Cross Border Cup Competition

It would prove that second tier English footy is vastly superior to top tier Scottish fitba.

No wonder you're all against the idea...

Since second tier English footy wouldn't be involved and neither would Scottish top tier footy, I hardly see how that can happen.

The suggestion is for NI and Welsh teams to be added to the Challenge cup along with EPL Under 20 sides.

(Its a stupid idea as others have said.)

The priorities of the top clubs in the SPL is

1. Money

2. Money

3. Money etc etc

They don't really give a shit about the fans views. They are still messing about with numbers of teams in the top division ffs. Einstein is quoted as sayng "The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results"

What exactly has come out of the recent meeting? What i'm hearing is

Facial recognition cameras to snoop on fans because a couple of idiots have set flares off. Yeah cause thats what we need. More cameras in fans faces

Airport scanners in grounds to search fans.

Expand the league to 16 teams (we have already 10 then 12 the 12 then a split so be as well try 16. will the 16 have a split? Does anyone care?)

Cross border cup competition. What for? Wil this attract more fans? Will it raise more TV money?

There is no point in changing anything until they all decide exactly what it is they want to achieve long term. I wont be holding my breath

I'm probably opening myself up for a massive woosh here, but we definitely won one of the Sky masters tournaments. Willie Miller was playing, of course.

They maybe won sort of division but they definitely never won the Masters tournament. They never even made the final.

It was 2000 when we ruled the world again.

For some reason we were in the north east masters against Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Sunderland, rather than in the Scottish one (which was Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Dundee Utd).

We lost 1-0 to Sunderland, thumped Newcastle 6-1, then drew with Middlesborough, finishing second in the group ahead of Sunderland on goal difference on account we had skelped the toon.

In the final, urged on by the Newcastle and Sunderland fans in the crowd, we handed Middlesborough their arse 4-2, and Willie Miller again was lifting a trophy.

Essentially the team was all from the 80s - mainly the Gothenburg lads plus Jazzer, Mason and McKimmie.

In the grand final we beat Liverpool 2-1, then something happened against Rangers which doesn't need to be shared, and that was that (was only 3 teams in a group in the final tournament).

The next year they let us play in the Scottish one, but the other three teams all had younger players and guys that had only been retired a year or two, while we were still rolling out the Gothenburg boys who were about 20 years older than them. Youth sadly prevailed.

After that we stopped entering (I think we stopped being invited because sky were only interested in the old firm and Edinburgh two so they could get their wee derbies) though we did enter once more - 2005. Can't remember who played for us that year but I remember Lee Richardson, Eoin Jess and Dean Windass were all lined up to play, but in the end I don't think any of them made it.

We never entered again until eventually sky realised it was shit without Aberdeen so didn't bother with a Scottish masters at all.

For some reason we were in the north east masters against Newcastle, Middlesbrough and Sunderland, rather than in the Scottish one (which was Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Dundee Utd).

We lost 1-0 to Sunderland, thumped Newcastle 6-1, then drew with Middlesborough, finishing second in the group ahead of Sunderland on goal difference on account we had skelped the toon.

In the final, urged on by the Newcastle and Sunderland fans in the crowd, we handed Middlesborough their arse 4-2, and Willie Miller again was lifting a trophy.

Essentially the team was all from the 80s - mainly the Gothenburg lads plus Jazzer, Mason and McKimmie.

In the grand final we beat Liverpool 2-1, then something happened against Rangers which doesn't need to be shared, and that was that (was only 3 teams in a group in the final tournament).

The next year they let us play in the Scottish one, but the other three teams all had younger players and guys that had only been retired a year or two, while we were still rolling out the Gothenburg boys who were about 20 years older than them. Youth sadly prevailed.

After that we stopped entering (I think we stopped being invited because sky were only interested in the old firm and Edinburgh two so they could get their wee derbies) though we did enter once more - 2005. Can't remember who played for us that year but I remember Lee Richardson, Eoin Jess and Dean Windass were all lined up to play, but in the end I don't think any of them made it.

We never entered again until eventually sky realised it was shit without Aberdeen so didn't bother with a Scottish masters at all.

Well that settles that then.

There needs to be a UK League, supplemented by regional leagues for the diddy clubs.

The 'We'll never win another European trophy if we play in a UK League' argument is pish, because the reality is that the way things stand we're never winning another European trophy. Clogging around in a backwater league like the SPFL might give us the opportunity to make the fringes of Euro competition in the form of play-offs, but as far as challenging for European silverware on our budget, with the players we can atttract, not going to happen.

Scotland... ABERDEEN... voted to be British, so what's the problem with playing in a British League, against better, more varied teams, for more money, in a better stadium, with modern facilities?

No fucking wonder the city can't even organise the building of a bypass.

Heids out of arses.

Betta togetha

We won it once. Still raging that there was nae open top bus parade or fuck all.

Took the fuzziness right oot ma baws that did!

No we didn't. We won a qualifying group.

So we won the North East qualifying group. In 2000 Nottingham Forrest beat Rangers in the grand final.

2001 and 2005 we finished bottom in the Scottish Masters.

No we didn't. We won a qualifying group.

So we won the North East qualifying group. In 2000 Nottingham Forrest beat Rangers in the grand final.

2001 and 2005 we finished bottom in the Scottish Masters.

Aye but we got a trophy 'n that.

They still talk about the triumph in the North-East of England.

After some deep as tup's pockets researching, I can confirm that you, we and them have won the Tennents' Sixes on 2 occasions each.

Tennents' Sixes

Founded 1984

Region Scotland (SFA)

Number of teams Usually 10

Current champions Partick Thistle

Most successful club(s) Aberdeen, Heart of Midlothian, Rangers (twice each)