Bluto10 Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 Best of the best. Top eateries.Best restaurants.Finest hotel mealsA1 cafes. I'll start with the worlds number one chip shop in my vast and extensive chippy experience. The Magpie,Whitby Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 Texas de Brazil, Orlando, for meat-eaters. Some of the best food you'll experience. If you're a vegetarian you might want to change your mind just so you can try this place. Seriously. Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 Best of the best. Top eateries.Best restaurants.Finest hotel mealsA1 cafes. I'll start with the worlds number one chip shop in my vast and extensive chippy experience. The Magpie,Whitby It's not even the best chipper in Whitby. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 Newmachar Fish BarChalmers Baker (Newmachar)Beekies NeukNewmachar Hotel All great places. World class no less. Link to comment
360 Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 I'll start with the worlds number one chip shop in my vast and extensive chippy experience. The Magpie,Whitby Never been in because it's always queued out the door Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 Newmachar Fish BarChalmers Baker (Newmachar)Beekies NeukNewmachar Hotel All great places. World class no less.We're now banned from going to Newmacher since one of the lads got caught there on backshift Davys in Bucksburn it is as that one next to the train station is shite. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 25, 2015 Author Share Posted February 25, 2015 Never been in because it's always queued out the doorHer nae wrong.Worth the wait tho. Cracking village min 360 on yer doorstep.Brilliant place. What's the highly regarded place just off of the road south? Never been like. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 25, 2015 Author Share Posted February 25, 2015 What would you add to a food thread given your vast and eventful o&g career cheese ball min? You must've been in som e decent foreign hostelries? Food ones that is. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 25, 2015 Author Share Posted February 25, 2015 Tip post big guy. I'll read it tomoz, sober. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 25, 2015 Share Posted February 25, 2015 You been to the Dyce one recently? Been taken over by an Aberdeen Rowdie, Dayts might know of him. An accomplished chef in his own right but has put his efforts into the Chipper game. Very good by all accounts. I haven't been in probably around a year. Used to quite regularly get banjoed in Spiders then smash a mock chop on the train into the big smoke. Willing to give it one more chance since your sound. If it's shite, I'll break your teeth. Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 You been to the Dyce one recently? Been taken over by an Aberdeen Rowdie, Dayts might know of him. An accomplished chef in his own right but has put his efforts into the Chipper game. Very good by all accounts. Admittedly the Dyce one has fair gone up in the world. I hit it over xmas and couldn't believe the difference. The chipper up here is called Frankies and is fully deserving of the title - UK's number one chipper. Superb quality. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 Vlado's on Swan Street in Richmond, Melbourne. Before the old guy passed away he wouldn't let you choose how to get your meat cooked, only the cut - because he knew best. He was right. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 So 'pipes, is Dale Winton deid? Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted February 26, 2015 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 26, 2015 Wendy's Is that some random Quine you've eaten Brian, or the food chain in the States? If the latter, I've always assumed (possibly wrongly) that they are at the cheap end of eateries but to be fair, I've never ventured into one Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 Is that some random Quine you've eaten Brian, or the food chain in the States? If the latter, I've always assumed (possibly wrongly) that they are at the cheap end of eateries but to be fair, I've never ventured into one Latter. Delicious, the way fast food was intended to be. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 Vlado's on Swan Street in Richmond, Melbourne. Before the old guy passed away he wouldn't let you choose how to get your meat cooked, only the cut - because he knew best. He was right. What you doing in Australia? Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 Newmachar Fish BarChalmers Baker (Newmachar)Beekies NeukNewmachar Hotel All great places. World class no less. This....... Best chipper in Aberdeen i reckon Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 You been to the Dyce one recently? Been taken over by an Aberdeen Rowdie, Dayts might know of him. An accomplished chef in his own right but has put his efforts into the Chipper game. Very good by all accounts. was the manny forrest who had it for years and it got really really shit...... used to give the quines a row for dolling out far too many chips. Aye its magic now, glad somebody took it on. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 This....... Best chipper in Aberdeen i reckon Link to comment
360 Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 I quite like the Ashvale in Portlethen. But then again, all the chippys in Boro are terrible, so I have no problems admitting that I am a philistine in this area. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 I Have an AB21 postcode the sign says shire but the postcode says ABZ Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 I Have an AB21 postcode the sign says shire but the postcode says ABZ The Buckie postcode is AB. Nice try. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 All I've saw is photographic evidence of his fish suppers. Properly crisped batter, served in a eye catching box with a wedge of lemon. Certainly looks better than the soggy effort davys pass off as cooked properly. Davys used to be decent 10 15 years ago, now it wouldnt even pass for dog food. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 We're now banned from going to Newmacher since one of the lads got caught there on backshift Davys in Bucksburn it is as that one next to the train station is shite. Davys is crap, I live beside it and avoid like the plague. The one next to Dyce railway station is under new ownership, a ex football lad and pal of mine owns it, he was Scottish chef of the year last year, was surprised he started a chipper but have heard it's quality, not been yet but have read good things about it from my mates on facers. Called Salt and sole now, I agree it was crap when it was the Osprey. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 You been to the Dyce one recently? Been taken over by an Aberdeen Rowdie, Dayts might know of him. An accomplished chef in his own right but has put his efforts into the Chipper game. Very good by all accounts. Hahaha, just read this after replying to Razor, yeah I do indeed know him, a mate of mine, been on many dons/scotland related excursions with him, good lad. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 26, 2015 Author Share Posted February 26, 2015 Kibelling is the equivalent over here.Fine stuff.But I do love a proper fish and chips; always load up on them when in Blighty.Salt an V on the chips.Just salt on the fish.Mush peas (optional)Mayo (mandatory) Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 Dayts you should run a chipper, gives the folk getting paid off a job Link to comment
tup Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 I've never had a fish supper in my life. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 26, 2015 Share Posted February 26, 2015 Asia Style. St Georges Road, Glasgow. Between Charing X and St George X. Just across the M8 from my former abode, hence I was a regular. Smallish place, basic decor (formica tables etc), "doesnt look like much" etc. However, its a Pan-Asian Taste Sensation. It used to be smaller, and so was often qued out the door, but they managed to expand next door and so its now roomier. It maybe lost a wee bit of charm because of that, but not much. Has a great reputation and they jacked the price up a little as a result - only fair I guess - you get what you pay for, and all that. They often have tiny / cute asian (chinese/malayasian?) waitresses - I fell over one once, when i was in the place half cut. Link to comment