ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 i was just thinking now we have Goodwillie, Rooney, McLean, Hayes, and Pawlett as atatcking options backed up by Shank the tank,how does this compare with the Shearer, Paatelainen, Booth and Jess era and the McDougall, Black , Hewitt, Weir era. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 i was just thinking now we have Goodwillie, Rooney, McLean, Hayes, and Pawlett as atatcking options backed up by Shank the tank,how does this compare with the Shearer, Paatelainen, Booth and Jess era and the McDougall, Black , Hewitt, Weir era.We had strikers at the club before Eric Black too, ericblack4boss min. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 McKay, Robb, Forrest, Harper and Graham deserve a wee mention too Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Author Share Posted February 13, 2015 aye but was on about strikers of a particluar era, i could also add Archibald, harper, Mcghee and Strachan if that makes you happy chief. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Author Share Posted February 13, 2015 plus the mid 80s is when i first saw our great team play so unfair to judge on those before Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Frank McDougal was the ultimate striker, Joe Harper as well. Saw Frank score 4 against Celtic, he was some finisher. Link to comment
Localfitbafan Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Peter Weir was unplayable on his day. Lost count of the amount of time he turned and aging Danny McGrain, Walter Kidd of Hearts and Alan Senddon of Hibs inside out before supplying a great cross for a striker to get on the end of. During his time there were good goal scorers playing alongside him but there job was made infinately easier due to the quality of his play Link to comment
paddy Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Mackie, Miller, Paton, McDonald. The golden boys. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Peter Weir was unplayable on his day. Lost count of the amount of time he turned and aging Danny McGrain, Walter Kidd of Hearts and Alan Senddon of Hibs inside out before supplying a great cross for a striker to get on the end of. During his time there were good goal scorers playing alongside him but there job was made infinately easier due to the quality of his play Weir is my favourite all time Dons player, had amazing talent that was never fully recognised in Scotland, think he was only capped a couple times. I was speaking more about proper strikers in my last post but as far as wingers go no one could touch Weir on his game. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Both great strikers. Harper never in a million years looked like a football player but jeez he was good. Did exactly what he was employed to do. A song was even written about him. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=77tBQEDEnV8 Had a great song as well!! He plays at Pittodrie just North of Kincorth. Link to comment
The Brush Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Davie Robb, nae as prolific as Harper but canna half tell a good story !! http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/cult-hero-davie-robb-recalls-a-remarkable-career-1-3341404 Link to comment
oilcat Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Davie Robb, nae as prolific as Harper but canna half tell a good story !! http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/cult-hero-davie-robb-recalls-a-remarkable-career-1-3341404Aye... We dont need Eusabio, cos weve got Davie Robb Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Davie Robb, nae as prolific as Harper but canna half tell a good story !! http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/cult-hero-davie-robb-recalls-a-remarkable-career-1-3341404Is that you Davie ?? Harper, Robb & Jarvie Black, McGhee & Weir - Best for me Black, McDougall & Hewitt Jess, Booth & Shearer Shearer & Dodds then 20 years later Rooney Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Amazing to hear that the ref (a celtic fan) used to travel up to Pittodrie on the supporters bus. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Wouldn't them lads what won them European things be, by default, the best? Did anyone ever see Eric Black with a hair out of place, btw? Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Wonder what Eric is up to these days, best header of a ball I've ever seen, awesome player. Link to comment
360 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Wonder what Eric is up to these days, best header of a ball I've ever seen, awesome player. Under 15s coach at BORO. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Wonder what Eric is up to these days, best header of a ball I've ever seen, awesome player. Incredible ability to 'hang in the air' had Eric, simply by holding onto the shoulders of the nearest defender. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Under 15s coach at BORO. I don't follow the lower leagues, how are they doing these days? Pity he's had to sink so low for employment, lets hope better times lay ahead. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Incredible ability to 'hang in the air' had Eric, simply by holding onto the shoulders of the nearest defender. I'm not so sure he had his hand on any shoulders, he seemed to float and wait for the ball, was levitating long before David Blaine. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Nike were going to sponsor him just before he got injured, so they went with some basketball guy instead. Link to comment
The Brush Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Is that you Davie ?? Harper, Robb & Jarvie Black, McGhee & Weir - Best for me Black, McDougall & Hewitt Jess, Booth & Shearer Shearer & Dodds then 20 years later RooneyHa ha afraid not Robbie, probably go with your shout of Black McGee &WeirThere's just something about the first squad you see play and used to love watching Robb Harper Graham as a kid Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 McDougall would have been lethal alongside Weir and Black, I'd have him before McGhee every day of the week, he also wouldn't make up stories about fans spitting on him. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Author Share Posted February 13, 2015 is Eric not still at Wigan or did he leave with Rosler, anyway for me whilst Black and McDougall were superb, as a four way attacking threat surely Booth, Jess Shearer and Mixu were the best you could perm any of the quartet as a pairing or as a three or even all four together, they were interchangeable in any formation, and lets not forget they were backed up by Mason, and richardson for me they just shade it but for the avoidance of doubt Eric Black for me is still my favourite Don of all time. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 If you compare this fine team, which it is against another fine team in my eyes then it's very close. Snelders>BrownWright>Logan, Mcleish>Taylor, Reynolds>Irvine, Mckimmie>ConsidineJack=Grant, Richardson>Flood, Bett>McLeanHayes>Mason, Jess>McGinnShearer>RooneySubs:Watt>Langfield, Considine>Smith, Connor>Robson, Booth>Goodwillie, Smith>Kane, Paatelainen>Shankland, Pawlett>Roddie The old squad just shades it in my eyes, even if they did win fuck all.Loved watching the 92/93 team. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 If you compare this fine team, which it is against another fine team in my eyes then it's very close. Snelders>BrownWright>Logan, Mcleish>Taylor, Reynolds>Irvine, Mckimmie>ConsidineJack=Grant, Richardson>Flood, Bett>McLeanHayes>Mason, Jess>McGinnShearer>RooneySubs:Watt>Langfield, Considine>Smith, Connor>Robson, Booth>Goodwillie, Smith>Kane, Paatelainen>Shankland, Pawlett>Roddie The old squad just shades it in my eyes, even if they did win fuck all.Loved watching the 92/93 team. Hayes better than Mason?! Not a chance Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Hayes better than Mason?! Not a chanceIt was close for me.Mason was my favorite player. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 13, 2015 Author Share Posted February 13, 2015 Have to agree mason could play anywhere rb, rm, cm, striker, in the hole, and every game every position, he had one thought in mind , get forward attack. attack, attack, That's what makes him my second favourite all time Don. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Win the title and this team will be better than all but one in AFC history Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Have to agree mason could play anywhere rb, rm, cm, striker, in the hole, and every game every position, he had one thought in mind , get forward attack. attack, attack, That's what makes him my second favourite all time Don. who was your favourite m8? Link to comment