Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Further the chippys thread, what are the views on kebabs (any kind)? Imo they are far more hit and miss than chip shop fodder - they are quite poor from most places; dodgy quality of 'lamb' (labelled "Hospital Waste: Incinerate Only"), cheap pitta breads heated on a grill, crap salad (mostly lettuce and onion). Most folk can only stomach these drunk. I tried one of the "chicken doners" once - never again, wasnt right for days after it. However, theres a place in Glasgow 'Morellos' (Grt Western Rd) which does extremely fine kebabs - both lamb donner and (skewered) chicken. (It was taken over a few years back, but kept the same name.) They are utterly delicious, and very authentic (in so far as they are edible sober). The bread is made fresh to order in a tandor oven and is mighty fine of its own accord. The salad is varied and interesting. In fact I want one now lol Morellos is quie near Firhill, so the visiting Dons fans could do worse for a snack going back up the road. And food-loving weeg-based Dons fans should make it a priority to go there asap. (NB I do not own Morellos or hold shares in it lol) Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 You dont get a good kebab in this country. Prague & Berlin were the home of the greatest kebabs I've ever had. Even in Turkey they were shite. There's rumours of a decent mixed kebab in Maryhill though Link to comment
RAZOR Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Morellos is quie near Firhill, so the visiting Dons fans could do worse for a snack going back up the road. I have actually been in there and it was pish. On the corner, where the buses park? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 They're just cheap street food but I must admit I'd do like a good kebab. Kebab meat, salad, garlic and spicy sauce wrapped in a durum.Cheap and great bdtween-boozer on the go snack. I'm fussy about where I eat them cause most where I am are shite. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Mind we got a fucking amazing kebab in the ground over at twente facking lavely Link to comment
tup Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 I don't think I've ever eaten a kebab in my life. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Aye Nae many turks in wick I imagine.Think yourself lucky min. Link to comment
tup Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Aye they look disgusting, and most of the places that sell them look as if they should have been condemned ages ago. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 That's a bit racist is it not? A Turks kebabery is his castle min. Link to comment
tup Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 I wouldna trust any of them as far as I could spit. Knife you in the back quick as look at you those cunts. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 22, 2015 Author Share Posted April 22, 2015 You dont get a good kebab in this country. Prague & Berlin were the home of the greatest kebabs I've ever had. Even in Turkey they were shite. There's rumours of a decent mixed kebab in Maryhill though Berlin is a good hout for kebabs, not been to Prague. Agree the standard is usually atrocious in this country, but Morellos is head and shoulders above the rest. EDIT - we once found an amazing hot dog joint in Berlin, near the Prater Beer Garden - we left eating them and they were so good that, when finished, we went straight back and tried to purchase more. But the guy was shutting up and would not entertain us (this in the early hours). Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 22, 2015 Author Share Posted April 22, 2015 I have actually been in there and it was pish. On the corner, where the buses park? Naw, I thought the buses parked up on Bisland Drive @ Ruchill Park? Your prob almost a mile away from Morellos up here, as the crow flies. Link to comment
tup Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 I'm not surprised that the likes of chippers and disgusting downmarket kebab shops thrive in your area Clydeside. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 22, 2015 Author Share Posted April 22, 2015 I don't think I've ever eaten a kebab in my life. You MUST try morellos tup. A doner or a chicken BBQ kebab. You can thank me afterwards. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 22, 2015 Author Share Posted April 22, 2015 I'm not surprised that the likes of chippers and disgusting downmarket kebab shops thrive in your area Clydeside. Hey, its all fashionable salad bars near my new hoose - I have to travel to eat muck these days Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 22, 2015 Author Share Posted April 22, 2015 look as if they should have been condemned ages ago. In my uni days, I used to buy kebabs from a hovel on buchanan st, near queen st station (its not there any more). I would eat it on the train home. I was always in the place late at night, when blitzed. I remember the shock when I walked past it in daylight for the first time. The look of it would have put you off taking a shit in the place, let alone buying and consuming food from it. Edit - 'Athenz Express' I think it was called. The "z" in Athenz was an attempt at being quirky I think. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Morello's used to be on Battlefield Rd round the corner from Hampden, the other side of Mt Florida station until it burned down c2008. Don't think I ever had a kebab from them but had plenty of pizzas. They used to be famed for their yogurt sauce (!) Actually quite spoiled for choice in that neighbourhood for eateries. Apart from the pretty shite chipper called Mr V's. Link to comment
tup Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 It certainly appears as if you are no stranger to a takeaway from your avatar The Hulk min. 1 Link to comment
The Hulk Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Aye, I've been through a few dodgy kebabs. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 That's a bit racist is it not? A Turks kebabery is his castle min. Fan of a Turkish pizza bluts? Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Plenty of these establishments in my town, used to frequent them most days, not ate a kebab now for ages, just stick to large chips with lashes of burger AND chilli sauce on occasion . Link to comment
tup Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Sounds like the healthier option. Link to comment
zander Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 They're just cheap street food but I must admit I'd do like a good kebab. Kebab meat, salad, garlic and spicy sauce wrapped in a durum.Cheap and great bdtween-boozer on the go snack. I'm fussy about where I eat them cause most where I am are shite.Bluto whats your thoughts on FEBO? quality dutch scran imo. Anyway kebabs are far superior to chippers. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Bluto whats your thoughts on FEBO? quality dutch scran imo.Anyway kebabs are far superior to chippers. Febo min? Link to comment
zander Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Febo min?Aye. Vending machine burgers. Link to comment
zander Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Haha those. Aye those along with a cone of chips and mayo. Forget rembrandt and van gogh they are Amsterdam's finest exports. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Further the chippys thread, what are the views on kebabs (any kind)? Imo they are far more hit and miss than chip shop fodder - they are quite poor from most places; dodgy quality of 'lamb' (labelled "Hospital Waste: Incinerate Only"), cheap pitta breads heated on a grill, crap salad (mostly lettuce and onion).Most folk can only stomach these drunk. I tried one of the "chicken doners" once - never again, wasnt right for days after it. However, theres a place in Glasgow 'Morellos' (Grt Western Rd) which does extremely fine kebabs - both lamb donner and (skewered) chicken.(It was taken over a few years back, but kept the same name.) They are utterly delicious, and very authentic (in so far as they are edible sober). The bread is made fresh to order in a tandor oven and is mighty fine of its own accord. The salad is varied and interesting. In fact I want one now lol Morellos is quie near Firhill, so the visiting Dons fans could do worse for a snack going back up the road. And food-loving weeg-based Dons fans should make it a priority to go there asap. (NB I do not own Morellos or hold shares in it lol)Istanbul on Paisley road is the best,CS. Not situated on the best of streets, but is quite excellent. Home made bread and fresh home made chilli sauce. Lovely Link to comment
360 Posted April 22, 2015 Share Posted April 22, 2015 Few bottles of vino then a kebab is smashing. Link to comment