Attendances

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/153782-current-crowds/

Pretty impressive that Hearts can sell out a midweek fixture v Motherwell.

Obviously has a lot to do with their 100% start & being just back up in top flight but impressive all the same.

Not getting into an argument over who has the biggest support cos that's been done to death.

This is just a thread on general discussions on SPFL attendances etc.

Our biggest issue is that quite a high percentage of our support are in the oil industry & therefore on a rota that doesn't always allow our full support to attend. This will affect other clubs (with various rota/shift work type jobs) but none more so than Aberdeen.

Added issue for us at the moment is the fact that so many offshore are losing (or have lost) their jobs & see football as a luxury they cannot justify right now.

Our attendances at the League cup final is a show of our real potential. A lot that should have been working would have managed (by hook or by crook) to wrangle the time off.

Our attendances have been increasing really well again under McInnes but There are still a lot that can make it but have basically gotten used to not going. THEY need to get the bug again & get their arses back in if they are able :crossfingers:

12k+ average would be nice but who knows where we could really go if we actually keep improving (on & off the field) like we are.

A 12k average would be disappointing considering we averaged over 13k last season and should be looking to build on that this year. Really should be looking at numbers similar to what Hearts are getting but 14-15k would be decent I suppose.

Yes but it's still a NICE base to have & that is sufficient to maintain us imo.

Obviously I want & expect a bigger average & with continued improvements it will consistently grow.

I think the biggest issue we have that prevents us getting consistent attendances of, say 15-16k, is the fact that Pittodrie is a hole.

Think I mentioned it on another thread, but it is totally out of date. Not the right style to create a good atmosphere, piss poor facilities, catering etc. Tynecastle, for example, is a much better stadium for a football fan: good view in almost every stand (rear of their Main perhaps the only exception), much more space inside the stand (compare that to how rammed it can be at the back of the South & Merkland and inside the Main), better accessibility etc.

We'll have more high attendances than 'low' ones. We pulled in 16-17k for games against United, Dundee and St Johnstone last season. Managed 19k for a Celtic game and only last week had in excess of 20k. The support is there, decent facilities aren't.

I don't think moving stadiums would long term have an imapct on our crowds, apart from them going down even further if we were located South of the city. Yeah in the short term you'd get a boost to numberes but that would soon wear off as has happened to most non epl sides who move to souless stadiums in the middle of nowhere.

I don't think it comes down to lack of money but people in Aberdeen would largely rather do anythign else than watch the local team play football. When McGhee was destroying us our crowds truly fell to bits. I'm not sure what the stats say but wouldn't be surprised if Hearts crowds are above us on average most years in the last 20?

Were arrogant and dour up here, miserable cunts born and bred. That's why it's quiet too, we've nae time for expressing feelings and emotion like that.

I agree with the above, the away crowds are better because you have more central belt glory hunters who turn up and the ones travelling from Aberdeen are blootered.

I don't think moving stadiums would long term have an imapct on our crowds, apart from them going down even further if we were located South of the city. Yeah in the short term you'd get a boost to numberes but that would soon wear off as has happened to most non epl sides who move to souless stadiums in the middle of nowhere.

I don't think it comes down to lack of money but people in Aberdeen would largely rather do anythign else than watch the local team play football. When McGhee was destroying us our crowds truly fell to bits. I'm not sure what the stats say but wouldn't be surprised if Hearts crowds are above us on average most years in the last 20?

Location is also one of the biggest problems for Aberdeen fc.

No matter where we built a new stadium it would piss off a large section of the support because travel in & around Aberdeen is fkn SHITE.

New bypass may help with this (if it's ever built) but I think the only way the club could please everyone (or at least strike a happy medium) as far as a location for the new ground would be to have in somewhere central. Problem is that there is nowhere central & the Council would do fuck all to help with this problem because they would prefer to have the Stadium as far from central as possible.

hearts & hibs are very fortunate in that their support are MOSTLY based in & around Edinburgh & travel in & around Edinburgh is like chalk & cheese compared to Aberdeen.

Aberdeen council (& the beaks within) are the ones that have held back Aberdeen football club (& the city in general) for fkn years.

A good city stadium years ago would have worked fkn wonders for both club & city/shire as a whole. Bypass would also have been a massive help.

I agree with the above, the away crowds are better because you have more central belt glory hunters who turn up and the ones travelling from Aberdeen are blootered.

What about us central belt glory hunters that ALSO attend home games? :cry: All the rest are cunts though with no excuse other than being either grippet or not prepared to give their club more of their time to travel up to Aberdeen. Those central belters that ONLY attend away games are not very nice fans. Boooo to you lot. Get yer arses up to a home game once in a while & then sit down & shut up.

Location is also one of the biggest problems for Aberdeen fc.

No matter where we built a new stadium it would piss off a large section of the support because travel in & around Aberdeen is fkn SHITE.

New bypass may help with this (if it's ever built) but I think the only way the club could please everyone (or at least strike a happy medium) as far as a location for the new ground would be to have in somewhere central. Problem is that there is nowhere central & the Council would do fuck all to help with this problem because they would prefer to have the Stadium as far from central as possible.

hearts & hibs are very fortunate in that their support are MOSTLY based in & around Edinburgh & travel in & around Edinburgh is like chalk & cheese compared to Aberdeen.

Aberdeen council (& the beaks within) are the ones that have held back Aberdeen football club (& the city in general) for fkn years.

A good city stadium years ago would have worked fkn wonders for both club & city/shire as a whole. Bypass would also have been a massive help.

The bypass is in full swing, huge swathes of land already bulldozed, they're not fucking about, will be done in no time.

As for the wider picture the Aberdeen economy just now is fucked, has to be having an impact on crowds, perhaps cheap tickets for the unemployed would help.

The bypass is in full swing, huge swathes of land already bulldozed, they're not fucking about, will be done in no time.

As for the wider picture the Aberdeen economy just now is fucked, has to be having an impact on crowds, perhaps cheap tickets for the unemployed would help.

We all know it should have been done 25 years ago though.

Good that it's FINALLY under way but imagine the differences if they had really pushed it through when they could/should have?

Agreed regarding the economy. It's pretty dire right now. Massive shame that it's come at a time when the team is really doing so well.

Still say a central stadium would always have been the best thing for city & club.

Clicked on the link from the op and there's a thread in there titled "Aberdeen dot count" where they count how many seats remain unsold but also use it to have a pop at our crowds. This from a club that I'm struggling to think of the last time they brought a four figure following to Pittodrie.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/153603-aberdeen-dot-count/

This one you mean?

"The 2013/14 season, the last time the two played each other, the attendances were:-

Tynecastle:-

15.218 (2.282 away fans)

13,913 (1,728 away fans)

Pittodrie:-

13,940 (805 away fans)"

Why waste time going to Todders when you can blast all your £ on drugs and personalised number plates. No brainer.

Were arrogant and dour up here, miserable cunts born and bred. That's why it's quiet too, we've nae time for expressing feelings and emotion like that.

Agreed. Us Aberdonians are a cut above those Embra pricks.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/153603-aberdeen-dot-count/

This one you mean?

"The 2013/14 season, the last time the two played each other, the attendances were:-

Tynecastle:-

15.218 (2.282 away fans)

13,913 (1,728 away fans)

Pittodrie:-

13,940 (805 away fans)"

Aye that's the one. The way they're going in you'd think they'd been selling Tynecastle out every week for the last decade. Some idiots even on about wanting it extended to hold 35,000.

Yeah seen that :hysterical:

25k is the max required for any club in Scotland outwith Sevco & Celtic & even then only the likes of Aberdeen, Hibs & Hearts could ever realistically hope to have that capacity as a target for a sustainable stadium. (as in for when any of these teams are doing consistently well on the park)

That (25k) should be the target for these three clubs.

Dundee & Utd should be aiming more for around 15k stadium (unless they were will to ground share) & maybe a couple of other teams in Scotland could set that as an achievable target but most would be happy with decent quality 10k (ish) grounds.

Crowds were poor when the local economy was soaring.

Crowds were poor when the local economy was tanking.

The truth of the matter is a large percentage of this city don't care about their team and will never turn out, regularly, to support it aside from the occasional fling when we're riding high.

I'd estimate that 35% of the population of Aberdeen wasn't even born in Scotland, and less than half was born in Aberdeen. Let alone had parents who were born in Aberdeen and/or support(ed) the Dons.

Our attendances should increase with time as future generations grow up and stay here. Or the oil industry crashes and it's only Aberdonains and those who care about the area who are left.

Add in O&G offshore work patterns, a large student population, the decrease in real wages since 2008 for the working class and it's nae surprise we aren't breaking barriers in this area.

The club just spent a generation trying its best to alienate the fans. It's surprising we still get the attendances we do.

A new stadium with modern facilities like restaurants and bars and entertainment would probably go a long way to bringing in punters. Not like the club doesn't need a new stadium anyway, so maybe incorporate shit like that into any future stadium project.

A Victorian era stadium might have historic value, but unless the club wants to use it as a museum they might want to splash the cash.

Crowds were poor when the local economy was soaring.

Crowds were poor when the local economy was tanking.

The truth of the matter is a large percentage of this city don't care about their team and will never turn out, regularly, to support it aside from the occasional fling when we're riding high.

The team has been shite since the 80's if truth be told.

The club just spent a generation trying its best to alienate the fans. It's surprising we still get the attendances we do.

A new stadium with modern facilities like restaurants and bars and entertainment would probably go a long way to bringing in punters. Not like the club doesn't need a new stadium anyway, so maybe incorporate shit like that into any future stadium project.

A Victorian era stadium might have historic value, but unless the club wants to use it as a museum they might want to splash the cash.

Too true.

As I've said. A fairly large % of our support will be working either offshore or oil related industry meaning they cannot attend every home game.

Sure (with team doing well) & if everyone that normally attends (when they are not at work) was able to attend at the same time. Our numbers would increase quite a bit. That will not ever happen though for obvious reasons.

Point is that we do have a very good support regardless of what some may think.

What we really need though is a sustained period (hopefully from now) of the team doing well & get the youngsters into the club.

No more of this fkn Celtic & Rangers/Sevco fan glory hunting NE cunts.

Attract the youngsters in now whilst we have players for them to idolise/admire. That is how you make a club for the future, so get them in any way we can now. Even if the club think it's wasting money now.

Free tickets for U12's for most of the smaller games etc.