (loyal ones at that) who sometimes leave a few mins early.What I don't particularly like is folk leaving 15-20 mins before the end as they can't stomach seeing the team getting beat. Was it Celtic a few years back at home, and they were something like 4-0 up after half time, and hundreds upped and left. Shocking. I often leave when the additional time board goes up, particularly if the game is in the bag. If it's tight, I'll generally stay. Getting away from the beach is a ball ache at the best of times. If you're walking or catching the bus, doesn't really impact you. Link to comment
ebbe Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 People leaving early or staying til the death doesn't put me up or down. What does piss me off though is the lack of support for the team. Flying, top of the league, the most exciting campaign in about 25 years yet a home game to Dundee an extra 7,000 fans swan into the ground and just expect a comfortable win. The amount of stick thrown at the players, goodwillie in particular was a joke. Really don't understand how we can have the best travelling support in the country yet have easily the worst at home. 3 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 People leaving early or staying til the death doesn't put me up or down. What does piss me off though is the lack of support for the team. Flying, top of the league, the most exciting campaign in about 25 years yet a home game to Dundee an extra 7,000 fans swan into the ground and just expect a comfortable win. The amount of stick thrown at the players, goodwillie in particular was a joke. Really don't understand how we can have the best travelling support in the country yet have easily the worst at home.Have a plus one for saving my thumbs the effort In addition to the abuse also heard one plum scream that he hadn't come to the match to watch us lose- like anyone had that in mind as their desired outcome when buying a ticket Link to comment
fifered Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 People been leaving early to beat the traffic since the feckin 80's.... get over it. Every single club in the land have supporters (loyal ones at that) who sometimes leave a few mins early.What I don't particularly like is folk leaving 15-20 mins before the end as they can't stomach seeing the team getting beat. Was it Celtic a few years back at home, and they were something like 4-0 up after half time, and hundreds upped and left. Shocking. I often leave when the additional time board goes up, particularly if the game is in the bag. If it's tight, I'll generally stay. Getting away from the beach is a ball ache at the best of times. If you're walking or catching the bus, doesn't really impact you.I already brought the celtic game up. Fuck all shocking about it. I never left but if someone doesn't want to watch the tims shite all over their team to the tune of ira songs why is that 'shocking'? Link to comment
RUL Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 There is a big difference between walking out on our current team and the mongos of the last 20 years. 3 Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I sometimes leave a game 5 mins early - I like to kid myself on that Im getting one over on everyone else by getting on the road / to the bar before the masses Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 the mongos of the last 20 years. An excellent summary of Aberdeen teams of recent decades. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 18, 2015 Share Posted January 18, 2015 I've never made it in a couple of times never mind leaving early. *cough* I raise you Tynecastle semi final *cough*. Also Motherwell.Comatose in the social club toilets. Trap 2 I think.People leaving early or staying til the death doesn't put me up or down. What does piss me off though is the lack of support for the team. Flying, top of the league, the most exciting campaign in about 25 years yet a home game to Dundee an extra 7,000 fans swan into the ground and just expect a comfortable win. The amount of stick thrown at the players, goodwillie in particular was a joke. Really don't understand how we can have the best travelling support in the country yet have easily the worst at home.I'm all for higher attendances. But like you say, we've some huge smegheads in our home support. Away fans, best in the country. Home, I sometimes wish the fairweather fans would just stay away. Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted January 19, 2015 Share Posted January 19, 2015 I usually leave about 5 minutes before the end. I do that whether winning or losing. Been to every home game this season and a few aways. Doesn't make me any less of a fan as far as I'm concerned. Sometimes I have a good reason for it, sometimes I'm just cold. I'm not a fan of trying to run back to the car through massive crowds.For those people moaning about it. Here's the flip side. I purposely chose an aisle seat for my ST. Causes minimal disruption to others if I decide to leave a few minutes early. What about the number of times I have to move to get my view blocked from people coming in 5/10/15 minutes late. Or the people who get up during the game to go get a cup of tea or whatever.Would I leave early if the game was 2-2 and could go either way, probably not. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 19, 2015 Share Posted January 19, 2015 I have left heaps of games early. Sometimes the appeal of a pint in a warm boozer beats watching fitba at Pittodrie. And I wouldn't give a fuck if The Dons were thumping Real Madrid in the Champions League semi final. If I want to traipse down the Y stairs and up Merkland Road before abody else, that's my prerogative. Introduce 'pipes heated seats and I may change my mind. Fuck, I might even sit doon. Link to comment