Nfl Style Youth Draft System

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/35368472

Seems to be a step below the Spanish system of having B teams playing the lower divisions. I think this could potentially be a good idea if implemented correctly, perhaps the likes of Scott Wright could be farmed out to play competitive football and the youth league could be restructured into a development and reserve league so that senior players can be kept match fit as well?

"It is understood that the SFA is also keen to cut the number of so-called elite players in the current youth academy system in an attempt to create better competition and a best versus best environment"

so the work they've been doing in the past few years has pretty much been dismissed by the new incumbent...

this all seems rather complicated

to me it looks like taking all of the loans and putting them into a pot and letting lower league teams have a draft

Works well for central belt teams but not for ICT Ross county and Aberdeen, if we loan players to teams North of Perth then at least we have the opportunity to see them developmentally (perhaps in the club itself) on a weekly basis and the AFC support network is always close by. Do we want our player spread all over the south of Scotland?

it removes some of the control over the loan and the terms of the loan - "We will loan you X so long as you play him in centre mid" would not be available so our new centre mid starlet could find himself as a left back and we don't need a left back developing

First glance I thought that sounds good - afterwards I m not so sure

Quite a good positive idea for once but it does have some problems as suggested by Bamber.

Its not all that comparable with the NFL though since those kids join those teams on full contracts not as loans.

But I still think its quite good and should tried out - in fact the idea has occurred to me before, if only the SPFL had called me for advice about 10 years ago. Fecking losers.

For it to work all players below 18 would have to sign central contracts with the SFA not the clubs running the academy's. When the players turn 18 the best players could get dished out, with the bottom club getting 1st pick and the top club getting last pick. i doubt the clubs would agree to that though.

Could the players not be retained by the club and just nominated for the pot? Then after the season is over the clubs can decide if they want to put them forward again or put them into the first/reserve team or release/sell them? Clubs have still made major investment in the players to get them to that stage so to have them divvied up and given away to opposition teams would be outrageous.

As bamber says though, there would need to be some sort of stipulation put in with regards to game time. We've subsidized these shite wee hobbiest teams for far too long, so if they can put to some actual use for the good of the sport then I'm all for it.

Could the players not be retained by the club and just nominated for the pot? Then after the season is over the clubs can decide if they want to put them forward again or put them into the first/reserve team or release/sell them? Clubs have still made major investment in the players to get them to that stage so to have them divvied up and given away to opposition teams would be outrageous.

As bamber says though, there would need to be some sort of stipulation put in with regards to game time. We've subsidized these shite wee hobbiest teams for far too long, so if they can put to some actual use for the good of the sport then I'm all for it.

What are we trying to achieve. IMO the top priorities should be 1. To generate better competition in our league. "2. Improve the quality of players coming through. 3. Improve the Scotland National team. If we get these 3 right then the money will follow. Pissing about with the number of league teams and cup competitions will do nothing to improve the game.

Pointless.

Too many monkey teams in Scotland.

Merge the rubbish sides.

Two national divisions.

Play each other twice.

Sorted.

Never understood this mentality.

There are thousands of monkey clubs in england too, it doesn't hold them back.

Having lots of community clubs who live within their own means and pull a small number of fans each week makes absolutely no negative impact on the other clubs at all.

So getting rid of them would achieve nothing positive for out game whatsoever although it would destroy community interest in football in all those locales.

that right you stupid tit?

why don't barca, Bayern, real all just make one super league, 12 of them and "to hell with the pointless clubs like Aberdeen"

twat

Bayern's chief was in the press pushing for exactly that this week. I don't think Spanish, German and Italian teams would be dead against a Euro super league because it's the same teams who win it every year. But the EPL sometimes throws in a few surprises.

Never understood this mentality.

There are thousands of monkey clubs in england too, it doesn't hold them back.

Having lots of community clubs who live within their own means and pull a small number of fans each week makes absolutely no negative impact on the other clubs at all.

So getting rid of them would achieve nothing positive for out game whatsoever although it would destroy community interest in football in all those locales.

Inverness clubs did alright out of it did they not.

Any point being clubs that can barely pull together 500 fans should not be in our national league setup.

As for your England reference there; ttheir monkey clubs fan bases put some of out top level teams to shame, so you canna compadre

Bayern's chief was in the press pushing for exactly that this week. I don't think Spanish, German and Italian teams would be dead against a Euro super league because it's the same teams who win it every year. But the EPL sometimes throws in a few surprises.

Nowt new about a euro super league; we already have one.

Aye true that; but ahbdy keeps watching it.

It's coming to a time where it's either going to fail massively in the next 5 years or so, or become so powerful that it becomes far more important to get to the knockout stages than to win your domestic league.

You see the recent rich list?

Half the clubs are from England.

It's been the same for a decade and more.

If things continue then football will be a very different t place in 10 years time.

But football fans will just carry on. Like they did during 9 in a row.

The only way to make a difference is to vote with your feet and football fans dinna do that.

You see the recent rich list?

Half the clubs are from England.

It's been the same for a decade and more.

If things continue then football will be a very different t place in 10 years time.

But football fans will just carry on. Like they did during 9 in a row.

The only way to make a difference is to vote with your feet and football fans dinna do that.

Aye. PSG topping it and making the league a non event. I think this is what they want. PSG, Real and Barca, Dortmund and Bayern, Man U, Man City, Arsenal and Liverpool sitting so far at the top that the smaller clubs want them gone and will support an European League.

I'm nae even sure what can be done. It's not like we can stop going to Champions League games is it?