Henry Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 The father of a ten-year-old boy left with a broken jaw and missing teeth after an Old Firm bottle attack has spoken out about the assault. Kieran Duffy was on a Rangers bus was struck by a bottle thrown by rival fans before Sunday's powderkeg clash. His father, Robert Duffy, told how his son swallowed one tooth and there was blood everywhere after the incident. Mr Duffy said: "The shock of seeing your own kid in that mess knocked me for six. I was nearly fainting. "I just held the wee man. I had him in my arms trying my best. Someone must have phoned an ambulance, the police were there quite quick." "I would say it is a cowardly act. He is a coward. They are not real football fans. I am hopeful that the real football fans in that group tell someone who was responsible for this." Kieran, who was on the bus with his father and twin brother Declan, said: "I was scared, I didn't know what had happened. "I looked at my brother and saw he was crying. My hand was covered in blood and I realised something was wrong." "I swallowed a tooth and one of them was cracked in two." The incident happened on Nutberry Court, near Cathcart Road in Glasgow’s south side, before the weekend’s league cup semi-final at Hampden. The attack took place when a Rangers minibus travelling to the game was surrounded by Celtic fans hurling abuse at around 12.30pm. A door on the minibus was opened and a bottle thrown inside. It struck the young supporter who needed hospital treatment as a result. He was taken to Glasgow’s Yorkhill Hospital where he received treatment for a broken jaw and three missing teeth before he was later released. Officers have now launched an investigation to catch those responsible. The man who threw the bottle is described as white, 5ft 11in height, of heavy build and was wearing green clothing and possibly a white beanie hat. Kenneth MacEwan, Cathcart CID, said on Monday: "This was an appalling assault on the boy who was with his dad and fellow supporters going to his first Celtic v Rangers game. "He never got to the match but instead was detained overnight in hospital and has a facial injury and teeth missing. "We do believe that this was football related. "Yes, it would appear that the bottle was deliberately thrown at the mini bus, however, we don't think the boy was specifically targeted as such. "Obviously Cathcart Road was very busy at this time so plenty people would have been about when this happened. I would appeal to them or indeed any of the group which we believe the man was with, to contact police." Police made 37 arrests over trouble related to Sunday's Old Firm clash. Celtic and Rangers clashed at Hampden in Sunday's league cup semi-final in the first meeting between the two sides in almost three years. Police confirmed on Monday they made 37 arrests in relation to the powderkeg match. A total of 23 of those arrested are expected to appear at Glasgow Sheriff Court on Monday, 12 of those for alleged sectarian breach of the peace, A further 11 people have been reported to the procurator fiscal and three were handed fixed penalty notices. 10 year old boy bottled. Link to comment
zander Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 All part of the gallous weegie banter that is so dearly missed.Kids getting bottled is all part of the biggest show on earth. Link to comment
tup Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 I'm short on sympathy for this fledgling hun bastard. You fly with the crows and all that. 5 Link to comment
Henry Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 You do have to question the mentality of the fither, taking two bairns to that abomination. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 Apparently it is true that Celtic do prefer the young boys to have no teeth & a mouth like a silk purse. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 I'm short on sympathy for this fledgling hun bastard. You fly with the crows and all that. FFS tup you heartless bastard.It's just a young loon. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 Violent aftermath of Old Firm violence embodied in bloodied face of James Martin, now lying sedated in hospital23:13, 2 February 2015By Bart Dickson AN UNPROVOKED attack at the hands of two thugs knocked 37-year-old James unconscious outside the pub he had watched the game in only hours before.3717 SharesShareTweet+1Email Pressteam Scotland James Martin lays sedated in hospital after being subjected to a horrific unprovoked attack at the pub. Wife Laurette claims the 'drunken thugs' were Celtic fans.A FATHER of four lies under sedation in hospital after being brutally beaten on the night of the Old Firm game.Two thugs launched an unprovoked attack on Rangers fan James Martin, 37, outside the pub where he had watched the match a few hours earlier.James’s wife Laurette said he was knocked unconscious then kicked in the head repeatedly as he lay helpless.Doctors sedated lorry driver James after giving him a brain scan.It’s feared he may have suffered long-term damage, and he will have more tests on his brain in the coming days. Laurette Martin has pleaded for help in tracking down the "scum" who battered her husband Jim He also has a broken jaw which will need surgery, broken teeth and cuts and bruises to his face.Laurette, 38, who released photos of James in hospital, claims the “drunken thugs” responsible were Celtic fans.She released photos of her husband lying in hospital and urged the public to help police catch the attackers.James was assaulted at about 10.40pm on Sunday as he walked past McAlpine’s Bar in Newarthill, Lanarkshire.His son Jordan, 17, was with him and was also targeted. Sam Hardie/Pressteam Scotland McAlpine's Bar in Newarthill, Lanarkshire James had been in the pub earlier, watching his team lose to Celtic in the first Old Firm match for three years.Laurette said he went home to his family after the game but popped out later to go to the local shop and was attacked on his way home.“James was approached by two guys,” said Laurette.“One of them asked for a cigarette and he gave him one.“The other guy then attacked my husband by punching him."He slipped on ice with that punch and was knocked out instantly."The guy proceeded to kick James repeatedly while the other guy attacked Jordan. Pressteam Scotland Couple: Laurette says Jim suffered a broken jaw, broken teeth, and cuts and bruises to his face “Jordan fought back and managed to escape and ran to passing cars for help. It just so happened his aunt was going to work and he stopped her.”Laurette ran to the scene and James was taken to hospital.She claimed: “The guys who attacked him were Celtic supporters.“My husband likes Rangers but doesn’t take it seriously like most do. He doesn’t wear strips or make kids wear strips.”Laurette appealed to local people to tell police if a “friend, son, brother or boyfriend” came home with blood on them on Sunday night.She added: “It would be mostly on their shoes, from kicking my husband’s head repeatedly in front of his son.“Do the right thing and call the police. These guys deserve punishment.”Police said: “Inquiries are continuing.” Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 If they weren't fighting over football they'd be fighting over the colour of the moon...Weegie filth will always be at war with each other...they are Scotland's shame. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 We need the fixture back though.It's been bliss not having it for a few years hasn't it. I actually thought there would have been more trouble. Had it been a closer game or bank holiday weekend am sure there would have. Feel sorry for the wee lad above though. If you swallow a tooth does that mean you miss out on tooth fairy cash. That would rub salt into the wound. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 It's been bliss not having it for a few years hasn't it.I actually thought there would have been more trouble. Had it been a closer game or bank holiday weekend am sure there would have.Feel sorry for the wee lad above though. If you swallow a tooth does that mean you miss out on tooth fairy cash. That would rub salt into the wound. I thought the tooth fairy gave out skag in the weege, nae cash? Mum and Dad will chase it, the wee one will have to do without. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 3, 2015 Share Posted February 3, 2015 If a hun fan was to put a tooth under his/her/it's pillow at night. The only thing he/she/it would find under his/her/it's pillow in the morning would be...... A rotten tooth Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 If a hun fan was to put a tooth under his/her/it's pillow at night. The only thing he/she/it would find under his/her/it's pillow in the morning would be...... A rotten tooth Or an out of date voucher for Sports Direct Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 Horrible news about the wee man and other bloke hospitalised over a game of football. Mirror that with the aftermath of Saturdays game. We were able to walk back to the train station, big groups of Dandies, passing United fans in smaller groups without any issue at all. Fathers not having to worry about their kids getting a kicking etc. Old firm scum. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 The only chance of a scrap on Saturday would have been between Aberdeen fans.We have some knobs in our support. I used to think it was a younger generation - tends to be 25-35 year olds that are the biggest shower of pricks on the bigger away days. Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 The only chance of a scrap on Saturday would have been between Aberdeen fans.We have some knobs in our support. I used to think it was a younger generation - tends to be 25-35 year olds that are the biggest shower of pricks on the bigger away days.Pre-match I saw a group of Dans fans almost get in to a fight with another group of Dons fans. The younger ones initiated it. Link to comment
360 Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 I walked up the road and some hero decided to barge me and the wife out the way when I was on the phone to a poster on here about where they were, walked straight into us with the old 'I'm hard as fuck shoulder' - I swiftly told him I was Aiberdeen then hegot a torrent of abuse, and challenged to a wee go and that I'd smash his teeth in, the hero kept walking and never once looked back. Fucking hardy bastard. He obviously had bigger fish to fry. Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 He obviously had bigger fish to fry. Just as well coz he'd have got battered. With apologies to Graham. Link to comment
Henry Posted February 17, 2015 Share Posted February 17, 2015 The Scottish Professional Football League is unlikely to take action against Celtic and Rangers over the behaviour of their fans at the recent League Cup semi-final.Twelve supporters were arrested for alleged sectarian offences at the game.But the SPFL say both clubs did all they could to avoid any offensive behaviour in the match at Hampden.And they revealed, as yet, there is no evidence of any breaches to the SPFL's rules by Celtic or Rangers.A spokesman for the SPFL said: "Official reports from the match are still awaited."However, it is clear from information already received that all parties prepared properly and thoroughly for the match and, to date, we have not seen any evidence of any breach of SPFL rules by either club."Celtic ran out 2-0 winners in the game, courtesy of goals from Leigh Griffiths and Kris Commons, to set up a League Cup final meeting with Dundee United. Shockerooni! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 17, 2015 Share Posted February 17, 2015 Whoa! No action taken against the clubs by the top body for football in the land? Astonishing! Whodathunkit. Link to comment
360 Posted February 17, 2015 Share Posted February 17, 2015 It's only a couple of songs lads Link to comment