Chewie37 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Saw this today, I like the wee dig from DM about Collins being the assistant https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/dons-boss-mcinnes-blasts-celtic-coach-collins/ Link to comment
Saturday's Kid Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Celtic assistant manager "rues rivals lack of class".I read in yesterday's Sunday Herald sports section "Sometimes we switch off and think it doesn't really matter because they are not going to punish us.... No disrespect to the other Scottish teams but they're not clever enough players or quick enough thinkers to punish us."Our manager has already taken issue with these remarks and rightly so. When Celtic have a budget equal to the rest of the division and can cherry pick the best players from other sides then it is hardly surprising that they have a better side than all the rest. To use this as an excuse for their ultimate failure on the European stage shows that the real lack of class lies with Collins himself. Link to comment
Saturday's Kid Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I just started a thread on the same topic. You beat me to it. Link to comment
Westhill Red Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 It's this sort of pish from Celtic that helps devalue the league. This in turn leads to the shitty commercial deals offered by TV companies and sponsors when clubs in the league don't even rate the league why should they? Which other league would you hear a club consistently slag of the opposition on such a regular occurrence? Looking towards the big European leagues... Bayern, PSG and Barcelona's dominance of the their domestic games still I'm yet to read their disregard for their smaller rivals in the same way Celtic do. McInnes is 100% correct if Scottish football is such a walk in the park why aren't they defending the treble for the fourth season in a row? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 This must be why they get so many more bookings in Europe because the European players are just that much quicker. Nothing to do with them getting away with fouling by Scottish refs. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 It's this sort of pish from Celtic that helps devalue the league. This in turn leads to the shitty commercial deals offered by TV companies and sponsors when clubs in the league don't even rate the league why should they? Which other league would you hear a club consistently slag of the opposition on such a regular occurrence? Looking towards the big European leagues... Bayern, PSG and Barcelona's dominance of the their domestic games still I'm yet to read their disregard for their smaller rivals in the same way Celtic do. McInnes is 100% correct if Scottish football is such a walk in the park why aren't they defending the treble for the fourth season in a row?And, as Hartley said, why are they recruiting players from other Scottish sides? Good to see two managers stick up for the league but not enough IMO. Need some of the others to stand up and be counted, cause a bit of disharmony between the management team at Parkhead. Fed up of these comments over the years though. Celtic are the dominant force because they get given the money, then they patronise us for doing excellently within our means. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 J Collins is going to get so much stick every time a team scores against them now.In fact hopefully everyone just gives him it tight anyway.Good few new chants made up for the cunt. Link to comment
Guest RosemountRed Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Is John Collins that failed manager guy? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I read this as Joan Collins angers DM at first. Was thinking - whats the silly old cow gone and done now? Should be in a home. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Is John Collins that failed manager guy?Cracking six pack though Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I read this as Joan Collins angers DM at first. Was thinking - whats the silly old cow gone and done now? Should be in a home. Idiot Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Cracking six pack though Gaylord. 1 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 10, 2015 Author Share Posted August 10, 2015 I just started a thread on the same topic. You beat me to it.Sorry!! I see they've rolled out a player to apologise! http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/33847029 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 10, 2015 Author Share Posted August 10, 2015 I read this as Joan Collins angers DM at first. Was thinking - whats the silly old cow gone and done now? Should be in a home. I could edit it to "Joan Collins Fingers DM" Link to comment
Dave Bus Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Failed manager, should of won the title with that hibs team in 06 Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I could edit it to "Joan Collins Fingers DM" Apparently theres a video of that on the internet! Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 10, 2015 Author Share Posted August 10, 2015 Apparently theres a video of that on the internet!Good god! I'm not looking it up..........yet Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Even if it's true, why bother saying it? Disgusted to hear Jonathan Sutherland, Mark Wilson and Stuart McCall agree and effectively endorse Collins' comments on Sportscene last night? Begs the question - why bother? What was the point in carrying on with the rest of the show after those comments? We really, really do not help ourselves in this country sometimes. Link to comment
Saturday's Kid Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 It's funny how often the words "no disrespect" presage...disrespect. 1 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 10, 2015 Author Share Posted August 10, 2015 It's another example of where most of the managers (and assistants) in the league could and should take a leaf out of DMs book and talk respectfully about other teams. I don't think I've ever heard him say anything bad even though he's probably wanted to. Link to comment
TopDon Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 This is excellent news. Celtic assistant manager blabs about how shite all the other teams in the league are and now everyone will want a chance to prove them wrong. Hopefully there are a few teams in the league still up to the task of taking points off them. Link to comment
Herouali0 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 From BBC, Leigh Griffiths: Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths"I think Aberdeen last season pushed us really hard and I think maybe John's comments have been taken out of context."I read this morning that Derek McInnes has hit back a bit and rightly so because, whenever we play a Scottish Premiership team, we show the utmost respect to them."We go away from home and teams try to press us and it becomes difficult at times and Aberdeen pushed us a long way last season."We played teams last season and they beat us home and away. Teams are always fired up against Celtic." Aye like this? http://bit.ly/1IEKnll Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 john collins. the epitome of arsehole. he's just a funny voiced spazmaloid. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I liked how Celtic started their recent qualifier with Armstrong, Mackay-Steven and Ciftci, who played for a team that have finished 4th and 4th. Not good enough players in the league to challenge their defence, but good enough players in the league to buy to replace your own and challenge other defences in the Champions League. It defies logic. Now, I'd like to know how much Collins watches football in Slovakia, Poland etc to see how much their representatives get challenged by opposition to draw comparisons. Celtic haven't qualified for the Champions League in years, because they aren't good enough. They have been shown to be pretty poor in cup competitions for years, against Scottish opposition. They've won 5 domestic cups in 20 attempts and been to 7 finals in 20 attempts. To me that suggests that there are plenty Scottish teams and players clever enough to beat them. Just over the course of a season, budget and squad size means they will do fine enough in the league. 1 Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Just show it to the lads before we play them. Hopefully it'll mean they'll be up for it, especially Jack. Link to comment
Herouali0 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 see the thing here..? just as a recent example, they spunked what, 2/2.5m on scepovic? now...much did they pay for: van dijkwanyamaforster lets take those 3 for a kick-off im RELATIVELY certain, the 3 of them were less than what they paid for scepovic, so...if they hadn't failed with signings like scepovic and instead bought players of the quality of the other 3...would they not be doing a lot better in the champs league? as has been said before, they've not even "conquered" domestically, as when did they last win a treble? they've got a LONG way to go to improve themselves, before they start blaming others Virgil van Dick was £2.6MFoster was £2MWanyama was £900k Link to comment
fifered Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Amazed nobody has picked up on the comments from John Hughes in that bbc story. Apparently according to the inveress manager celtic have 'the best supporters'. Not only disrespectful to his own fans bit typical of the arrogance of celtic fans. Would love to know why a celtic fan who follow his team week in week out is better than the fan of any other team that does the same. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I also don't particularly want our wanky media turning AFC/ Celtic into Huns lite. Nothing wrong with intense rivalry, but a shockingly poisonous atmosphere is a Glasgow phenomenon I'm quite happy to go without. Call me old and grumpy if you like. 1 Link to comment
Redstar Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Collins is a total prick...Derek has handled this well...thankfully the GWT hasn't been asked for his opinion...the auld cunt would have most likely agreed with Collins and blethered on about some godawful Scotland game where "young Johnny was magnificent"... 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I also don't particularly want our wanky media turning AFC/ Celtic into Huns lite. Nothing wrong with intense rivalry, but a shockingly poisonous atmosphere is a Glasgow phenomenon I'm quite happy to go without. Call me old and grumpy if you like. Fuck that, we need hatred to close the gap in quality, let's do them, on and off the park. Link to comment