DonTillIDie Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 OK, we all know it is important for the fans to get behind the team tonight, but maybe some of us don't know how important and what a difference it could make. I've had a season ticket for 15 years and have been to quite a few games before then (I wasn't there for the Fergie era though, I was too young), and for me the 4 games that stand out the most for atmosphere at Pittodrie are the 2 Rangers games under Calderwood when we won both 2-0 (qualifying for Europe 1 year and then stopping the enemy winning the league the year after) and the Copenhagen and Bayern games in the UEFA Cup. I'm sure those matches showed how an atmosphere can lift the players to play at a different level. Good memories. Let's hope there are more to come. There probably won't be the hooters at the game tonight that were at the Copenhagen game (some people aren't fans of them but I think they do help the atmosphere - the yellow Copenhagen ones were better and had a louder and lower pitch than the red ones at the Sociedad game last season that sounded a bit cheap and squeaky haha), so we'll have to create a buzzing atmosphere to spur on the players. Let's hope we have something to sing about and that those that are normally non-singers join in and we can all get Pittodrie reverberating. Call this a rallying call to all supporters but especially to those that might not have been to a game in a while. The atmosphere v Rijeka was good but was maybe a bit flat when they had the ball and at other points in the game. A bit understandable I suppose, as we were 3-0 up from the first leg and a lot of people were taking it for granted that we would get through. But tonight is a different matter. We are 2-1 down and we need the home support to be a good advantage. So let's boo them loudly when they have the ball, cheer loudly when we win tackles like we did v Rijeka, and generally be a lot noisier from the very start (a la Copenhagen and Bayern). If we can get through this round and we get a kind draw in the play-off round, we might have a good chance of qualifying for the group stage which would bring in considerable prize and tv money and give us more European football. It will be difficult, but it is possible if the fans give great backing and the players respond and play their best. I know, one step at a time, but I feel that the support tomorrow could really be the difference between us qualifying for the group stage or not. Another thing I would say is that we always get right behind the team when we get a corner (come on ye reds is standard, of course) but how about continuing the chant or making other loud chants/noise/shouts right through after the corner is taken i.e. loud noise when the ball is actually in near the keeper. This is done in American Football so that the opposition find it very hard to hear signals between players and it could cause communication problems between their keeper and their defence. This tactic could easily get us a goal. As I said, there probably won't be any hooters, but if the whole Richard Donald Stand made a hell of a racket right through after the corners are taken, then this could make a difference. Let's hope we get a few at that end and the fans maybe read this and continue the noise after the corner to cause them confusion. The tendency is to stop making a noise when our player takes the corner, as the anticipation is there for our player to head it in, etc, but this tactic could work in our favour if enough of us do it and the noise maintains throughout. Let's hope for a few of these scenarios and their keeper makes a howler eh. Come on! And how about 1 or 2 different chants/songs from the usual. I know that there will be the normal ones which is great and gets everyone singing together, but how about for an example "There's only one (player name here i.e. Adam Rooney) x 2, walking along singing a song, walking in a Rooney wonderland" (like the Duncan Shearer song) or the slightly different "It's a goal Adam Rooney (or other player's name)" to the same tune, if we score. Rooney might not start of course, but you get the idea. Obviously I hope we get a goal and a chance to sing something like this. There's always the Jonny Hayes and Niall McGinn songs among others, but I'm hoping for a good variety tonight and good singing throughout most of the game. Let's hope we make a good start and the fans and players feed off each other. All the best to you all and I hope you enjoy the game! Whatever happens, let's leave the ground knowing that we gave our upmost support to the team throughout. So Come On Ye Reds! (hooters, Richard Donald Stand at 150 decibels, or anything else accompanying it would be great!) 3 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Wow! Cool thread but personally i'd have just stuck that short post in the match thread Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Nae like the the sooth standers voices like? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I'm not going to make a single fucking sound. Surely 20,000 folk staring at them in absolute silence would unnerve them more than any noise can? 3 Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 It think it's time for Dons fans to stand up and be counted… Atmosphere at Pittodrie has been shit for years, if you can't get excited about a match like tonights ask yourself why you're really there in the first place… The stadium announcer should be hyping things up as well, get on the pitch before the game and at HT… Get everyone going… #COYFR Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Tbh, a sell out means the glory hunters are coming. Nae the sort of people who will help if we go a goal down early on Link to comment
RUL Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Yeah I'm not sure a sell out makes much difference. Link to comment
tup Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Think it will be a great atmosphere tonight for sure, COYR. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 The fact always remains that these people stay away and when they come back they want the dons playing like Barcelona, Haven't watched any of the games and think it's something out of Fifa on a console.... These people need to wise the f**k up and support and sing. COYR Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 hahahahaha I love that ideaLike Jordan Henderson with Costa. Brilliant Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Here's hoping the sound system is sorted so John Mellis can actually get the crowd going. That was embarrassing before the Rijeka game. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Like Jordan Henderson with Costa. Brilliant@@RAZOR!!!!!!!!! Link to comment
Pash Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Better atmosphere at away games is because majority of people are pissed, that is scientific fact. You don't sing karaoke when you are sober do you? Looking forward to tonight all the same. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Here's hoping the sound system is sorted so John Mellis can actually get the crowd going. That was embarrassing before the Rijeka game. It's been shite for years. At any meeting I've attended with the club and someone suggests maintenance throughout the ground it has been brushed off becuase 'we're moving so there's no point' Link to comment
minijc Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Hardon_fae_Le_Twitter made a good point about getting some legends out before kickoff, really get everyone going, change the songs up, one that will actually get people buzzing other than the same old tried and tested shit, mix it up a bit. Key thing for me is that, some fans that are not regulars will be right on the players backs at the slightest mistake, I can understand it but we don't need that tonight, against Rijeka at 2-0 I think everyone was just shocked, huge roar of "COME ON YOU REDS" will have been music to the players ears we then get a goal back and were able to relax. Link to comment
Pash Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I always sing karaoke, sober and drunk. I'm Michael Buble-esque. I did once. Never again. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 It's been shite for years. I was stuck in the T for the Rijeka game (My S Season Ticket has been stolen) and it must be the only bit of the ground where it works. Deafening in there. Had to wait until the second half to share my amusing antidotes with my associates. Link to comment
boboisared Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I was stuck in the T for the Rijeka game (My S Season Ticket has been stolen) and it must be the only bit of the ground where it works. Deafening in there. Had to wait until the second half to share my amusing antidotes with my associates.The atmosphere in there seems poisonous. Link to comment
swifty Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I was stuck in the T for the Rijeka game (My S Season Ticket has been stolen) and it must be the only bit of the ground where it works.Deafening in there.Had to wait until the second half to share my amusing antidotes with my associates.Were the antidotes to combat the Pittodrie pies? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I was stuck in the T for the Rijeka game (My S Season Ticket has been stolen) and it must be the only bit of the ground where it works. Deafening in there. Had to wait until the second half to share my amusing antidotes with my associates.You didn't need a season ticket for the Rijeka game. Idiot. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 You didn't need a season ticket for the Rijeka game. Idiot. I certainly didn't anyway. Idiot. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Better atmosphere at away games is because majority of people are pissed and from Glasgow Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I will be singing from the comfort of my chair at work sadly Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 I'll be fucking mangled. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 6 Degree North for some La Chouffe's pal. That's where the real beer is.Will be free of the wife by 3pm at the latest. Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 The fuckin moaners can stay at home. I had to change my season ticket seat last year because I was stuck next to this utter moaning bint in section W. Moaned like fuck when we were still 0-0 after 15 against Partick. Then some other chiel the other side of me starts moaning about her moaning. Fuck that. Everyone go mental for 90 minutes and LIFT the fuckin team. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Very real chance this is going 120 + pens. Boof, ye'll need to pace yersel! Link to comment
tup Posted August 6, 2015 Share Posted August 6, 2015 Will be free of the wife by 3pm at the latest.Coincidence, I should be free about then too. Where you for? Link to comment