ChutneyLove Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Tannadice worried me. Rooney was fat and slow and obviously hadn't been worked hard enough. Flood was ineffectual. We were lucky to get 3 points, against a very shit opposition with nothing positive to look forward to. Shinnie, Quinn and Ward are excellent acquisitions. As was MacLean last season. I go against the norm but I think Cammy Smith is coming on great so these are all pass marks for the manager, which lets face it, is his fucking job. The overall product on the pitch hasn't proved near enough to win the SPL, even against a weak Celtic, although they got a whole lot stronger up front this year. Ciftci will be top scorer this season. By far. No he winna. He's nae that great, Rocker. I don't think he'll even be the top scorer at the San Giro. Unless <20 goals is the most a striker gets this season. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Not convinced by Ciftci at all. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted August 7, 2015 Author Share Posted August 7, 2015 I think it's great to question him. This is the nature of kaizen. The only point I'm arguing is that he is incapable of winning the SPL this season, for many reasons, the majority outwith his control. We are all extremely grateful for our first competent manager for decades. Nobody's not trusting him. And much as he is learning from mistakes, he makes too many of them TO WIN THE SPL IN MAY. Hopefully he develops and gets better and can bring us success. He's not ready yet. Glad you seem to understand where I'm coming from and I hope others will too, irrespective of whether they agree with me or not. Why some are implying I'm ungrateful (the "sack him" rebuke earlier is idiotic, as is our resident Weegie minker's "abhorrent" comment) is beyond me. I do however think there should be a more measured, more grounded, appraisal of the McInnes era so far and I am not sensing that on this board. Too many (largely younger fans who have never known a successful Aberdeen team) are gushing with unqualified praise and are not factoring in things such as the diminished playing field, which means even a very average AFC can get 2nd place at a canter. Conversely, this team we have now would struggle to hold on to 4th in the 2004-2008 era, when not only both OF were present but both Edinburgh teams were winning trophies & had some very good squads. As I said, I like McInnes, but I cringe when I hear horseshit like "best manager since Fergie" when that is most definitely not true... during the Smith-Scott double partnership 1988-91 we played some of our best football EVER (including the Fergie era!) and even Willie Miller's first 2 seasons yielded some incredible results against opposition far stronger than we face today. So far, he has been a good manager. At times, a VERY good one. However, we cannot seriously lump him in with any of the above (or even Eddie Turnbull) unless we really kick on from the last 2 seasons and the only place he can realistically go now is to win the Scottish Cup and mount a "to the death" league challenge. His (until now) frequent inability to change many games and our disappointing home record both have to be rectified or we will simply stagnate & tread water. Time will tell. I'm behind him and the Club 100%. COYR. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 He'll be our first manager since Fergie to leave on his own accord, not by sacking (or "retirement"). He'll be the first manager since Fergie to get a meaningful managerial post after leaving Aberdeen. The other managers you refer to will always be remembered for what ultimately lead to their departure. That may change before McInnes leaves. Your comments on trying to work out where Aberdeen would have ended up with Derek McInnes in a different time are just bizarre and irrelevant. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 With Quinn, Shinnie, McLean (latterly), and Ward (and hopefully someone to come in (May?)) we've strengthened the squad and given ourselves more options tactically. Any frustration is likely borne out of the remnants of Broon's lacklustre team of 9th place regulars. We continue to improve, and we've apparently stopped bringing in substandard shirt-fillers. For the first time in 15 years, or something stupid like that, I've pretty much zero complaints about the club, the players, or the manager. 1 Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 With Quinn, Shinnie, McLean (latterly), and Ward (and hopefully someone to come in (May?)) we've strengthened the squad and given ourselves more options tactically. Any frustration is likely borne out of the remnants of Broon's lacklustre team of 9th place regulars. We continue to improve, and we've apparently stopped bringing in substandard shirt-fillers. For the first time in 15 years, or something stupid like that, I've pretty much zero complaints about the club, the players, or the manager. Disappointing for fans of the puppets Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 No he winna. He's nae that great, Rocker. I don't think he'll even be the top scorer at the San Giro. Unless <20 goals is the most a striker gets this season. I usually agree with the rockstar but.... Cifti will struggle to displce the thumb and to be honest the pair of them are fucking honking the turk is a terrible signing for them and just goes to show that the norwegian fud has no clue when it comes to forwards i.e. scpevopic or whatever he's called did he not cost them 4 million ? and griffiths, played 24 times last season scored 14 goals, I wonder how many of them were pens? 1 for Tord McInnes deserves all the praise he gets IMO, and if we pump the tims a few times this season, and finish with more points than last I'll be happy. He has made vast improvements to the club not just on the pitch but off it too, like someone earlier said the club was on its knees and needed picking up thats exactly what he has done. Personally I'm dissapointed we never beat those cunts last night but I'm not going to lose sleep as its a shit competition anyway I'd much rather have domestic success first which is probably still just out of reach (league) but cups are still there for the taking. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Conversely, this team we have now would struggle to hold on to 4th in the 2004-2008 era, when not only both OF were present but both Edinburgh teams were winning trophies & had some very good squads.This current squad would finish with more points in any league than any squad from that era. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Fuck thought my ward post was tombstonesque... Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Disappointing for fans of the puppets Aye, no more Rage-puppetry Link to comment
DD1903 Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Allow me to respond to a few of the more nonsensical points: 2. While undoubtedly a better manager than Balsawood SOUND THE BANTOOOR KLAXON, 3. He did very well in his first league season, but contrary to popular belief, it was not Masonic refereeing or Motherwell cheating that robbed us of runners-up spot. We floundered badly in the last quarter of the season and generally were very inconsistent at home throughout. 2nd was there for the taking, but we blew it. Alternatively, going from 8th to 3rd and winning our first trophy in 19 years is an improvement....no? 3. Our failure to kill teams off in games we dominated cost us the SC semi... AND meant we needed penalties to win the League Cup against a competent but ordinary ICT (in all the euphoria surrounding our first trophy in 19yrs, have we considered what the reaction would have been, had we lost that final??) Yes but...but we didn't. 4. In his second season, we gave a very good account of ourselves in Europe and mounted an even more credible league challenge until April, but again floundered badly in the final quarter (with the Euro and cup exits happening when they did, we had no great backlog of fixtures, either) So...an improvement then aye? 5. We relied very heavily on Rooney's goals last season. Where would we have been, had he been injured for any length of time? Would you have a wife if you could suck yourself off?What the baker said... Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 Whilst McInnes must be praised for the progress we've made, he must also be questioned for some decisions he's made.If we stop questioning those errors and he doesn't recognise them, then we've gone as far as we can and will achieve no more.We must question every decision and analyze the errors.We won't improve otherwise.He isn't perfect, but he must strive to be. I hope he strives to be whilst here, because we will taste more success on the journey. Link to comment
fifered Posted August 7, 2015 Share Posted August 7, 2015 I'll no doubt have my detractors for this, but in the midst of so many love-ins regarding Derek McInnes time in charge thus far, I think a more balanced take should at least be considered here. Let me start by saying I am very grateful to Derek for what he has done so far, in restoring respectability, and I hope we continue to improve for the rest of his tenure here, however long that may be. Nevertheless, I believe that (so far) while he undoubtedly qualifies as a GOOD AFC manager, he is (so far) far from being a GREAT one. A few points which should be noted: 1. He inherited a club which was on its knees both on and off the park, having had numerous consecutive 9th place finishes and going nowhere. Starting from such a low point, there was plenty of scope for improvement, which he commendably did. 2. While undoubtedly a better manager than Balsawood, the latter had a much, much stronger playing field up against us. Conversely, we have been in a league firstly without R*****s and then without them and both Edinburgh teams. In a severely weakened (comparatively with previous eras) league, we have not had much stiff opposition. 3. He did very well in his first league season, but contrary to popular belief, it was not Masonic refereeing or Motherwell cheating that robbed us of runners-up spot. We floundered badly in the last quarter of the season and generally were very inconsistent at home throughout. 2nd was there for the taking, but we blew it. 3. Our failure to kill teams off in games we dominated cost us the SC semi... AND meant we needed penalties to win the League Cup against a competent but ordinary ICT (in all the euphoria surrounding our first trophy in 19yrs, have we considered what the reaction would have been, had we lost that final??) 4. In his second season, we gave a very good account of ourselves in Europe and mounted an even more credible league challenge until April, but again floundered badly in the final quarter (with the Euro and cup exits happening when they did, we had no great backlog of fixtures, either) 5. We relied very heavily on Rooney's goals last season. Where would we have been, had he been injured for any length of time? 6. Our Euro home record this season has seen us without a single win at Pittodrie (1 in 6 over the last 2 seasons). Domestically, our home record is far too inconsistent and given our great away efforts, is all the more disappointing. We need Pittodrie to be a fortress once more. 7. Substitutions - or lack thereof. Too often, McInnes has been unable to change a game, often through tactical predictability and/or not making substitutions, or doing so too late. 8. Further to the previous point, being 2-1 down from the first leg last night, can anyone explain why by far our greatest goal threat was on the bench for 70min? They may be a big-spending, competent side, but unless this Kazakh team go on to do very well in the Group Stages, it's safe to say we have lost to another run of the mill team whom we should be beating if our aspirations are to be realised. Conclusion - We have a good manager, who has done much to be admired, but we really must be addressing our home record, tactical predictability and be much more clinical in the final 3rd. Whether McInnes will go down in history as a GREAT AFC manager, as opposed to very good... this coming season will be the decider.Can't believe you spent so long writing that pish. We've a great team with a very good manager. Fucking wise up. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 Hmmm…. Questionable thread. I've been critical of DMc's substitution policy in the past, particularly last season as when we haven't been making any leeway for 70 mins logic dictates you have to make a change. (Or maybe he thinks it doesn't). Giving Shankland 5 mins was really pretty pointless even though in hindsight I'd probably now see that he wasn't ready for first team football. We didn't have the greatest bench last season, we have a pretty great bench now though if everyone's fit. Frankly after 20 years of mostly shite he's done miracles in the 2 and a bit years he's been here and I'll forever be grateful for a cup win that I was beginning to think I'd never see again. I'd really like us to win the Scottish FA Cup this season and just enjoy the ride of going and having the confidence of believing we can win games. He's a smart man, not a blithering idiot and I'd happily buy him a pint and shake his hand and thank him unlike many of his predecessors. Link to comment
tup Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 It is not possible for AFC to win the league. For reasons numerous and obvious.On talksport, they said the SPL was over when Celtic scored the first v. Ross County. That's not defeatist. It's realistic.Rubbish min. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 McInnes is not immune from criticism no. Anyone who cannot (or will not) see the present regime is streets ahead of the last 20 years is having a laugh. He hasn't made changes to change a game because to date he hasn't had the players to do it. He doesn't like Shankland and doesn't think he's good enough. Get over it! And anyone who doesn't view Thursdays line up swapping our 'safe' centre half and settled back 5 for an attacking midfielder to try and get us back in the game as anything other than brave as fuck is wrong, IMHO. Two factors just to highlight. I fundamentally believe Delia is a lucky manager. Any pressure on him at all and he's toast. Media will make sure of that. (Incidentally it looks like Warburton might be of the same mould). Secondly the bit I think Derek has struggled with is to play Euro Football in the first days of July (you are aware that Rooney can only have had about 2 weeks holiday max) and then maintain said challenge to the following May. Address it and the league and cups will be there for the challenge. Also fair to mention back room staff also. Players seem fitter and more prepared for games than before, set pieces aside. They also seem to be able to handle the different characters (Reynolds quiet approach versus goodwillie's exuberance for instance) and seem adept at rooting out the destructive 'loser' influences. 1 Link to comment
Guest Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 Rubbish min.What are you disputing? That the radio said SPL over 4 minutes into the season? Ok then, "not possible" is indeed rubbish. But the bookies have 1/25 for Celtic and 25/1 is the best odds you'll find for AFC. 25's isn't anywhere high enough to attract my punt. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 6 points off Celtic in March, in the final of LC and every other team keen to avoid us in the SC will be a perfectly acceptable season for me. Happy to accept achievements beyond this. Link to comment
Guest Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I've never accepted an outlook of not winning. When the possibility of not winning is removed from the table then the competition dies. In order to compete in a financially distorted environment, you have to find other means. We don't have those means yet in place in my opinion. The manager and squad aren't good enough to win this year. Hopefully next year. On an aside, whilst the SPL and all the administrators of Scottish football have been incompetent beyond imagination for longer than any of us can remember, we haven't helped ourselves by financial mismanagement and mediocrity-acceptance in the boardroom. We need to speculate to accumulate. McInnes is good but still learning some basics. He's proven that he can recruit well. Get Ward signed, or at least secured for the season if possible and get three other quality players signed. Invest in the team. We don't want Robson anywhere near our bench. Flood has got to be back-up now. And we need someone who can score goals. Rooney had a freak season last year so let's not expect that again. The underachieving by McGinn and Goodwillie is a major concern, something the manager needs to look in the mirror for. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I've never accepted an outlook of not winning. When the possibility of not winning is removed from the table then the competition dies. In order to compete in a financially distorted environment, you have to find other means. We don't have those means yet in place in my opinion. The manager and squad aren't good enough to win this year. Hopefully next year. On an aside, whilst the SPL and all the administrators of Scottish football have been incompetent beyond imagination for longer than any of us can remember, we haven't helped ourselves by financial mismanagement and mediocrity-acceptance in the boardroom. We need to speculate to accumulate. McInnes is good but still learning some basics. He's proven that he can recruit well. Get Ward signed, or at least secured for the season if possible and get three other quality players signed. Invest in the team. We don't want Robson anywhere near our bench. Flood has got to be back-up now. And we need someone who can score goals. Rooney had a freak season last year so let's not expect that again. The underachieving by McGinn and Goodwillie is a major concern, something the manager needs to look in the mirror for.Can't agree with Rooney having a freak season. Every season he's played in the Scottish top league he's scored goals - including the half season he played when he joined us. The lads a natural scorer at this level. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I can't believe anyone doubts McInnes, we will badly miss him when he's not here, let's just try and enjoy these times before we go back to being fucking brutal. Link to comment
Guest Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 Can't agree with Rooney having a freak season. Every season he's played in the Scottish top league he's scored goals - including the half season he played when he joined us. The lads a natural scorer at this level.You don't have to agree with it. Everybody has their best season sometime. That was his. Given how fucking slow he's starting this season, he needs a fucking good whipping to make even two thirds his goal haul of last year. Link to comment
Guest Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I can't believe anyone doubts McInnes, we will badly miss him when he's not here, let's just try and enjoy these times before we go back to being fucking brutal.Nobody's "doubting" him. It's just a debate. Predicting a return to being brutal is sad. Loser mentality. The expectations of a nothing. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 You don't have to agree with it. Everybody has their best season sometime. That was his. Given how fucking slow he's starting this season, he needs a fucking good whipping to make even two thirds his goal haul of last year.We've played one league game FFS. He scored 6 in Europe last season at this stage (5 against Riga who threw the game, and a penalty against Groningen). So I wouldn't say his domestic goal haul will be in any way affected. Link to comment
Guest Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 We've played one league game FFS. He scored 6 in Europe last season at this stage (5 against Riga who threw the game, and a penalty against Groningen). So I wouldn't say his domestic goal haul will be in any way affected.You want to bet on that? Can't you see how unfit he's started this season? We had this same debate after the opening game at Celtic a couple of seasons back about another. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 You want to bet on that? Can't you see how unfit he's started this season? We had this same debate after the opening game at Celtic a couple of seasons back about another.Nae really no. I still think he'll do his part and score a lot of goals. The good thing is I don't think we will be as dependant on him this year. Without him last year we were fucked. I don't think we would be this season. Link to comment
Guest Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I agree that Rooney was a HUGE factor in us being less fucked than we would have been. We still won fuck all other than the top six cup, which we shared with five others. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I agree that Rooney was a HUGE factor in us being less fucked than we would have been. We still won fuck all other than the top six cup, which we shared with five others.It's a work in progress. Gradual progression. We'll get there. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 I can't believe anyone doubts McInnes, we will badly miss him when he's not here, let's just try and enjoy these times before we go back to being fucking brutal.Naebody is doubting him mate. We're analysing and debating on things that have happened under his stewardship.McInnes probably self analyses all the time. It's what pushes him to be better and make us better. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 8, 2015 Share Posted August 8, 2015 McInnes can be slow to make changes when things aren't going our way. Beyond that there's fuck all you can criticise him for. Link to comment