lukas989 Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Which are you most in your career - administration based, or a engineer/labourer/person who uses their hands/fixes stuff? Me - Im an admin guy. Once we have 11 of each, lets organise a game of footy - Admin v Labour. Admin will win obviously, because we're faster thinkers. Celtic to labourers other teams in the league so to speak. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Time served technician who worked the tools for 8 years before moving into the office into the engineering side. Don't know what I'd class myself as now. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Time served technician who worked the tools for 8 years before moving into the office into the engineering side. Don't know what I'd class myself as now. Working for a service company offshore would certainly never be classed as labour intensive. Behave your self min. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Admin. Calculator and spreadsheets. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Working for a service company offshore would certainly never be classed as labour intensive. Behave your self min.Wasn't a service hand. Core crew min. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Which are you most in your career - administration based, or a engineer/labourer/person who uses their hands/fixes stuff? Me - Im an admin guy. Once we have 11 of each, lets organise a game of footy - Admin v Labour. Admin will win obviously, because we're faster thinkers. Celtic to labourers other teams in the league so to speak. I'm a proper Engineer, so I don't use my hands or fix stuff. Mainly seem to do admin-type work. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Wasn't a service hand. Core crew min.Apologies, However, if that's part of a platform / process unit, then that's even more lax than service comp. Link to comment
Dusk( 2 Stars )Don Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 A bit of both tbh hate admid side so im in team engineer/labourer/person who uses their hands/fixes stuff? Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Car salesman.Hopefully a decent one, this place needs one. Labour intensive. Heavily. Canna be done with paperwork and sitting at a desk. I don't know how anyone can spend 40 hours a week staring at a computer. Is it not soul destroying? Link to comment
dervish Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Chartered engineer, few degrees and post grad. Did em to do engineering but ended up doing cunting spreadsheets. Tedious, shit crack.* EDIT: Aye so do admin basically. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Used to be a plumber, then offshore for a while. So very much labour. Now a pen pusher. Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Used to be a plumber, then offshore for a while. So very much labour. Now a pen pusher.Have you noticed a difference in your health since swapping? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Have you noticed a difference in your health since swapping?Aye, I'm a lazy bastard now. Link to comment
Dusk( 2 Stars )Don Posted August 18, 2015 Share Posted August 18, 2015 Aye, I'm a lazy bastard now.same but could still pump the admins 5-0 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 I've done both, but right now I run a restaurant and do the cooking. Admin will get pumped I reckon. Poor eyesight from staring at PCs, fat from sitting around too much and scared to get dirty. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Milky. Used to be labour intensive back in the day seemingly, but then the union insisted we get assistants - so I do bugger all now. Link to comment
Nelly Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 'Spreadsheet' engineer. Is that classed as admin? Link to comment
RAZOR Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 'Spreadsheet' engineer. Is that classed as admin? If it is then count me in. I'm massive in the spreasheet game. Link to comment
lukas989 Posted August 19, 2015 Author Share Posted August 19, 2015 I've done both, but right now I run a restaurant and do the cooking. Admin will get pumped I reckon. Poor eyesight from staring at PCs, fat from sitting around too much and scared to get dirty.Poor eyesight sorted via lazer eye surgery, and happily running 8 miles every other day no bother. I'm forever climbing up stuff and getting covered in crap - no worries there. But I accept I could well be in the minority; but as long as there are 4-5 other likewisers, I'm pretty confident we adminners could easily hump the fast food swallowing tea breaking moany faced engineers n labourers... Not to mention outwitting them with our formulaic tactics - zonal marking, mathematically calculated runs and so on. Link to comment
boboisared Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Admin. Having seen the state of the folk claiming to be labour, I think we'd take an easy victory. Fans giving it the 'Ole' treatment 20 minutes in. Link to comment
boboisared Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Poor eyesight sorted via lazer eye surgery, and happily running 8 miles every other day no bother. I'm forever climbing up stuff and getting covered in crap - no worries there. But I accept I could well be in the minority; but as long as there are 4-5 other likewisers, I'm pretty confident we adminners could easily hump the fast food swallowing tea breaking moany faced engineers n labourers... Not to mention outwitting them with our formulaic tactics - zonal marking, mathematically calculated runs and so on.Aye, labour type workers only understand 4-4-2. Link to comment
AFCaketin Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Spreadsheets and a trusty calculator for me as well...and ltoo much reading afc chat tbf. Thank fuck for pivot tables. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Spreadsheets and a trusty calculator for me as well...and ltoo much reading afc chat tbf. Thank fuck for pivot tables. With the correct formula, a spreadsheet can be used as a calculator. Massive in the spreadsheet game me. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Admin that when arsed, can go out into the warehouse and humph steel. Best of both worlds! Link to comment
E-P-K Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 With the correct formula, a spreadsheet can be used as a calculator. Massive in the spreadsheet game me. Nae use knowing the square root of a jam jar if you can not get the lid off. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Nae use knowing the square root of a jam jar if you can not get the lid off. One man, one jar. Horrendous video. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 One man, one jar. Horrendous video. On par with 2 girls 1 cup ? Speaking of cups, yesterday was a learning day, I found out what the official volume of a cup is, in cooking terms. 250ml Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 19, 2015 Share Posted August 19, 2015 Nae use knowing the square root of a jam jar if you can not get the lid off. I've just checked that in Excel for you, turns out the square root of a jam jar is #NAME? You're welcome. Idiot. 3 Link to comment