ab24_5qh Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 According to Paul Hartley. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/garbage-dundee-gaffer-paul-hartley-7246450#Htm8ib98E4hahPDS.97 Link to comment
McPhee123 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 He's not wrong. He's grumpy, but he's not wrong. Link to comment
BWG Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 He's correct in everything he says Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Totally agree with Hartley on this. If it wasn't for Jonathan Sutherlands good looks and light charm then I wouldn't bother at all.Bring Scotsport home! Link to comment
Mr John Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Watching the pundits huddle around that badly mounted touchscreen and agree with each other blankly the other night was painful. You're not "Monday Night Football" and nobody wants you to be. The editing is terrible. The old firm bias is terrible. Most of the pundits are dull/uninformed/humourless, the lack of onscreen info during game highlights is terrible. We fast forward through most of it in our house. I actually don't mind the presenter, even though if you pause the show at any point, the stills of his boggly-eyed face are usually hilarious. His publicity photos are actually very good in spite of this. Link to comment
minijc Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Highlights alone is not enough to dissect a game properly, especially when it's only 5 minutes long and the pundits are out of touch cunts, for a game to be analysed correctly by people they have to have watched the whole match on a big screen running from the big camera which I doubt Sportscene have, that's why the touch screen segment they are doing just doesn't work. 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Watching the pundits huddle around that badly mounted touchscreen and agree with each other blankly the other night was painful. You're not "Monday Night Football" and nobody wants you to be. The editing is terrible. The old firm bias is terrible. Most of the pundits are dull/uninformed/humourless, the lack of onscreen info during game highlights is terrible. We fast forward through most of it in our house. I actually don't mind the presenter, even though if you pause the show at any point, the stills of his boggly-eyed face are usually hilarious. His publicity photos are actually very good in spite of this. Michael Stewart and Steven Thomson are quite good. The rest are pish. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Its pishCrap punditsCrap coverage of gamesCrap camera anglesCrap studioWhy they even bother having players on there is beyond me, most say fuck all and the ones that do are your typical thick as pig shit fitba players that can hardly string a sentence together. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Why they even bother having players on there is beyond me, most say fuck all and the ones that do are your typical thick as pig shit fitba players that can hardly string a sentence together. Griffiths and his quick arithmetic the other week was rather amusing Link to comment
Hewitt a the pies Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Don't watch it then........simple!! Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Quite like Michael Stewart on it. Programme aint great overall though. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Is it better than the 90 seconds that non OF games get on the spfl YouTube? Link to comment
Henry Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Can't believe folk still watch Sportscene. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 It's pish. Sportscene was alright in the 80's and early 90's.I long for the days of Scotsport. Link to comment
cruzcampo3 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 It's pish. Sportscene was alright in the 80's and early 90's.I long for the days of Scotsport.I always preferred Scotsport Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 I tape it, watch the Dons game if we win, delete it if we don't. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 It's pish. Sportscene was alright in the 80's and early 90's.I long for the days of Scotsport.Sportscene on a Saturday night with Dougie Donnelly. Scotsport on a Sunday with Jim White. Those were the days. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 It's a million times better than that horrendous scotsport shit was. Aye it's nae great but tell me this. How do you get better camera angles in crappy little stadiums, or extra angles with their budget? What guests would you have on the show that have any interest and knowledge in Scottish football? Who really wants to watch more than 3 minutes of a nil-nil draw between Motherwell and Ross County. Maybe if the quality of football was better, the highlights would be too. Saying that I only normally watch if we win or I wasn't at the game and lose interest after the Dons have been on. I also agree their touch screen is crap. Link to comment
boboisared Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 I tape it, watch the Dons game if we win, delete it if we don't.This. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Who wants to watcha nil nil draw between Villa & WBA?? Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Get Red TV if you want to watch Aberdeen highlights, money back into the club. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 It's pish. Sportscene was alright in the 80's and early 90's.I long for the days of Scotsport.That's cos we were on and winning every week.Mind Archie having that phone beside him As for Scotsport it was OK but on reflection Ian Archer was probably a prime candidate for Yewtree Link to comment
Mr John Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Get Red TV if you want to watch Aberdeen highlights, money back into the club. I keep forgetting aboot that. Also, I've missed mentions of it on here so I wasn't sure if it was worthwhile. Signing up now. Link to comment
McPhee123 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 The touch screen gimmick is only there because someone in the boardroom saw it on Sky Sports and said "we need that to keep up with the times". It's painful to watch Pat Nevin trying to surmise that there's anything tactical about a goalmouth scramble which ends up with the ball rolling in off the defenders arse. I'll put it on to watch Dons highlights and hopefully hear the pundits say we're ace. Link to comment
ebbe Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Since we're getting all nostalgic, I miss the tennants 6's Used to be ace watching that on a Sunday, but always seem to remember the Dons being pish. 1 Link to comment
Panda Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 How do you improve it, using the same budget they have? More cameras at games - can't do that on same budget. Better pundits? Who should be on that isn't? Gary Neville didn't do Sky Sports for pennies. More than 5 min highlights/move back to Saturday night? That's the contract with the SPFL, to change that they'd need to pay more, so again increasing the budget. Comparing it to MOTD or Sky/BT is pointless because they're working with far more money. Personally I think they do okay with what they have. In an ideal world it would be like the Scottish Cup highlights - Saturday night, pick 2/3 feature games, show the goals from the rest. They should just stick Inverness/Hamilton highlights online, because no-one really is that interested in staying up on a Sunday night to watch it. I do though keep saying to some of the folk behind the scenes on it they should increase the sportscene rewind highlights to 5 mins rather than just showing a goal. Link to comment
Panda Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Just to add re-Scotsport. In it's last days, with Jim Delahunt presenting, Peter Martin doing the commentary, and Sarah O and Julian Sinclair, it was shocking. And that was with a better standard of football to show than these days. Don't forget Andy Walker was also a host. That's your alternative if STV ever win highlights from the BBC. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 Sportscene is okay, it's not amazing, but anyone is going to get pissed off getting analysed by Pat Nevin, because he's a fanny. Michael Stewart is too, but he's pretty honest and just trying to be a bit controversial. I usually record it and Match of the Day 2 and fall asleep watching either of them The giant touch screen just makes them all look like awkward dads who don't know how to work the new electronic toy. Link to comment
360 Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 I watch the highlights of all the matches on the BBC Sport website, and if I want extended highlights of the Dons match I watch them on RedTV. No need for Sportscene, I understand the game more than Pat Nevin or Steven Thompson put together, and that's a fact. Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 27, 2016 Share Posted January 27, 2016 This thread is very harsh on garbage. Link to comment